We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Pension Hakodatemura
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dormy Inn Express Hakodate Goryoukaku(Hakodate)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate(Hakodate)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel(Hakodate)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
21
22
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
22
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswent above and beyondshort walkcable carhakodate stationhostsstreetcarsouvenirjapanmt
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This pension is a delightful place to stay. It is impeccably clean. There is polished wood everywhere and nary a spec of dust to be seen.
The Western-style breakfast is generous and delicious. The charming and friendly english-speaking hostess goes way out of her way to make the traveler feel welcome.
it is only a short walk to the tourist shops of the warehouse district. However, just across the street from the pension is a unique Japanese general store with unusual and high-quality gift items.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank El_Risco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent 3 nights here this November. Yes the weather changed from driving rain to snow but each day began with a delicious breakfast - Perhaps eggs and bacon or maybe an omelet and ham all artistically arranged and delivered with a big smile which tempered my mood!
The location was superb being a 1/2 block from the port and the old renovated warehouse area which housed "the action!" By the third day the place felt like home and it was hard to tear myself away.
This is a special place and charming Subiko speaks fluent English having spent time in The States. I bet that Spring and Summer would be particularly great times to visit! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: There is only one en-suite room - which I took! I think the establishment specializes in attracting people with more traditional tastes, However Subiko is very sensitive to customer tastes and it would be hard to find anything to complain about.!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RENTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed with Sumiko-san for 3D2Ns and all I can say is we hope our stay would have been longer. Hakodate is such a beautiful port town with so many if the yesteryears charms still can be seen, heard and experienced. The old Hakodate factory area is a must to visit especially with all the Christmas activities all day long and the morning market is a gem for all seafood lovers. We gorged down a 1.2kg king crab and wanted more. At night you can see the trees all light up and Christmas songs played from the public announcement speakers along the streets of Hakodate.

Sumiko's B&B is so conveniently located and it is within walking distance to all the local attractions, any further you can also take the streetcar which the station is just 2 blocks from the B&B. There are great food & beverage outlets around the area that you can try to experience the local fare and hospitality. The Hakodate Factory is a great place for souvenir hunting too!

The B&B was really our home away from home and Sumiko made us feel more like family then guest in her cosy place. Overall it is spotlessly clean and for a true experience of Japanese culture, we opted for the traditional room with futons. Our room oversee the central courtyard and with the snow made the whole place so charming.

Sumiko went all way out to ensure we are comfortable throughout our stay, even with one of us had a minor injury, sumiko drove us between 2 medical centers to get treatment. She was with us not all the way not just as the chauffeur but also help us with the registration and translation. Thank god for Sumiko-san!

Our last day we opted to have breakfast and no regret with that decision. By the time we were down for breakfast, the dining area is warm and filled with aroma of freshly brewed coffee and of course she cooked us a very hearty breakfast before we start our 3 hours train ride journey from Hakodate back to Sapporo.

I will definitely stay with Sumiko-san if I come back to visit this charming town in future. Sumiko-san really showed us the meaning of omotenashi and we are so glad we choose to stay with her.

Room Tip: Ask for the traditional japanese style room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YHChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The pension is small and charming. It reminded me of some long term hostels I had stayed in years ago. The owners were very nice and they kept the place very tidy and clean.
The location of the pension is the best thing about the place. It is close to red brick shopping area(has a good ramen shop), Motomachi, and the ropeway. We also walked to the morning market which took only 15 minutes from the pension and The Lucky Piero just down the street. We parked our car there and walked/trammed it for the 2 days we stayed. The tram line is only about 2 minutes away and we took that down to Goryokaku.
The Japanese room we stayed in was tidy and nice. There is no kettle, fridge, or TV in the room. You can put things in the fridge and drink tea on the main floor though. The loft space was a unique feature, but it was difficult for my wife and 4 year old to climb up and down. Also, my son and I suffered from very bad alergies from the futons and pillows. We rarely ever have allergies, so my guess was that the set was old. Like I already mentioned, the pension is clean, but if you suffer from dust alergies, avoid the futons and pillows.
On checkout they gave us a couple of post cards with pictures they took of us on check in. If it wasn't for the allergies, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teachingshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had two nights staying here and would have stayed longer if we could have. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly with good English. It's next to the old port area and very close to the colonial area so a great location. The breakfast was very good! Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: In the group we had a western and Japanese style rooms, both of which were good. They were ground floor but quiet as they faced onto the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews