We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring, boring, boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Otani Makuhari Hotel
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Boring, boring, boring”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Convenient for the Makuhari Messe conference centre and not too far from Narita airport, but apart from the conference where would anyone come here? The whole area is incredibly empty except for roads and walkways. The hotel is adequate. It has pretentions of class but in essence it's a pretty standard hotel of it's type. It's a pain not having WiFi and it is even worse having to pay for wired connection. The bar on the top floor has views of Tokyo and the bay but is not very well stocked, expensive and closes at 11pm. Clean, warm, very quiet (well nothing happens around it!) place to spend the night asleep, but otherwise overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    188
    82
    13
    7
See reviews for
100
41
36
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Pros:
- Great staff and service. Everyone I met were very helpful and professional
- Clean, well-appointed room.
- Price was very reasonable
- Breakfast buffet (included in price) was outstanding
- Bus service from Narita airport is only 900 yen each way and takes 40 minutes.
Cons:
- WiFi only available on first floor, wired access in room
- Soundproofing in ceiling was not great

Room Tip: On the opposite corner of the street is a group of restaurants in an indoor mall. There are several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The place Makuhari is approx 35 minutes with the JR Line into Tokyo central station. The area itself is dreadfully boring, with Many hotels and sushi restaurants but the small town lacks ambience and charm. The hotel itself is clean, old fashioned and somewhat comfortable. The beds are too hard for my liking. The bathrooms however are fully equipped with shiseido luxury products and even shiseido facewash! There are amenities of Any thinkable kind. Very Nice! However they charge a great deal for wifi, which is not good, given the fact that it's a business hotel. Access to the pool and fitness area is Also very expensive !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibizagirliedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for a convention at Makuhari Messe, and it was extremely convenient, just a short walk across a bridge which is connected directly to the hotel. Hotel and rooms are a bit dated, but well kept. Our room was quite clean and well arranged, with a nice view of the convention center and ocean. Rooms do not have wifi, which is pretty unbelievable considering a large number of guests are staying for conventions at Makuhari Messe. My only complaint is that there was only one option for breakfast and it was outrageously priced. For the food being served, it was not worth the price at all. Fortunately, there is a nearby convenience store and plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms have a nice view and don't smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cometdebris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We met friends at the New Otani and spent 2 hours in the top floor bar (one cocktail $17) and another 2 hours in the Italian themed restaurant. I can't remember when I've encountered less attentive service. Dessert took an hour to be served - and it had been ordered at the outset as part of a fixed price menu. Unreedemingly bad experience.

Big rip in the fabric of the bench seat...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsysSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here two nights for a convention.

Verdict: This is a large hotel that was obviously once excellent but is now in need of a revamp.

Service from check-in till check-out was excellent and the hotel has been maintained fairly well considering its age.

Its reputation as a business hotel has, however, suffered due to several factors. Point to note: switches on the walls state 'National' and this brand has ceased to exist since 2003.

1) Although rooms are large, the desk is fairly small, almost child-sized, and not quite conducive for work.

2) The entire room seriously needs more wall power sockets. After plugging your laptop into the one spare they have near the desk, there's none left for a phone charger or to plug a portable router into. Which brings me to the next point.

3) NO WiFi. This is seriously unacceptable for a business hotel these days. To use WiFi in the lobby, you'll have to purchase a WiFi card. Considering how WiFi is readily available for free in so many cheaper hotels in Tokyo, this really is a letdown.

4) Wired LAN in-room is chargeable.

5) Mattresses need to be replaced. They are quite honestly at least 10 years old, probably older. Everyone in our party said the mattresses weren't in the best shape and I could feel the bed springs beneath me.

Some pros:

1) Breakfast was good. Sufficient variety with attention paid to detail - the chef wrote 'Morning' on my omelette in tomato ketchup. Nice touch!

2) Restaurants in the hotel are probably the best in the area. I had excellent Teppanyaki and dessert.

3) This hotel's proximity to the Makuhari Messe cannot be ignored. If you're all about location, you can't go wrong with this place.

Unless the management is willing to invest in modernizing this hotel, I really can't recommend it despite its location. Certainly not good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plushpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I’ve stayed for 1 week in March and 2 weeks in April 2013 at the New Otani Makuhari. I was there on business close by, which I combined with DH and baby visiting me for the 2nd week only.

The accessibility from the airport is superb. About 35 minutes by taxi (yen13500-14000) or 40 minutes by bus that leaves you right outside the hotel door-recommended! (yen1100). You can very easily get a bus ticket when you exit from the arrivals at the airport and say that you are going to the New Otani Makuhari. They give you the ticket, you pay, and they show you the platform –easy!

The superior rooms have amazing views of Tokyo bay and if you are lucky and you get a clear day you can see Mt Fuji too. They are quite spacious with comfortable beds. The bathrooms have a shower room with nice bathtubs that fill in about 2 minutes. The rooms are clean; however do ask for a non-smoking room as they are always cleaner. The layout, furnishing etc. is equivalent to number of 5 star hotels I’ve stayed in other cities in the world.
The hotel is about 1 hour far from Tokyo centre (by metro) so it was hard to go after work. To be more specific the distance is: about 5 minutes’ walk to the station, buy a ticket and wait for the train (10minutes), travel (about 35 minutes) and come out of the Tokyo station (10 minutes). By taxi it takes about 35 minutes to reach Tokyo (and approximately 15000 yen).
It is a Disney friendly hotel and that means that there are 3 shuttle buses in the morning (for free) to Disneyland and Disney Sea and 3 shuttle buses to go back in the evening (takes about 20 minutes). You have to pre-book your seats. Don’t worry if you miss them you can always take the metro.

You can get good meals in many restaurants in the area, our favourite international was Outback about 10 minute walk from the hotel and our favourite Japanese was on the 3rd floor at the building next to the “British pub” – directions to this restaurant: pass the train station, after the “7eleven” shop turn left, you will see the “British pub” on your left. Two doors left from outside the pub go inside, there is an elevator, take it and go to the third floor and the restaurant is the first on your right hand side. This Japanese is really excellent and it is worth to follow the instructions to get there –unfortunately I don’t know the name (maybe funagata?). There is the option to take your shoes off too.

Back to the hotel review, the first time in March it was ok; I had no major complaint apart from the fact that for a hotel attracting mainly exhibitors and business people, I don’t understand how they can get away without wi-fi in the rooms. It was really annoying having to plug the laptop in order to have internet. Be prepared that if you need to contact them for room service or any other reason, you need to repeat it several times until -the otherwise very polite- personnel understand. Laundry service is terrible, they had no dry cleaning and at the normal laundry service they burned and damaged 3 of my clothing items.

The second time I arrived for business again, but this time I had my baby with me. Tired after the long flight we went to eat at the Italian restaurant downstairs (that happens to be the breakfast area also). They made sure that we are as uncomfortable as possible with the fact that we had a child with us and they said to us :”Baby here… shhhh!” that is before we even sat down- luckily my baby is quiet so it was not that bad. I also have to admit that the food is quite good, but bottom line it is not a child friendly restaurant. Apart from this event, the same restaurant (Mare di Otani) was much friendlier at breakfast.

The quality of the superior rooms, the view, transport accessibility and the politeness of the staff bring my overall rating to a comfortable 4.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very good, especially on high floors (above 19th ) Room sequence 13-14-15 on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTMdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiba
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel The Manhattan
Hotel The Manhattan
#1 of 45 in Chiba
310 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Hotel Francs
#6 of 45 in Chiba
340 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Otani Makuhari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Otani Makuhari Hotel

Property: New Otani Makuhari Hotel
Address: 2-120-3 Hibino, Mihama-ku, Chiba 261-0021, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Chiba > Kaihin Makuhari Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiba
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Otani Makuhari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Otani Makuhari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Makuhari Chiba
Hotel New Otani Makuhari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing