We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive buffet breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Impressive buffet breakfast!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If there is one thing that I will not forget this hotel is the fantastic breakfast spread. It has both western and Japanese food and the variety is most memorable. Very clean, neat and nicely spaced. Must try the steak!!! so tender and juicy. This is the best breakfast I had in Hokkaido.

The metal door of our hotel room is another memorable thing. The only hotel that reminded me of a bank vault, yes I felt safe.

Hotel is convenient, close to the morning market

Rooms are big, comfortable and clean. Bathroom amenities are good, they give nice combs too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    360
    90
    11
    6
See reviews for
218
138
80
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel lobby looked modern, but room was a little dated looking. The metal door was kinda noisy, as you could hear next door guest opening their door. Nevertheless, the room was roomy and bed was comfortable. The toilet was big as well. The breakfast buffet was great.
The hotel is near Hakodate morning market, which is about 10 mins away by foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapporo, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are not after an onsen (hot spring bath), then the Hakodate Kokusai Hotel may be a better choice than Hakodate’s most popular hotel, the LaVista.

Other hotels I have stayed at in Hakodate include the LaVista, Loisir, Grantia Eki Mae and the Dormy Inn Goryokaku Hotel. The strengths of the Kokusai Hotel are its lobby area, location and breakfast.

In Japan, the name ‘Kokusai Hotel’ is traditionally synonymous with high class. In the past, the Hakodate Kokusai hotel was the hotel of choice for the Japanese Royal Family. The original building has now aged and an Annex (Bekkan) has been recently built in the West Wing. The floors in the East Wing are being refurbished. I stayed in the older East Wing which has little to offer in the way of views but is very reasonably priced. The best deals are with a rail travel package from JR.

The first impression of the hotel is of the spacious lobby area. Also located on the ground floor is the Bar/Café/Lounge, LeHavre. Although I did not use this lounge, it looks like a great place to meet people and will be my preferred choice in Hakodate for this purpose.

Like the LaVista, on the top floor of the new annex there is a cocktail bar that has good views of the Bay.

The East wing rooms are fair. Not as big as the Dormy Inn and the facilities are what you would expect from a top class hotel, but nothing more. I heard the rooms in the newer west wing are quite spacious. The bath tub is large for a Japanese hotel. The windows cannot be opened but each room, in addition to the room air conditioning, has a portable humidifier.

The big surprise at the Kokusai Hotel was the breakfast. I am tempted to say it is better than the famous breakfast at the LaVista Hotel. Like the LaVista, bowls of salmon eggs (Ikura) and seafood are plentiful. It feels like there are even more choices of food than the LaVista. Something definitely better than the LaVista is the breakfast steak, cooked to your taste.

I walked to the hotel from the railway station and although it is not in front of the station, like the Loisir and Grantia, it is a comfortable walk for those without heavy luggage. Otherwise, it is very short taxi ride. It is closer to the station than the LaVista, making it great for those who want to experience both the bay area and areas such as the Morning Seafood Market and the nightlife of Daimon Yokocho.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a larger room, choose the Western Annex (but rooms cost more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicholsp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We paid about US$82 for the cheapest room in the main wing for one night. Yes, the bedspread looks like it was designed 30 years ago, and the metal doors are clangy and un-classy. But for that price, we got a clean, spacious room (big enough to even include two single-seat sofa chairs + a table) that overlooked the harbour, and everything worked, despite appearing relatively ancient.

Its location was also ideal. We drove there, so I don't know how near the hotel is to the JR station. But the famed morning market is just 5 minutes walk in one direction, and the red-brick warehouses are a 5-minute walk in the opposite direction. Our rate didn't include breakfast, so we scoured the mind-boggling seafood selection at the morning market, before settling in a little cafe that served up seafood bowls. Take your pick of any 2 seafood items with rice for 1,000 yen. I opted for crabmeat and scallop, and it was honestly the best 1,000 yen I'd spent on food on my entire trip. The seafood was so fresh (the scallops were AMAZING), I still dream about it today. The cafe also served up freshly brewed coffee for free, so all-in, it was a fantastic start to the day.

There were also pushcarts at the morning market selling corn, grilled scallops and even sea urchin. Freshly-cut rockmelon (100 yen/slice) was everywhere. Most stalls have prices clearly stated, so you don't have to worry about being ripped off.

I'd definitely stay at Hakodate Kokusai if I ever visit Hakodate again. It isn't the swankiest hotel, but it's pleasant and central, and for that low, low price, absolute value for money.

P.S: If you walk towards the ropeway, stop right where the steep slope upwards begins, and look on your right. You'll see a local supermarket with good prices - ideal for stocking up on fresh fruit and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank startr3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Wide Traveller
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel is located between the JR station (10 mn walk) and Morning Market and the old parts of the city.(20 mn walking from hotel).
We first where assigned a smokers room, but asked to change because of the smell. That room ws clean but outdated with an old TV and some burns and stains on the carpets.
The new non smoking room we received was located in the annex of the buiklding. It did not have the nice view as the previous one but was much newer, cleaner, with a flat screen TV.
Buffet breakfast was nice and you have a choice of taking your breakfast at the morning market in one of the fish restaurants up to 11.00 AM (the hotel buffet cl;oses at 09.30).
Nice friendly staff, some spoke english.

Room Tip: Probably in the hotel annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benchmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stay at this hotel for 4 nights. Overall the stay was pleasant mainly because I was not having a very high expectation at this hotel after reading all the review.

Great location I must say, 5 mins walk to the fish market and 5 mins walk to the Red Brick shopping district.

There are 2 wings at this hotel and unfortunately, we were staying at the main building which was very dated. Carpets were all stained and the beddings were rather beat up. With the price we paid, you can actually stay at La Vista instead which is by the Red Bricks.

Another thing about this hotel is the sound proofing. Apparently the every door has a huge gap at the bottom and they are all made with metal. When people talking on the hallway or in the adjacent room, you can literally hear them clearly.

Good thing about this hotel is the staff there, most of them speak adequate English and they are very friendly and helpful.

Will I stay at this hotel again? Most likely not unless all hotels were fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

My husband, one year old son and myself stayed one night here at the Hakodate Kokusai. The hotel is large with two wings. We stayed in the older wing, which i have to say is dated. The lobby was a bit dated and felt like going back a few decades, but the bar area looked quite nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful, their english was pretty good. There is a large gift shop, a bakery, and a shop that sells local Hokkaido goods, such as cookies, gifts and other goods. When we got to our floor, the doors to the many rooms are metal plated, which i have to say isn't that attractive. The rooms are worn, but clean. We had a double bed, which was smaller than a queen. The hotel did not have a baby bed or crib for my son, so he had to sleep in bed with us, which wasn't easy in such a small double bed. From our room we had a great view of the harbor. From the JR Hakodate station, it's an easy 10 minute walk to the hotel. I thought the location was quite good. You are almost in the middle of the morning seafood market, where you can admire all the crabs, fish and squid and get some steam, grilled or have some very fresh squid sashmi for breakfast. If you walk a few minutes the other way, the Hakodate Brewery restaurant is two buildings down. The red brick warehouses, that have restaurants and shops are around a five minute walk away. If you like to walk, it's around a 20 -30 minute walk to the historic Motomachi area, which is famous for their beautiful western style houses, Russian Orthodox Church and Catholic church. The tram to Mt. Hakodate is a bit further. In total, location is great. If you stay here, try to get a room in the newer wing. The tram is a 10 minute walk and a good way to get around, especially if you go to the Goryokaku tower/fort.

  • Liked — location, non-smoking rooms
  • Disliked — rooms in the old wing are in need of renovation
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Yunokawa Onsen
La Vista Hakodate Bay
La Vista Hakodate Bay
#1 of 96 in Hakodate
1,488 reviews
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#6 of 96 in Hakodate
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yunokawa Onsen
Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei
Hakodate Danshaku Club
#5 of 96 in Hakodate
210 reviews
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#10 of 96 in Hakodate
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakodate Kokusai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakodate Kokusai Hotel

Property: Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
Address: 5-10 Ote-machi, Hakodate 040-0064, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakodate Kokusai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel overlooks the breathtaking Hakodate Bay. In addition to its elegantly designed features, Hakodate Kokusai Hotel is ideally located making it suitable for both business and sightseeing. Your room will be a perfect base to explore the city, as we are situated near Hakodate Mount (twenty minutes walk to the ropeway station), at a walking distance from Asaichi Morning Market, the West Ward, which is famous for its church buildings, and the Goryokaku Ward (twenty minutes by streetcar). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Ebookers, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hakodate Kokusai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing