We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for Hakodate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Pension Hakodatemura
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hakodate
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Hakodate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

There are a number of reasons for choosing this guesthouse in Hakodate, first the owners are charming & very helpful. It's also very well located. We stayed with our kids aged 6 & 4 and they were really welcomed. We decided to stay on to see the port fireworks display (which is spectacular), and had to change rooms, so saw both the western and Japanese style rooms. My advice is go for the Japanese style room, really nice. Very good breakfast too. Definitely recommended. The only down side is a shared bathroom, but otherwise relatively good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestcritic99999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
13
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The pension is located close to the old port area which is now
fashionably touristy. From the JR station, take the street car
direction Dock-wae for three stops. Pull a ticket when you get in,
give it together with 200Y per person to the driver when you exit. The
pension is about 200 yards, or meters, from the tram stop.

It is in a residential area, very quiet, within walking distance (5
minutes) to the waterfront. You go through the original 1907 red brick
warehouses which now house boutiques etc. There are restaurants at the
port and also closer to the hotel. We had dinner at one of the places
close by, a sushi restaurant with those 'conveyor belts.' It was very
good and we paid a fraction of what it would have cost in Tokyo (less
than 70,000Y for three persons with plenty of sushi and some beers).

The pension is simple but clean. Our room was Western style, with beds, not
tatami. There was also a loft which we did not use. Bathrooms are shared and all were sparkling clean. Someone there really likes quilting: toilet seats and even toilet paper holders were
outfitted with mini-quilts. The toilet seats had a textile cover which
was a bit strange but comfy. Shampoo and soap is provided in the
showers. Everything was very nice and clean; if there is one
suggestion I would make it would be to change the communal soap bar
for a liquid soap dispenser.

We had breakfast for an additional 800Y per person. It was simple but
good.

The owners (looked like a husband and wife team) were very friendly and helpful and the wife spoke some English.

If I ever go back to Hakodate, I would immediately go back to this
pension.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We only stayed there for one night but wished we had stayed longer. It is located in the colonial district which is probably the best location to be in Hakodate as all the main sites and the Ropeway for Mt Hakodate are all nearby.

They were absolutely great and took our luggage in even though we were there before the usual check-in time. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The room is modern and very spacious. It sure makes a difference from the business hotels which tend to be much smaller.

There's also an absolutely adorable friendly dog there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smeng78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I were travelling by bicycle through Hokkaido and arrived in Hakodate as sun was setting one evening. We had no accommodations lined up and just happened to come across this place. So very glad we did!

They were extremely friendly and welcoming, allowing us to lock our bicycles indoors, giving us as much tourist information as we needed about the city and where to find things, even helping us to locate and telephone some stores for specialized bicycle bags we needed to buy. The location was excellent -- easy walking distance from the warehouse district and the gondola to the lookout over the city, as well as other tourist sights. The tatami room and bathrooms were clean and comfortable, laundry machines were available, breakfast was good, and the price for all this was very good. We decided to stay an extra day just to rest and relax here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This lovely B&B is located close to the colonial district of Hakodate so is convenient for all the main sights, train station and airport shuttle bus. The owner is very friendly and welcoming, speaks good English, and makes superb homemade soup and jam for breakfast. The whole place is clean, modern and nicely appointed throughout.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Friendly bed and breakfast, with an owner who speaks quite reasonable English. We recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0r1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Western-style ryokan with its own breakfast cafeteria downstairs. Rooms are decent, has a nice garden in the back, and the manager is friendly and speaks a little english. Facilities are decent, and the inn has a nice atmosphere. Good location to - very convenient location for the Mt. Hakodate cable-car as well.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank neepsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#6 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
La Vista Hakodate Bay
La Vista Hakodate Bay
#1 of 99 in Hakodate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smile Hotel Hakodate
#29 of 99 in Hakodate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#10 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Pension Hakodatemura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Pension Hakodatemura

Property: B&B Pension Hakodatemura
Address: Suehirocho 16-12, Hakodate 040-0053, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B Pension Hakodatemura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget & Comfortable family-run B&B founded 1984. Simple & clean 16 rooms are all non smoking and shared bathroom. Convenient location for sightseeing to enjoy on foot. * Kanemori Red Brick Warehouses / within 2 minutes. * Motomachi Old Churches and Ropeway Station for night view from Mt. Hakodate / about 5 minutes. * Motomachi Park / about 10 minutes. * Morning market and JR Hakodate station / about 15 minutes. * Yacjigashira Onsen Spa / about 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Pension Hakodatemura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing