We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hakodate Hotel Ekimae
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Reviewed 6 August 2014

it's annual firework wkend and thus hotels are quite full in the city. We booked this hotel mainly due to its location as we had 2 breakfast and 2 dinner both nearby.
Pro:
- good location: close to JR station and hokodate morning market and tram station
- clean room and good front desk
Con
- WIFI is very weak and not connected most of time
- lift is very small and slow
- room is tiny
- extra charge for parking

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for one night to break up the train trip from Yokohama to Furano. The location was right near the train station and there were restaurants close by as well. I felt this hotel was really set up for business men. We couldn't get a large room for our family so ended up with 2 x double rooms. The bed was small but everything was clean and tidy. The breakfast was approx $A7 per adult and $3.50 per child. The one thing that annoyed me was the onsen was open for men all day then for women from 9.30pm - 11pm. When we went at 9.30pm there were about 12 women trying to get in at once!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mpeg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I like best about it's location . Though it's not very near to the asaichi market , but it's 3 min walk to JR station. Just a short walk to the market , for breakfast and yummy seafood.
Beautiful view at night across the Mt Hakodate ropeway. Amazing!!

Room Tip: for budget stay - i would definitely recommend this hotel as most tourist would be out at all time f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Hotel Ekimae is just 2 min. walk from Hakodate train station (which also has a govt tourist office for advice). The hotel does not have English signs, but there is a Seven/Eleven store in that building. There are 5 floors, and whenever you go up or go down, the lift will stop at the lobby floor on the 2nd level. There is a public bath, which is restricted from 9.30pm to women only. Rooms are decent size, compared with most other Japanese hotels. It is very economical stay here. In Hakodate, buy a tram day pass for 600y, and take unlimited rides. Tram is the best way to see the city as buses run infrequently (most by the hour only). This is summer time, so I do not know the situation in winter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean,new and tiny as japanese style. And the hotel is very close to JR station just across the street.There a 7&i minimart, very convinience.We love it and would be back again if we have a chance. Good price,good sevice and reasonable price!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boykobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 禁煙ルームの設定あり。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGR_Shun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone
Thank 松鈺 許
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
0.3 mi away
Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi
0.1 mi away
Smile Hotel Hakodate
Smile Hotel Hakodate
#41 of 96 in Hakodate
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Resol Hakodate
Hotel Resol Hakodate
#24 of 96 in Hakodate
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#11 of 96 in Hakodate
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#6 of 96 in Hakodate
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kikuya
Hotel Kikuya
#34 of 96 in Hakodate
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakodate Hotel Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakodate Hotel Ekimae

Address: 21-8 Wakamatsucho, Hakodate 040-0063, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range: £35 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hakodate Hotel Ekimae 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hakodate Hotel Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing