We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand stay at Grand Park for Sapporo Snow Festival, Hokkaido”
Review of Grand Park Otaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Park Otaru
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Three students and I went to the snow Festival 2014 at Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan. It was easy to book online into the Grand Park hotel, Utaru, just 2 weeks earlier. This was amazing good luck as reportedly the Sapporo Snow Festival attracts 2 million visitors. Utaru is a short fabulous train ride from Sapporo along the bay. Hotel 5 minute walk from station through covered corridor. You can get a Harbour or Hill view room, but book early for Bay view. I missed it. But the hill view 14th floor single room was clean, spacious, well-lit. Wi-Fi glitch instantly corrected by hotel staff. Toiletries more than adequate. Breakfast not included in price but available at discounted rate in a restaurant with terrific view of the harbour. Hotel attached to 3 km of malls with all kinds of consumer goods, including puppies, but NO electronics. I bought a memory card for my camera at the Yamada shop a short walk away. recommended by hotel staff. As everywhere in Japan, courteous helpful staff. Stock up room fridge with stuff from the malls to save on meals. Or eat at the malls. They will arrange sight-seeing taxi and advise you on buses for Otaru which has much to see. At the mall exit of the hotel is a post office and tourist information stand.

Room Tip: Book early for a Bay/ Harbour view room. Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordullinsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin3111, Front Office at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Ms. lordullinsdaughter

Thank you for stayed with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

As you write, there are many shops in the WING BAY OTARU.
It's very convenience for customer to get some daily necessities and also souvenirs.

When you back our hotel again, please try to book the room that face to ocean.
We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Grand Park Otaru can be assessed from Otaru Chikku Station. There's a big mall next to the hotel.
The mountain view room is very nice. The room is big and spacious.
It's just 10 mins ride to Otaru Canals.

Room Tip: Mountain view room is more interesting than sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ochatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin3111, フロント at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Ms. Ochatiger

Thank you for stayed with us.
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

When you back our hotel again, please try to the room face to ocean.
It's also beautiful sight!

We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is located at the JR Otaruchikko station which is about 10 minutes from Otaru and 30 minutes from Sapporo JR stations. We stayed for 4 nights and for our purposes on the trip, which were to bounce back and forth between Otaru and Sapporo it was a good location. But if you are travelling and want to only experience one of these places then it might not be so well located. However, if like us you want to go to Sapporo during the snow and ice festival, then it is best to book well in advance because when we were looking for hotels we initially were looking in Sapporo (3 months in advance of the time we went) and found almost all the hotels to be booked or extremely expensive and so Grand Park Otaru was an excellent alternative for us.

One of the let downs that we experienced here was how early everything closed in the hotel (mostly restaurants) and in the attached shopping centre. We arrived at about 8pm after a long day of travelling from Aomori and were frustrated to find that we would have to catch a taxi into Otaru to find a place to eat dinner (about 10-15 minutes away by taxi).

Our room however, was great. We had a massive room with plenty of space and a view out over the ocean neighbouring the hotel. It was a really nice room.

Breakfast in the hotel is okay, but nothing spectacular and for my tastes it was pretty average in quality. Another downfall to this hotel is that there was no wifi in the guest rooms, only in the lobby and it was rare that you would find no one sitting downstairs on their phones using the internet.

On the whole though, this hotel was really good for us and our 4 night stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were really wonderful and spacious. I would stay here again in the future, just make sure you eat dinner early around here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndiaDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin3111, フロント at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Ms.India Dwyer

Thank you for stayed with us.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

As you know, it's a little bit difficult to book some hotel
in SAPPORO during snow festival.
However, our hotel is convenience to go to SAPPORO.
There is also OTARU right festival in same turn!
(We called YUKIAKARI, so beautiful festival.)

About Wi-Fi, we are sorry to inconvenience for you.
We already entered all in hotel, so when you come back hear,
you can use Wi-Fi in your room.

Again, thank you for your stay.
We're looking forward see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Though this hotel is at Otaru Chikko which is 2 JR stops from the Otaru terminus, it suited the needs of my friend and I who are both lazy travellers. We usually only do a few things a day when we're on holiday.

After we checked in at the hotel, we'd lunch somewhere in Otaru Wing Bay. There're many dining options. Then we walked around the shops and took a walk outside along the harbour before going back to our room to rest.

Our room was spacious and had a nice harbour view. Though it's not ultra modern, we did feel very comfortable inside. It'd have been nice to have wifi in our room instead of only the lobby. Having said that, I noted from the hotel's reply to an earlier review that they'd have wifi on the entire hotel next month.

In the evening, we took the JR train to Otaru (took only about 6 minutes) and walked along the atmospheric canal before having an excellent sushi dinner.

I'd recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin3111, フロント at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Mr. /Ms. Egon70

Thank you for stayed with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

As you write, our hotel's some rooms face to ocean.
It's so beautiful sight.
Also, we have some rooms face to mountain.
The sight is also good...you can see the city night sight from higher floor.

About Wi-Fi, we are sorry to inconvenience for you.
We already entered all in hotel, so when you come back hear, you can use Wi-Fi in your room.

Again, thank you for your stay.
We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and overall were very happy. From what we saw it's probably the only modern 4 star hotel ( think Hilton, Marriot etc) in Otaru so if this is the sort of hotel you want it's the only real option. It definitely lives up to that reputation, with excellent staff ( with good English) and a beautiful interior.
We had a sea view room and I'd definitely recommend this as it's an amazing outlook from the marina in front to the mountains across the bay. The room was a really good size too with lots of space and a huge comfy bed.
The hotel is situated over a mall which is quite convenient. Apart from the shops there are a good range of restaurants on the ground and first floor. I'd recommend Sakana Isshin for excellent sushi ( try the Shako mantis shrimp!) and Spasta for fantastic pizza.
There's also a big supermarket called Aeon which is well worth looking round and great for milk, tea etc.
The mall attaches the hotel to both the train station and the supermarket but this is only usable when the mall is open. This can be a bit annoying because the supermarket opens at 8am but the mall doesn't open until 10 so to get there from the hotel you have to walk around the block outside. Similarly from 8pm onwards the mall is closed so you have to walk the 400m or so from the station outside. It's not a deal breaker but worth knowing as dragging bags through the (lots of) snow can be a hassle.
The other issue worth noting is that the hotel isn't in central Otaru. It's actually 2 stations down the line in the direction of Sapporo (station name is Otaruchikko). In reality this isn't very far, 25mins on foot or 5mins by train, but it is worth knowing if you're expecting to be next to the famous canal, because it isn't. From our experience I think the trade off is worth it because the hotel looks much better than those near the canal area.
So overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Otaru or Sapporo.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank geoffrey_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin3111, フロント at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you foryour stayed with us.

We are glad to hear that many words of prise.
(Also you enjoyed view of ocean)

We are sorry to caused your inconvenience that shopping mall closing hour.
That' opening hour is 10AM to 8PM in winter season.
But, in that time, its very convenience and enjoyable shopping.

Again, thenk you for your stay.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Took the train from Chitose Airport, get off at Chika Otaru station. Then a 5 minute walk through the shopping mall. Great as it is winter and cold outside.

Paid extra for the ocean view room and it was wonderful. Larger room than expected and great views. We took a taxi about $10 to the light festival at night. Taxi to music box museum also about $10. Slippery walking around in the snow.

Hotel breakfast was typical for Japan and expensive, $18 USD. Fish, salad, rice, curry, they did have scrambled eggs and roll/toast. The mall which the hotel is in the middle of does not open till later so not an option for breakfast. Friendly staff but no wifii in room. Wifii in the lobby.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acrafton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin3111, フロント at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your stayed with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The light festival called "YUKIAKARI" is one of themain festival in OTARU.
Its only night time but so beautiful, you know.

We are sorry to caused your inconvenience that you couldn't use WIFI in your room.
It'll be available to use WIFI in our entire hotel next month.

Again, thank you for your stay and we are looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spend about 7 days in Hokkaido and tour around different place from Hakodate - Niseko - Otaru and Sapporo, this is the best and cheapest hotel I ever get in the overall trip.
This is consider a 4-5 star hotel but the price is really reasonable (may be we got a good deal).We got a mountainview, the room is huge. The best part is location, it is one station away from Otaru main station, and just above a huge shoppingmall. After we tour around Otaru from morning to evening, we just spend time shopping in the mall the whole night.
Do not remember there is fitness center or swimming pool.
one thing to take note is from the train station you can pass by the shopping mall all the way to the hotel, we went Otaru during winter, so it was cold. In the morning and night, before the shopping mall open and after it close you got to walk outside (there is direction guide you to the hotel). it was connected with the station, so from 10am - 9pm you can go to hotel all sheltered.
hotel staff are nice to help to recommend places with limited english but we roughly understand.
overall we love our stay here in Grand park hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSTServiceExecutive, Front office at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2014

Thank you for staying at Grand Park Otaru. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. There is a sport center located at the 4th floor of Aeon shopping mall. As a hotel guest you will entitled to a discount for the usage of gym, hot spring and swimming pool.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Otaru on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Hotel Nord Otaru
#4 of 22 in Otaru
353 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#3 of 22 in Otaru
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#9 of 22 in Otaru
207 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Asari Classe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Otaru

Address: 11-3 Chikko, Otaru 047-0008, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Otaru
#3 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
Price Range: £48 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Otaru 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel, International Grand Park Otaru located on the bay area in Otaru. With this strategic location easily accessible to Yacht Harbour in Otaru Marina, offering magnificent view of Ishikari Bay, the Hotel provides special moment away from routine and gracious resort life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Otaru Hotel Otaru
Grand Park Hotel Otaru
Otaru Grand Park Hotel
Hilton Otaru
Otaru Hilton
Grand Park Otaru Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing