We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff and nice clean rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kikuya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kikuya
Ranked #22 of 99 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff and nice clean rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hotel Kikuya is situated in a prime location for a morning stroll around the Hokadate morning Fish market. It is also a short 5 minute stroll to the JR station. We drove and they had onsite paring that was very small but very handy. The rooms are very neat and comfortable if you are used to traveling around Japan and are used to hard beds. The staff are very friendly and they provide maps of the local area in English as well as Japanese which is very helpful. The decor of the hotel can be pretty funny at times but that just adds to the charm of the hotel. There is also a private Onsen that you can book. Overall good value for the price paid.

Room Tip: The Japanese rooms are very nice but they are futons on Tatami mats so if you are not used to hard b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suede16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    28
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
16
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This hotel was family friendly and great value for money. We liked that you could book the onsen for private use and had a set bathing time. Morning set was basic but well done. Room was a basic tatami room but perfectly adequate. Good internet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisen, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Stayed there for 2 night at Hakodate. It is only 5 mins from the JR station and it was a breeze dragging our luggage through the snow because of its location! After staying in Japan for 15 days, ive come to realise how important it is to have a hotel near the JR station! The hotel is also very near to Hakodate morning market! despite waking up late we still could make it on time to check out the freshest produce at the market. The hotel manager (i think), this friendly and fatherly man in his fifties/sixties recommended us this shop just beside the hotel for some scallop/fish roe/crab don which is a must try in Hakodate. He even recommended the slopes to visit and we had not much of a problem communicating with him in English

The hotel is not very new, but it is really affordable considering its location. Recommended! esp travellers on a tight budget!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dazzedation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

The hotel is small but clean. It smell of strong smoking which we hated !!!

There is an air cleaner in each room. Breakfast is not frill - hard boiled egg/ bread / jam/butter. milk /coffee & tea - that's al

It's very near to the JR station and Hakodate Morning market. Very convenient for tram ride to anywhere- Mt hakodate/ Red brick etc
Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zippysin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
0.2 mi away
Smile Hotel Hakodate
Smile Hotel Hakodate
#24 of 99 in Hakodate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ekimae
Hotel Ekimae
#28 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Ohte
Hotel New Ohte
#45 of 99 in Hakodate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#10 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hakodate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kikuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kikuya

Property: Hotel Kikuya
Address: 8-23 Wakamatsucho, Hakodate 040-0063, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 99 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kikuya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kikuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing