We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent English speaking staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent English speaking staffs”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Next to Otaru JR station, at most 5 minutes walk. We booked only 1 night.

There are shops linked to the hotel. Surprisingly there is a onsen in the hotel.

It's quite far to Otaru Canal, base on my walking speed min 20 minutes. But we love our stay as the twin non-smoking room is very differently setup compared to the other hotels we stayed in Japan. Our room is Zen style, but doesn't mean the room is big. It's the way how the layout of the room that makes it very comfortable and plus good wifi in our room.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the main road, to reduce noise level. Otherwise get a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOUSEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    297
    54
    7
    10
See reviews for
232
196
103
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a Dormy Inn Premium hotel which means it comes with a bit more than your average Dormy Inn (which frankly can be a bit of a hit and miss). In this case it makes for an excellent choice. Relatively affordable the hotel is central located right opposite the train station (you won't hear the trains inside the hotel, don't worry) and walking distance from the canal area, eateries etc. The rooms are spacious though not exceptionally large (at least not for Hokkaido). The rooms come with decent sized flatscreen tv, good and fast wifi (though erratic at times, sometimes stops and then starts again a minute later, bit irritating when you are trying to stream media), and the usual amenities. The bathroom is an interesting affair as the washing basin is separate from the actual shower/toilet. You exit the shower cubicle through the toilet. The washing basin is in the small hallway that spears your room from the door outside. Not really an issue, simply the way the rooms have been designed. The staff speaks reasonable English. We were particularly surprised by the quality of the onsen. Having stayed at onsen hotel before this is an exceptionally pleasant, spacious and clean one; very well designed with even a semi-outside onsen (lovely in the evening!). All in all this makes for a great choice if you want to spend a bit more time in Otaru than the average tourist (most will simply do this as a day-trip from Sapporo which is also quite okay: it takes little more than an afternoon to see everything in Otaru).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boise
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful modern room design with a door separating 2 areas. Cosy setting at the lounge area. The only problem we had was figuring how to park the car but after getting help from the receptionist, everything is fine. Location is approximately 40 mins by walking to otaru canal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beatitudesooiBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Amazingly good price performance ratio. It's newly renovated and got literally everything, even a full featured onsen spa. This hotel is just across the street from the otaru train station, so you can just drop off the luggages and begin your fun. Driving there is just as convenient, 1000 Yen per stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 411edwardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in March in a twin tatami room, after booking a great deal on booking.com ($108AUD). We booked because of the location (literally across the road from Otaru JR station and the Otaru bus terminal that has a great tourist bus called the otaru stroller that goes all around the city). I had no real expectations for the room because from all the photos on trip advisor it seems like a gloomy, small hotel. Luckily we were in for a surprise! First of all the staff at the front desk spoke reasonable English and were friendly and helpful, letting us keep our luggage there before and after our stay for a few hours each time. Twin tatami rooms cost a bit more than the other rooms, but worth it if you get a deal. They are bigger, and I booked a tatami room because tatami is usually cleaner than carpet. These rooms are also only on the highest floor. The room was big for usual japan standards. Through the front door there was an entry area big enough for our 2 big and 2 small suitcases, then you step through the sink area and a separated shower/toilet area, then there's a small study desk nook then the bed area, with a table and 2 japanese floor chairs. There's also free wired and wireless internet - the fastest upload and download speeds I've ever seen with the wired internet!!!

The public onsen is quite busy at night times, but we'll maintained with a few different baths to choose from including some 'outside' ones. Free ramen at night time was a fun experience.

Would most definitely stay here again both for the location and convenience and the clean, nicely designed rooms! Cannot recommend the twin tatami rooms highly enough!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kewlaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

What a Gem this Hotel is, recently built & located across the road from Otaru train station; a bus will stop out front of the hotel to pick up skiers going to the mountain for the day & return them in the late afternoon.
The rooms are large for a Japanese Hotel, very, very clean.
There will be language problems, but rest assured, the staff will do everything possible to assist you; it is the Japanese way.
The public bath house was fantastic, well designed & also extremely clean had three pools, a cold plunge pool & sauna.
You can choose to pay a little more on your accommodation to include an excellent breakfast; I would recommend you do this, you won't be disappointed.
The hotel is close to a fantastic variety of little restaurants & tiny Japanese bars, walk in any direction & you will discover something to take your fancy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keenskier3481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Second time to visit Otaru but first time to stay overnight, glad i chose Dormy Inn per my friends recommendation, i am confident that you will enjoy this hotel as its unique with its nicely themed onsen, there was apples floating in the morning, theres also a nice aroma, the receptionist was great, spoke good english, i had some problems turning the tv as it was all in japanese, felt embarrased, i rang reception and next minute they came to my room to explain to me which button to press. hows that for service!
and in the evenig theres free noodles i couldnt ask for more with nice range of buffet breakfast in the morning.... will come back again:)

Room Tip: Must go and try the onsen and take advantage of the nice noodles at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCC_IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
793 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#5 of 21 in Otaru
318 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#9 of 21 in Otaru
192 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#4 of 21 in Otaru
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Property: Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Address: 3-9-1 Inaho, Otaru 047-0032, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
#1 Family Hotel in Otaru
#2 Best Value Hotel in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Otaru 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They're proud of a large hotspring and breakfast buffet-style meal. From Otaru station, 1 minute on foot. Parking lot 1 is day 1,100 yen. (I inform arrival order) parking lot at the time of no vacancies nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hotel Otaru
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing