We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations, so-so on restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just got back to HI after a conference in Tokyo. Apa is a well-appointed hotel with a lovely public bath, spa and lounge on the 50th floor. It is right next to the Makuhari Messe, providing direct access to the convention halls. The 2 restaurants I tried were sub-standard in the quality of the food. The cafe had less than impressive pizzas; the breakfast buffet was cheapo food at $25 per head and the decor was shabby. What disappointed me most was that these 2 establishments would not let me charge to the room. That said, I was happy with my room and the service provided by the hotel staff, who made it a point to make our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Great views in every direction.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed at APA Hotel & Resort, Tokyo Bay Makhuhari from October 28, 2013 to November 1, 2013. It is well maintained and staff members are very friendly. View of the sea from room is awesome. Nice restaurant and delicious food

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea is excellent
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGRamachandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

On a business trip, I stayed here to be close to the Makuhari Messe. In that respect it was a great choice. The hotel is connected to the Messe via an elevated, covered walkway and since it was rainy the whole time, that was especially nice. It's also about a ten minute walk from the JR train station, ca. 40 min to Tokyo Station. The baseball stadium is nearby as well.
My room was a single, and typical for a Japanese business hotel, pretty small. But nonetheless it was comfotable, the quality of the bedding and towels, etc. was good, and I slept well. There were the usual amenities like small fridge, tea kettle, desk space and such.
The breakfast was more extensive than you would get in a typical business hotel, many more choices than usual. I was highly amused that every morning they played Hawaian music -- that and the pool must be the reason the the "resort" part of the name!!! Otherwise there is nothing much of a resport feel about the place.
Due to the event I was attending, the price was much higher than the usual business hotel. But the New Otani next door was double the price, so in comparison it was a good deal.

Room Tip: The hotel is some 50 floors tall, so you can pay a bit more and get a great view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was expecting a larger room and a more comfortable bed, but was disappointed with both. The hotel lobby is nice, and there are lots of conveniences like a 24 hour convenience store on the second floor, and an onsen. The narrow floor halls were the first indication that the room will be small. The room was smaller than I expected. The tv was large but the pay-channels were 1000yen for movies, and all were in Japanese with few exceptions.
The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the Keihimmakuhari, so I walked.
I would stay here again but will lower my expectations.

Room Tip: get a non-smoking room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven_nagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were here for an expo at Makuhari Messe, so we stayed nearby rather than travelling out and back. I have stayed at a few different APA hotels with my husband, and this is probably the best one so far. The rooms are standard sized for a business hotel in Japan, maybe a little larger than what we are used to. The facilities are fine, bed comfortable, bathroom large enough and with a decent shower.

The little extra bits and pieces really made this. The hotel has a few different restaurants on different floors, including a couple of all-you-can-eat restaurants. We went to the Chinese restaurant and specified we also wanted all-you-can-drink, as they had this option for a bit extra. The options were good, and because the restaurant was located close to the top of the high-rise tower, the view out to the sea and over nearby Makuhari made it special.

It's about a 5 minute walk from KaihimMakuhari station, a 1 minute walk from Makuhari Messe, and it's close to the Mitsui Outlet Park if you fancy some shopping too.

Along with the restaurants located on different floors, the hotel also offered a large sento, or public bath. It's artificial, so it can't be called an onsen, but the relaxation was identical. Many different tubs to choose from for a soak, and they rotate the baths for men and women every day so if you stay for more than one night, you can try both public baths.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femcastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at three different hotels while in Japan and this one was the best one we stayed at. The room was small and somewhat outdated but we noticed that seemed to be the case with all the hotels we stayed at. The bathroom was decent sized and it was nice that they provided so many amenities. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Kaihin-Makuhari Station but it's a nice walk. In fact the whole area is pretty nice. We even walked to the beach.

Room Tip: We asked for one facing the ocean. It was a nice view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Room is small but fully equipped. The proximity to Makuhari Messe is a big bonus point. Highly recommended for business travellers who attends exhibitions at the Messe. You can return to the room to drop materials if your bags are too heavy from collecting brochures.

My room has a Tokyo Bay view which is spectacular.

Breakfast is specially catered for trade show visitors and the food is the same for 5-6 days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiba hotels
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel New Otani Makuhari
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel The Manhattan
Hotel The Manhattan
#1 of 45 in Chiba
315 reviews
Hotel Francs
#6 of 45 in Chiba
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiba Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Chiba
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Springs Makuhari
Hotel Springs Makuhari
#12 of 45 in Chiba
162 reviews
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Green Tower Makuhari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Address: 2-3 Hibino | Mihama-ku, Chiba 261-0021, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Chiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chiba
Price Range: £37 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari 3*
Number of rooms: 1501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically over Tokyo Bay, the metropolitan Makuhari Prince Hotel is drawing worldwide acclaim as Japan's newest international business center. The 50-story tower is conveniently connected by an arcade to Makuhari Messe, which hosts some of the world's most important trade shows. Offering a high level of hospitality, this urban hotel has some outstanding features including restaurants with spectacular views, and state-of-the art wedding and conference facilities. Best of all, the Makuhari Prince is strategically located near both business and leisure areas of Tokyo, making it the perfect starting point for business travelers who also want to add some vacation time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel And Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Apa Hotel Chiba
Apa Hotel Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing