We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture perfect Nigiri!”
Review of Edokkozushi

Edokkozushi
Ranked #12 of 890 Restaurants in Narita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$90
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
WINNIPEG
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Picture perfect Nigiri!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Everyone should try this place. Small and cozy, very little English but who needs English if they have pictures. And my standard for eating sushi just went waaay up, anything else in Canada just didn't measure up to this.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PETE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hit the Spot for a Layover”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

When I had a 6 hour layover in Narita Airport, I was suggested by a friend to visit Keisei Narita Station off the Keisei Main Line. It's the first stop about 7 minutes away costing 250 yen. The trains come every 20 minutes (on the 10 and 30 going into Tokyo).

Once we arrived, we went to Edokkozushi for an absolutely amazing lunch that warranted writing this review. We didn't order the set menu, but instead just focused on the tuna, salmon, yellowtail, and toro (fatty tuna). Prices were decent considering the portions for each piece were almost double.

The fish itself is fresh and certainly done the right way. In fact, after ordering 18 pieces for the 3 of us, we did it again.. all of it. We claimed this to be our second lunch and it certainly surprised the staff enough to give us some clam miso soup in between. If this place was still open when we headed back from a light stroll at the temple at the end of the street, we would have certainly had a 3rd lunch of exactly the same thing. We may as well fill ourselves with good sushi before a 13 hour flight back.

For the 32 pieces (6 of which were toro), we only paid around $20 per person. This would have certainly cost over $300 at Gate 33! There was much more time than we expected due to the short train ride and efficiency/dependability of Japanese transportation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clemens W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, great sushi, good price too. Not sure I'd say it's quite as good as tskiji but can't be far behind....

Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
355 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Really good sushi in little Narita-shi”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Funny how life is. Back in Mar 12, 2011 after the big earthquake, 6 hrs jumping trains from Tokyo to narita, we stumbled into this restaurant, fatigued and by chance had a wonderful meal before escaping out of Japan. We remembered it as one of our best sushi experiences. No tripadvisor, no sleep, just hungry and walked into first sushi place we saw.

Fast forward Feb 5, 2014, overnight transit in narita. Used trip advisor, decided to try Edokkozushi, highest ranked sushi place (didn't feel like walking to the eel place), walked up and realized we had been here before... This was the place! Love it!

Fish is absolutely Devine. There is a westerner picture menu with 4 sushi combo's and a la carte sushi. Three is a bigger menu which we didn't understand, unfortunately.

Toro, uni are both best I have eaten. Eel (anago) was good but not like the Unagi in traditional narita style with long fish and little rice. Even Natto maki was really good, due to fresh natto.

I am not a fan of material sashimi, but here, I loved it.
No need to mention the usual stuff like salmon, snapper, etc. all superb.

This is a sushi place, if it's your first time in japan or having sushi, consider yourself blessed, but if sushi is not your cup of tea, don't write a bad review because you don't like raw fish. Because this place is awesome.

Very little English spoken, no tipping needed. Accepts all cards including Amex, visa/mc.

There is sushi bar, tables and traditional private rooms.

Let see, kappa maki2, natto maki, sushi- toro2, uni2, flying fish roe, grilled salmon2, anago2, scallop2, sashimi plate with 4 items, salmon2. Tea, water and a big bottle Asahi. Jpy 11,182. Not cheap, but soo worth it. 2 and a half of us.

Thank you TA for guiding me back to this place...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Melt in the mouth.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I ve been to Japan many times and always eat sushi in the difference places.But this is the best sushi I have ever eat.You can choose the set menu or ordering by the bite.I ordered by the bite.Pick up only the one I like.I got a few of rice with the big piece of fishes.If you have a chance to come to Narita Temple ,Pls visit this restaurant .You will get the good quality of food with reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edokkozushi also viewed

Narita, Chiba Prefecture
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
 
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
 

Been to Edokkozushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing