We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-snooty factor luxury hotel”
Review of Hotel Francs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Francs
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel for people who want to feel like they're in a luxury hotel without feeling self conscious about fitting in. Staff are friendly enough to not be snooty and the hotel is worn down enough to feel comfortable.

The rooms were fabulous: we had a dining area with a welcome bowl of fruit, a small fridge, and two beds. It was one of the biggest rooms we have stayed at in Japan.

Breakfast was buffet style with both Japanese and Western food. Delicious.

The only drawback is that they don't have wifi. Who doesn't have wifi these days???

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooglebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

My two friends and myself stayed in this hotel last December and was slightly surprised by how small and cramped the rooms were.

However, for me personally, small rooms were okay and natural as small cramped rooms are the norm in Japan. But for those who enjoy large spacious rooms, this hotel is not for you.

In terms of location, it couldn't be better. It's right next to the bus terminal and the train station. There's also plenty of snack bars, restaurants and noodle bars nearby.

There's even an outlet close by for your shopping needs.

The hotel staff were very friendly. They didn't speak much English but my friends and I spoke a little Japanese so we were able to communicate in the end.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymoonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nites in Jun 2013. The room is compact and clean. Internet is free but only via LAN cable, there is no wifi connection in the hotel. Though the speed is slow and unreliable. The rooms are small compared to the nearby hotel that I has stayed before ( Manhattan and New Otani). Breakfast provided are limited in choices but the view is nice coz the breakfast room is located on the highest floor. The hotel is easily accessible from Narita as the airport bus stops in front of the hotel ¥1100 from Narita. The train station is just located 10 min walk thru the factory outlet. Direct trains to tokyo and disneyland.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights and had a nice stay throughout. We took superior twin room that came with two 120 beds. Room space was comfortable as we could easily bring in three large suitcases in the room and a baby stroller. Room was very clean. Clean and fresh towels were replaced every single day. No issue with aircon at all as we easily controlled it through the switch in our room with no hassle. There is free coffee machine available in lobby area for 24 hours. The hotel in general is well maintained. Bathroom is fresh and clean all the time. The location is 5minutes walking distance to Makuhari shopping outlet and Kaihin Makuhari station.
Staffs are polite, efficient, and helpful.
We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Over priced..Location is conveniently close to Train station and Messe
many eating joints around station area
small rooms but good comfortable beds
Unfortunately they insist on switching off central aircon coz outside temperature was 15c but small windows offer no fresh air making rooms very stuffy with no fresh air. I was almost choking to death till I got used to the lack of oxygen.

Breakfast if Ok and more than just basic but well prepared.
Room internet is good speed but wired.
There is a direct bus too and from Narita cost just 1100 JPY and almost every hour..tockets sold at front desk.

I am sure you can get better hotels at lower price in same area since I looked around later.
Not a VFM place

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMG_where_to_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a few nights during Foodex. It is very compact, on the booking sites they said that the single rooms was 17 sq m, but I sincerely doubt it, as there was no room around the bed, not even where to unpack your suitcase. Even if you find a place to put your luggage, the wardrobe is so small you can't store more than 2 shirts and 1 coat. Anyway, teh hotel si very clean, they provide Shiseido shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and face soap, but no body lotion. The bathroom ceiling is a bit low, but this is no surprise since everything is so compact.
The staff was very polite, the check-in/check-out amazingly fast. The breakfast is ok, but can become a bit boring after 3-4 days. Lots of places to eat nerby and a few bars and pubs where you can enjoy a drink.
Its best feature is the location close to the Makuhari Messe exhibition center (the footbridges connect directly inside the center), but since it's a little far from Tokyo, plan for a 1 hour train ride to arrive in the sightseeing places. Oh, it's also quite close to Disneyland and there is a direct shuttle bus from Narita airport to the hotel (keisei bus) for 1100 yen.
All in all, convenient, but only if you have business at the exhibition center, not for tourism.

Room Tip: If you have a budget, book a double room even if you are travelling single, especially if you plan t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sup3rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

A compact hotel, Convenient to the convention center, it save you from taxi fare.V

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhonnieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiba hotels
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel The Manhattan
Hotel The Manhattan
#1 of 45 in Chiba
320 reviews
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel New Otani Makuhari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Green Tower Makuhari
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Springs Makuhari
Hotel Springs Makuhari
#11 of 45 in Chiba
164 reviews
Chiba Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Chiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francs

Address: 2-10-2 Hibino Mihama-ku, Chiba 261-0021, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Chiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiba
Price Range: £48 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francs 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Francs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francs Hotel Chiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing