We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”
Review of Dormy Inn Wakkanai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dormy Inn Wakkanai
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels / Ryokan in Wakkanai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed only one night, but enjoyed a lot its convenient location and rooftop bath.
Just 3 min walk from Wakkanai station, it is located in the heart of city centre with nice ocean view
when you go to higher level. Complimentary tea and evening noodle (2130-2300hrs) is served
at the reception. For drivers, overnight parking costs at 500 yen at the multistorey parking
just behind the hotel.
Rooftop bath is relaxing either daytime or nighttime, open air bath is also terrific with good
city/ocean view. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, but most of them are closed Sunday.
Will choose this hotel again if I have oppy to come back to this city.

Room Tip: Higher level with ocean view would be lovelier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazuwox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We wanted to touch the most Northern tip of Japan using our Rail-pass. The Dormy Inn turned out to be a great choice. Clean, great twin room and an Onsen with a superb view on the top floor. It being close to the JR station was als a benefit as the roads and walk ways were covered with lots of snow and ice. Wakkenai itself, in winter, is a bit like the end of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldmember_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Judging from my part-time work experience as a recipient at a hotel in Tokyo, this hotel is great. I could find no faults, except for the bad sound-proof quality and that they did not have Wi-Fi.
I had sent my baggage in advance, and it has been already carried into my room when I arrived. The recipients were all nice with smiles on their faces.
The room was comfortable. It has enough number of hangers, a switch for the refrigerator, everything was designed for the convenience of the guests.
I cannot finish this review without mentioning other great things.
This hotel is close to the station, of both JR trains and buses.
The view from the room is nice.
The public bath, or onsen is great. The breakfast is great, full of Hokkaido ingredients.
You can also enjoy soba for free at night at the restaurant.
I bet you can have a nice stay at Dormy Inn Wakkanai.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank JamesMorganII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Dormy Inn Wakkanai is a good choice with its location very near to JR Station.The onsen was great! It was very clean and the facilities looked new.Twin Room was comfortable and functional.The sea view from the room is also very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a nice hotel, big rooms, nice view. Our only disappointment was that that the hotel restaurant was close (hotels word!) on the night of our stay. This proved to be a bit of a problem as local restaurants didn't have the plastic food models that are common in Japan, while we have no Japanese. We took our chances a restaurant around the corner and got a great meal!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew201nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was a bit apprehensive when seeing the tired looking building from afar, but it's the inside where this hotel shines. New rooms with excellent beds, an electric massage chair, phone charger, kettle, the full works. Staff is very attentive and helpful. Location is 2 minutes across the JR station and there are plenty of restaurants just around it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkgmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

So far, all the Dormy Inn's I have stayed in delivers everything a traveller needs. Wakkanai even more so. Accessibility, room comfort, service.With Wakkanai's fickle weather, the ofuro and rotenburo at the top of the hotel, gives some much warmth and comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARY ANN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakkanai hotels
0.2 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Wakkanai
ANA Crowne Plaza Wakkanai
#2 of 26 in Wakkanai
320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wakkanai Grand Hotel
Wakkanai Grand Hotel
#3 of 26 in Wakkanai
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miyuki
Hotel Miyuki
#4 of 26 in Wakkanai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wakkanai Sun Hotel
Wakkanai Sun Hotel
#19 of 26 in Wakkanai
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Okabe Shiosaitei
Hotel Okabe Shiosaitei
#10 of 26 in Wakkanai
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saharin
Hotel Saharin
#6 of 26 in Wakkanai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Wakkanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Wakkanai

Address: 2-7-13 Chuo, Wakkanai 097-0022, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Wakkanai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels / Ryokan in Wakkanai
Price Range: £41 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Wakkanai 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy Inn Wakkanai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Wakkanai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing