We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$79
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
US$205
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$156
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$296
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$228
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate(Hakodate)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$64
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$483
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
171
375
99
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
375
99
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast wingwithin walking distancemorning marketjr stationbreakfast spreaddeluxe twin roomgreat buffet breakfastvarious attractionsfuss freenewer buildingminute walkstay at this hotel againhotel is locatedshuttle bus to the airportdated roomsinterior decorred brick warehouses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 662 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were glad to be back at this hotel after a great many years. This time, we got a room in the new wing as recommended by other reviewers and it was really good. The staff of the hotel is as helpful as ever - enlisted their help to book a sightseeing cab.

We really liked the convenient location - walking distance to the morning market and JR station (although with our huge luggage we took a short cab ride to the station), the Kanemori red brick warehouse and a stop for the airport limousine bus.

With a lot of great and inexpensive restaurants within walking distance we did not dine in the hotel at all. The hotel staff gave great recommendations and we enjoyed our ton ton yaki which was like okonomiyaki at one of the izakayas a couple of blocks away from the JR Hakodate station. I got a great rate from booking.com and would recommend this hotel looking for comfortable accommodation at a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

1.The staff are really nice here and really impressed me .
2.Clean ,comfort room but no good view here(single room).
3.Only 5 minutes walk to Hakodate Station.
4.Reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveler0219215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here one night while exploring Hakodate recently. This hotel appears to be a popular site for weddings, with a shop full of ornate dresses in all colors in the lobby complex and a wedding chapel on site. Our room in the new building was large enough to include two oversize twin beds and a generous seating area and it had an excellent view towards the harbor, just a block away. The room was clean and quiet and about a 10 minute walk from the JR train station. To get to our room we had to hike about 100 yards down a wide hallway that connects the older and newer buildings. In that hallway is a bar/cafe that was quite smokey during open hours, a bit of a turnoff. Room decor is indeed dated but furniture is perfectly acceptable. The hotel is in the lower section of town, about 5 minutes from a brewery/restaurant and 10 minutes from the warehouse district. The attractions in the uphill section of town are a 20 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building that face the port are very pleasant.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It's a huge surprise to have such a spacious room in Japan. Although a little bit dated, the hotel is clean, the staff is friendly. It's about 5 minutes walk from the train station, 2 minutes walk to the seafood market, 5 minutes walk to the warehouse tourist area. A 7-11 convenient store cross the street, the tram is just a block away. The location is nice.

We had a room in the west building facing the bay and have a nice view of the sea. Didn't try the breakfast since the seafood market is close by.

Generally, a nice hotel to stay in Hakodate, easy access to everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was encouraged when we arrived and found the lobby to be very attractive and recently updated. The restaurant and lounge also looked relatively new. The front desk staff spoke a little English, which was enough to help me since I speak some Japanese. If you don't speak Japanese, just be patient and they will try their best to help you. The rate I paid included breakfast and was very low, which is the reason I chose this place over other nearby hotels. The location is fairly close to the station and you can walk if you don't have luggage.

Our room was in the "new" annex. The lobby looks very modern with two story windows letting in lots of light. However, I think the elevators are really time machines that take you back to 1980. When we got out on our floor it was like a symphony is dusty rose and pink. The room was even worse. Pink vinyl headboards, pink stained carpet, 1980's pastel pink upholstery (with several HUGE stains), and dirty draperies. The beds and sheets were clean, so it is acceptable, but I'm glad they provide slippers so we didn't have to touch the floor. Luckily it didn't smell bad and the entire floor was non-smoking. In fact, the only place I smelled smoke at all was walking by the lounge in the lobby, which I think is acceptable.

The bathroom was just as dated as the room, but it was functional and clean enough with the usual amenities you find in all Japanese hotels. The room was large by Japanese standards with a beautiful view over the bay. Unfortunately, the windows don't open and the air conditioning was not turned on, so it was too hot in the room to suit me most of the time. The air purifier helped move the air around somewhat.

It is just sad to think how nice this place probably was in its heyday. The staff is dressed and groomed impeccably, so they do have some high standards, but that apparently doesn't apply to the condition of the rooms.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best we had in six weeks of Japanese hotels. They have chefs making steaks and eggs in addition to an extensive selection of both western and Japanese items. The service was attentive and very polite in the restaurant.

I'm not sure I would book this hotel again because there are newer and nicer ones in the same area. However, if you want to save money and can overlook the dirty carpets and such, then it is acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews