We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joey G
Singapore, Singapore

Just opposite Otaru Canal

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2019via mobile
Great location - directly opposite the Otaru Canal and less than 10 mins walk from the JR station. Slightly further to the popular Hokkaido dessert brands and the music box museum (about 20 mins walk).

Room size was little smaller than average Japanese hotel rooms. Tight for 2 pax and with luggages. Felt it could be better. Think they do have bigger sized rooms available.

Service was within expectations as with Japanese service standards.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, 宿泊部 at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this review
Responded 27 Mar 2019
Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We will do our best service to satisficed for all guests.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru Abe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Superior Twin - 軟石 design -
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • japanican.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Booking.com
0.0 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ロビー
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £100
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The A-Type Special Room at the Otaru Furukawa
  • Rakuten Travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    £206
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £61
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
ホテル外観
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £158
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £65
  • Hotels.com
4.3 miles from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Otaru
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
127
256
93
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
256
93
14
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2019

An amazing hotel that is simple to find. Beautiful view of the Otaru Canal and close to most tourist attraction, all in walking distance. The staff are helpful and friendly, plus free coffee and umbrellas for guests to use. The room was full of Japanese amenities, automated toilets, humidifier were provided. the room was quiet and adequately kept in a comfortable temperature.

Room tip: The view of the courtyard is magnificent.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mangpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

Location is very convenient. Walking distance to all the attraction and the canal just opposite the hotel! staff are very helpful through out the period stay from parking to room service. The room is just nice, enough space for breathing - i guess most of hotel in japan not very spacious.

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank chae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler10528213805, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru
Naomi Oiwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

I really like my room with a perfect view of Otaru canal which make me a great holliday. The Otaru canal just accross the street. We walk along the canal until late and wake up very early to find moring view from our room window. Love to come back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Pulley Hostel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler10528213805, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru
Naomi Oiwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

My second visit to Otaru and stayed in same hotel Nord. This time around brought friends and we stayed in 3 rooms. We spend fantastic time in Otaru. The hotel treat us well as our rooms were upgraded. The view from the hotel faced the bay and the sight of snowy Otaru canal was majestic. The view was even more beautiful from the restaurant in early morning. The services provided was great.

Room tip: 5th Flr facing sea.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahli o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, front at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We sincerely appreciate for choosing our hotel again.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
The four seasons can be distinctly experienced in Hokkaido,
and each season comes with its own sightseeing spots and seasonal food.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.
Hotel Nod Otaru Chieko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

This hotel had a good location as it was right across Otaru canal and a 10 min walk from Otaru station however commuting with bags on snow covered streets can be extremely difficult.
We chose to take a taxi to the hotel from the train station and on our return too.
There is a bar in the hotel which servers finger food until 10 or 11pm .
Most restaurants outside the hotel shut at 8pm so if you need to grab a bite, head to the bar.
We didn’t opt for housekeeping service so it was very thoughtful of the staff to keep two bags filled with amenities outside our door as we had a DND on our door while we stepped out.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sha_dsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler10528213805, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru

Hotel Nord Otaru
Naomi Oiwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews