We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Matchbox size room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Hakodate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Matchbox size room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes, comfortable, clean and not expensive. The room was small even by Japanese standards
Excellent location close to the railway station and within walking distance of the sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew201nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    129
    42
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
68
68
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We do like this hotel. Very good value, esp since our kids (under 12yo) gets to stay and eat for free. We stayed for 2N in a room with 2 large single beds (120cm width). It was a bigger twin room so we paid more for it - US$130. Not much view outside our window but we didn't care. Free good breakfast. Free coffee throughout the day. Clean room and furniture were simple and looks new to me. Parking 500 yen per day which is reasonable. Hakodate morning market,convenience store and train station less than 5 min walk away. My in law stayed in the double room which is very small/compact but good price at less than US$80. Staff were friendly (then again we had never met a rude Japanese staff during our trip) and there is one that speaks some English. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed two nights there in a double room. Despite being the "largest" room on the same floor, the room was still very small and we hardly found space to stand after opening our luggauges on the floor. The room was clean but we found the bed not very comfortable.

The hotel offered free breakfast but we did not enjoy it because in Hakodate, you must not miss enjoying fresh seafood at the Morning Market. The hotel was very close to both the Market and the JR station. The tram station was also a few steps from the front door of the hotel. And they offered good price for budget travellers.

But if you prefer a more comfortable stay, you should consider other hotels. There were some better choices along the coach but of course, they are located a bit far from the JR station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duckiesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed 1 overnight here in Mid Apr'13.
Location is great right in front of JR station morning fish market and Tram stop.
Staffs are kind and polite.
Room is clean with comfortable bed & pillow..
We suggest u to pay slightly higher for twin bedroom for larger room space for 2 people.
Free coffee, tea and drinking water at the lobby from 3 pm - midnight

Room Tip: twin bedroom at non smoking floor is large & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bow T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is only 2 mins walk from the JR station and the Morning Market where you can find very fresh and cheap seafood. Although the room is really small, the place is clean and for the low price, less than 5000yen per night with breakfast, it's attractive for budget travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatcasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Comfort Hotel Hakodate - is a business hotel. Typically the rooms are small and so are the beds by north American standards with TV, fridge, desk, phone, as for the private bathroom extremely small 3 piece. The water is safe to drink from the tap. A little tight for a couple unless they are very close and you plan to use the room strictly for sleeping. The staff is very helpful and accommodating though their English may be limited. Check-in: 15:00 Check-out: 10:00.
There is a limited time promotion at the hotel for a free bottle of water at time of check-in for each guest. Also there is free internet connection in the rooms and a computer available for use in the main lobby.

The included simple buffet breakfast is acceptable, though it may not necessarily be conducive to everyone. Typical offering would be scrambled eggs or German potatoes, sausage, good assortment of breads including toast, cereal, yogurt, simple salad, rice balls, coffee, tea, orange juice, miso soup and soup of the day.
On weekends the best time for breakfast is at 6:30 as the dining area can become crowded, and during the week after 08:00 by then most of the business will have left. Breakfast Hours: 06:30 - 09:30

Right next door, is a department store with a grocery store in the basement. The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the JR Station. As for restaurants, there are many in the area specializing in Japanese style seafood dishes. If you like fresh crab and seafood, you have come to the right place.
Hakodate is more of a stop-off point for those who are planning to travel Hokkaido. Not that much to see or do, though they do have some points of interest. Best to check with the information office at the JR Station.

Would I return: Yes
Value: compared to other hotels in the area quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Arrived late without a reservaton but was happly greeted by english speaking staff. Hotel is only a brief 5 minute walk from the JR station. Very well priced including breakfast. The first room we checked into stank of cigerette smoke and musty a/c. Staff happly changed our room. The rooms are tiny but for the price and location are good value. The hotel is also close to the early morning market and bus to the Hakodate Mountain lookout.
My only gripe is that there is only one lift to service 10 floors which takes a long time to get to and from your room.
Overalll, a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#6 of 99 in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smile Hotel Hakodate
#24 of 99 in Hakodate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
La Vista Hakodate Bay
La Vista Hakodate Bay
#1 of 99 in Hakodate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Hakodate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Hakodate

Property: Comfort Hotel Hakodate
Address: 16-3 Wakamatsucho, Hakodate 040-0063, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Hakodate 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Hotel Hakodate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hakodate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing