We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaside Hotel Kamome
Ranked #81 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We traveled in summer in hakodate and spend two nights there, the hotel is typical japanese, the room clean and with a great view. One weird thing is that you can sometimes smell smoke in the common places like someone is smoking in the hotel. The breakfast is traditional japanese and the view you have over the sea is just amasing in the morning, just for that the visit was worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YannisKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Seaside Hotel Kamome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Have you ever fall asleep with the lullaby of waves gently washing the shores?
Have you ever wake up to the sound of seagulls crying outside your window?

Seaside Kamome Hotel has definitely seen better days. Old and worn out,  but still retain that soft gentle demeanor of the royalty. 

About 30 minutes walk from the JR Hakodate Train station. Walk towards the shopping Waka building and straight until you see the red shrine. Then turn left, from far you will be able to see the signage of Kamome Hotel high up.

From this hotel, it is possible to walk to Goryokaku Fort. Without your luggage of course. It took me about 1 hour, with my bag pack and luggage.

I took the room that faces the Tsuruga Straits. I wanted to capture the fishing boat lights in the night across the ocean and the morning hue of sunrise in my viewfinder.

The shoreline was strewn with debris and seagulls, which gathered to chat and chatter. The sound of The waves crashes onto the shore, creating soothing balm to the tired soul of this traveler who chose this hotel as her last  night in Hokkaido.

The day when I reach Hakodate, it was misty, thus I was not able to take pictures of the fishing boat lights. 

However, early in the dawn, at 4:00am the mist cleared. I rushed out with my tripod and camera and managed to get my first glimpse of the fishing boat lights, flickering in the distant sea. Before I knew it, the sun started to rise,  the clouds bursting with hues of colors.

My first sunrise view, I was not disappointed.

I will definitely return again, for the soothing balm, for the beautiful sea.

.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Yuji N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Aurel-Anim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank yellowbox401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank てぽ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su-ya-Suya-zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Hotel Suncity Hakodate
#56 of 97 in Hakodate
66 reviews
Hakodate Park Hotel
#44 of 97 in Hakodate
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Promote Hakodate
#38 of 97 in Hakodate
65 reviews
Hakodate Station
Hotel Heart Inn
Hotel Heart Inn
#70 of 97 in Hakodate
20 reviews
Hotel Kikuya
#23 of 97 in Hakodate
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Hotel Kamome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Hotel Kamome

Address: 6-1 Ugauracho, Hakodate 040-0023, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range: £35 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaside Hotel Kamome 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Seaside Hotel Kamome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing