We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a great view”
Review of Hotel Nord Otaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Nord Otaru
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is located just opposite the canal and has a great view of the sea from the top of the hotel. Wonderful to have a nice stroll at night, when all the lights are on.
It is about a 10mins walk away from the JR train station. It's surrounding has alot of small eateries and restaurants.
Room is dated but really spacious, clean and comfortable. Toilets are also really large, bath, toilet and dresser are all separate.
Staff were alright, friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nord Otaru
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room:clean and big,but some rooms face the courtyard(no view)
Service:meet the price
It's all way down hill (About 10 degrees)to the river from 小樽 (Otaru) station ,about 10 minutes walk.Therefore,you must climb up when you want to get to the station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler0219215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Perfect location for a one night stay in Otaru.

acceptable rooms- as if they are trying their and giving effort within their budget.

I like the front desk staff, and convenient souvenir store next to it. Try anything by 白恋人.
Won't disappoint.

Chargeable instant coffee in the room is very strange though....is your tea also at cost?
Was a bit unclear.

Anyway, thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NietzscheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent hotel. The lobby is clean and spacious and the staff is attentive. The room is clean and modern with enough space to relax which is especially hard to find in Japan. The canal is right across the street and there are many food and souvenir stores within two blocks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The rooms were nice enough as we upgraded to view of the canal, slightly larger rooms, each of which had a massage chair in the room which we quite liked. Then at dinner, our Japanese friend and guide let us know he had been told the chairs would be removed from our room the next day. Why, because another guest wanted them. The breakfasts were OK, but certainly not the quality we had come to expect from the other hotels we had stayed at so far on this 3 week Japanese trip. So the location was great, midway on the canal, and the rooms were OK, the staff ended up refunding back a third of the upgrade fee for removing the chairs. The bar on the top 7th floor was promoted on the breakfast tables, in the elevator and in the lobby, but both nights we were there, closed early, likely because there was so little business. A self fulfilling result if you stay closed.

Room Tip: Get a canal view and a guarantee the massage chairs stay for the length of your stay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is located on the street that runs along Otaru's scenic canal, so the location is perfect. You can easily walk to the warehouse area for restaurants and to other sites around town. I'll admit that when we first arrived I thought the hotel was kind of odd, but it grew on me. The rooms look like they have been recently refreshed with new wallpaper, draperies, carpet and furniture. The decor is purposely dated, so I won't hold the decor against them. However, I wouldn't choose it for my own house.

Be sure to book a room overlooking the canal if you want to get the most out of staying here. Otherwise it is just a generally nice hotel in a pretty city. The staff speaks enough English to be helpful and they were all very friendly. The breakfast buffet is extensive. Definitely book with a rate that includes breakfast because there is nothing else anywhere near the hotel. We had dinner at the hotel one night because we were too tired to go out and it was very good. It is overly formal for the kind of place this is, but the food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

The rooms are small, but that's nothing unusual for Japan. The only issue we had is that the hotel advertises that it has air conditioning, but it wasn't turned on because it was snowing outside. However, since the windows don't open it was stuffy in the room with no way to move the air around. There is an air purifier that sort of blew the air around, so we could tolerate it, but I would prefer that the A/C actually worked. The bathroom is in two parts with the toilet in its own little booth across the entry hall from the bathing area. Everything worked and the typical amenities are provided.

Our room was non-smoking and we never encountered any smoke anywhere in the hotel.

I would stay here again for sure. The city is quite charming and worth a visit. If you are short on time, it is an easy day trip from Sapporo so staying overnight really isn't necessary.

Room Tip: Book a room with a canal view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed with friend who come from NARA
It is location that is convenient for Otaru tourism
Itwas very cheap rates and yet Service attitude was very good

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koyukisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
838 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#8 of 21 in Otaru
201 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#5 of 21 in Otaru
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nord Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nord Otaru

Address: 1-4-16 Ironai, Otaru 047-0031, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Price Range: £53 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nord Otaru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nord Otaru is located in front of Otaru Canal. It's located 7-minute walk from JR Otaru Station. Superior room has panoramic views of the Otaru canal. Free Wi-Fi support. Breakfast is served in buffet style in the image of the port city and Hokkaido. In the morning, you can also enjoy the magnificent scenery with views of Ishikari Bay in the top lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nord Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nord Otaru Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing