We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to NRT Airport and Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Narita
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Close to NRT Airport and Village”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We had a one night layover in Narita.
The shuttle picked us up (looked like it runs every hour) and about a 15 minute drive to the hotel.
The village is nice and the trains to downtown are nearby. The train there and back was about 25 USD each and an hour to the city.
The room was small but clean. The internet was about 6 USD a day (with a cable).
Overall good shuttle and clean rooms at a decent rate.
Would return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    332
    294
    69
    28
See reviews for
136
211
190
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Great location with 2 train stations nearby and bus to the big shopping mall was around the corner @ ¥200/person. The mall is awesome with a ¥100 store, like our dollar stores in U.S. There are convenience stores, bakery, various restaurants, McDonalds with free wi-fi and a nearby beautiful temple and park. Hotel staff spoke good English, room was clean with comfortable beds and pillows, small fridge, pot to boil water for tea. Buffet breakfast at ¥1200/person was adequate with both American and Japanese servings. If going to Tokyo take shuttle back to airport and take train directly from there or limousine bus. Much easier that way. Get shuttle schedule so you can plan your trip to and fro.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masayaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I have just seen a review of the Narita Mercure hotel on this site (Feb 16, 2011) which was rather unfavourable. While I understand that opinions are personal I feel I must correct the wrong impression that this review gives.

Having recently retired as a senior pilot with British Airways and having flown to Japan both as a pilot and as a passenger over 350 times, I have much experience of hotels around the world as do our cabin crews who stay in the Narita Mercure. BA pilots stay in a different hotel simply because the contract stipulates different room sizes and furniture requirements from the Mercure. I always stay in the Mercure as it is so convenient and friendly.

I agree that the modular bathrooms (very common in Japan) are not huge but they are perfectly adequate. You do not have to sit ‘at a funny angle’ to use the loo and I have seen other hotels where the soap/shampoo dispenser was in a far worse position. Soap bars are provided as is shampoo, combs and razors. The bathrooms have extractor fans.

The comment about the window not opening is misleading. Not only do the windows open but the staff are perfectly willing to come to your room and open them for you and explain how they open. Beds are comfortable and the hotel is quiet. TV remote controls work fine. Tea is provided in the rooms but many hotels in Japan do not provide coffee – this is a tea-drinking country! However, there is a supermarket only 20 metres away, as are lots of shops and cafes.

The air conditioning system CAN be adjusted from the bedside. In winter, I turn it on and open the window slightly and the air temperature is fine. In summer, it cools beautifully.

The internet facilities in the lobby are not particularly fast and are somewhat unreliable, but the rooms have excellent internet connections. There is also an internet café only 50 metres away which is very cheap to use.

There are excellent restaurants in the hotel, Chinese, Japanese, and Western/Japanese for normal meals and a nice bar. There is a large swimming pool.

The Front Desk staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.
The comment about tired crews not caring about where they sleep is pure ignorance. We do care and so do our airlines as proper rest is critical for all crews. The BA cabin crew like this hotel. The hotel has been refurbished and there are different types of rooms so it is worth asking when you check in.

The Mercure Narita is incredibly convenient and I never stay anywhere else in Narita. Narita town is wonderful. Great sightseeing, great food shops and friendly people. Narita San temple is wonderful and there is plenty of local sightseeing. A well-travelled doctor friend and his wife stayed here on my recommendation and loved the Mercure and the town. ‘Fascinating town, charming hotel and staff, and a great introduction to Japan’ was their view. The airport hotels are fine but inconvenient for visiting town. Non-Japanese visitors who review Japanese hotels often do not understand Japan. I do and I would not stay anywhere else in Narita but the Mercure. I love it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The Mercure Hotel in Narita has a good location. It is right next to the train station. I would recommend it for one day layovers. The hotel is clean and affordable. (By japanese standards it is very cheap.) The service is good and Naritia is a cute little town and quite a change from the bustle of Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphybrianmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I read the previous reviews of this hotel prior to booking. I recall staying at this hotel many years ago, when it was called something else. It was one of the first tourist-friendly business hotel in Narita city. Some of the comments don't reflect reality in Japan - a hotel of this price range (I paid ¥4850) is always going to be located in some kind of "noisy" area, especially likely near a train station. If you want a quiet hotel, you need to book at a much higher price level in Japanese cities.

That being said, I'm surprised that Mercure hasn't imposed some kind of standards on this hotel. I was especially surprised to see the soap and shampoo "dispensers" in the bathroom, a typical Japanese low-end hotel amenity. The hotel is tired looking and needs a freshen-up at least. And I agree that the shuttle bus should run more often. I attempted to get the hotel to send me the shuttle schedule prior to arrival in Tokyo, an attempt the hotel ignored. I should have taken the train instead and saved an hour of time.

If you arrive late in the day, skip the hotel room service and walk a block (Just past the train station). Several terrific restaurants - I got some terrific chinese takeaway for about $7.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

As an Accor shareholder, I’d love to say that this Mercure hotel is the best travel value in Narita. I’d love to say that the room and the services are the cream of the crop and that you’d be crazy to stay anywhere else. In truth, I hope that Accor audits this hotel and requires the management to fix the deficiencies to avoid damage to the Mercure and Accor name.

Where to begin? My bathroom was cramped and appeared to be decades old with the toilet too close to the wall (meaning you had to sit at a funny angle), and the shower poorly designed (the soap/shampoo dispenser is in the way so that you bump into it constantly while trying to wet or rinse yourself). The window does not open or crack in the room, so there is nowhere for the shower steam to escape, and turning on the air conditioner (since the room is too hot) only leads to more heat being generated, since apparently there is either heat or A/C, but no A/C in the wintertime, even though the room temperature is slightly below broil. The pay internet (500 yen/day) spent far more time down than up, and the TV remote control worked sporadically at best. Also, one of the walls was scuffed with black marks and scratches all over it.

For the good, they provide in-room refrigerators. The bed was comfortable enough to get some decent sleep, although it would have been nicer if the room had been a little cooler. There are also laundry machines available if you want to wash your clothes. There is a tea maker (but no instant coffee), and the hotel is convenient to both train stations in Narita, and they do provide an airport shuttle. I didn’t eat at their restaurants (there are several), or have a drink at their bar. The desk crew was friendly, but it seemed to be just window dressing given the poor quality of the room. This hotel did seem to be filled with airline flight crews, so maybe they are used to jet-lagged crewmembers caring nothing about room deficiencies and merely racking out before their return flights. The Narita-san temple nearby is worth a visit, as it is quite beautiful.

In short, stay somewhere else until they completely redo the place. There is a Comfort Hotel nearby that is a better, more reliable product.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK-in-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed at the Mercure twice in January after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. First visit was dreadful, rooms not ready despite arriving at 6.oopm. Allocated to smoking rooms separated from our children despite having pre-booked and paid 3 months in advance. Eventually moved by the reception supervisor. Rooms tired, dirty carpet, dirty headboards on beds. Breakfast limited and service terrible. Dreaded returning at end of holiday but had pre booked and paid. Second visit completely different. Allocated rooms next to children, no interconnecting rooms on the non smoking floor. Rooms cleaner, carpet still old, breakfast not extensive but good variety and quality. Staff friendly and helpful. No concierge service to deliver bags to your room but staff happy to store snowboards and large items downstairs for us which was much appreciated. Easy access to the airport by train or shuttle bus both of which we used.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narita hotels
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel Narita
0.1 mi away
APA Hotel Keisei Narita Ekimae
3.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#3 of 30 in Narita
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Narita
905 reviews
2.1 mi away
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.2 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Narita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Narita

Property: Mercure Hotel Narita
Address: 818-1 Hanazaki-Cho, Narita 286-0033, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Narita 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Narita is located at Tokyos Narita Airport, a few minutes walk from Kesei rail station. The hotel features 248 rooms, a restaurant, bar, gymnasium, squash court and complimentary airport shuttle service. Narita San-Shinshoji Temple, one of the largest temples in Japan, is also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Narita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Narita
Mercure Narita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing