We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chocolat Hakodate
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Misawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and value”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent two nights at this property and it was an excellent choice. The desk service was excellent and the room was without fault. The morning breakfast service was also excellent with a choice between western and Japanese breakfast selections. The location is convenient to the tram line and is only a short walk away. All day tram passes were available at the front desk which greatly aided in getting around the city. Our room was on the 5th floor and free of noise. The location of the hotel is in a residential area so street noise was minimal. This was our first time staying at this property and we plan to make it the base for our future trips to Hakodate. We highly recommend this property to all who wish for a quiet place to rest after a busy day touring Hakodate.

Room Tip: The dining room is on the second floor so possibly this floor might have a bit more noise in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saylesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
29
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The location of this hotel is 1 street next to the tram's station. The reception and the hotel managers are very nice. The room is very tiny and a bit old. The overall room condition is still ok and clean. It provide free wired LAN access. It uses the traditional key for room. You need to switch on and off of all lights one by one manually and it feels a bit not convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights late Nov12. Very Friendly and efficient staff. English speaking staff available too. One of the few hotels with family rooms able to accommodate a family of four easily. A good place to stay in this city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B777ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed only 1 night at this hotel when in Hakodate. This hotel is not exactly easy to find as it is not near the JR station and in a slightly remote area. Moreover, the room I was staying is at Level 2 and I felt uncomfortable when I stayed over the night (a little spooky). Of all the hotels I stayed in Japan (as I was on a 16 day trip from Tokyo to Hokkaido), this is the only hotel that gave me the creeps.

Breakfast is traditional Japanese breakfast set, so it's not too bad.

Actually I stayed in this Hotel October 2011.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room at Level 2, near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena_Woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is not near to the JR Station; takes about a good 15 minute walk to arrive at the hotel. It was no fuss to us since we could look around our surrounding and enjoy the cool autumn breeze.
The service staff were extremely helpful even though they managed limited english. We communicated by our limited Japanese, their limited English and our child-like drawings. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the hotel arranged a nice room for us. On our last night, the General Manager waited for us to come back and congratulated us on our anniversary. She spoke very good english and we were really delighted with the efforts her team and her put in during our stay. We had a good view of Mount Hakodate and the location was easily accessible to the local trams. As some reviewers mentioned, it was near to the redbrick warehouse and mt hakodate. We walked around the area a lot since we figured we could see a lot more by walking. The hotel recommended a good restaurant nearby and we had a fantastic dinner. Breakfast was excellent with Japanese or Western choices. We tried both and I personally preferred the western breakfast! Overall it was a wonderful experience and I cannot fault it. Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here based on TA recommendations, and I'm glad we did. It's very close to the Redbrick Warehouse District and a short walk from the Morning Market. You can also walk to the gondola that takes you to the top of Mt. Hakodate. Most other hotels just a few short blocks away were almost double the price, and the staff was very friendly and helpful in providing directions. They also include a pretty decent western style breakfast for a small extra fee which worked out well for us. It's also about two blocks from the local tram which will take you anywhere in the city (including the bigger drinking district). We'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aprboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Fantastic value for money - we paid 8,000 yen for our double room (kids free) incl. breakfast. The room was decent, clean and with a view of Mount Hakodate. The walls are a bit thin, but not too much noise from next door.
Breakfast was nice - choice of Japanese or Western style (eggs, toast, salad) with unlimited juice, milk, tea and coffee from the self-service bar.
Location-wise hotel is good, with a 10-15 min walk to the centre, the port area etc.
Very friendly and helpful staff, speaking English too.
Overall a very pleasant stay, we would def. come again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doistujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#7 of 97 in Hakodate
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Resol Hakodate
Hotel Resol Hakodate
#22 of 97 in Hakodate
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Winning Hotel
Winning Hotel
#18 of 97 in Hakodate
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#11 of 97 in Hakodate
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hakodate Royal
Hotel Hakodate Royal
#46 of 97 in Hakodate
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hakodate Motomachi Hotel
Hakodate Motomachi Hotel
#38 of 97 in Hakodate
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chocolat Hakodate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chocolat Hakodate

Property: Hotel Chocolat Hakodate
Address: 1-1 Otemachi, Hakodate 040-0064, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chocolat Hakodate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Chocolat Hakodate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing