We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired hotel, but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Narita
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“tired hotel, but convenient”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we stayed at the mercure narita during our last night in japan because our flight left at 9am the next morning and there was no way i was dealing with that commute from shibuya at 4am.

the hotel is in need of a good renovation and felt old and stuffy. it is definitely not one of the "newer" look mercure hotels and for those familiar with the accor brand, it really was a glorified ibis, just with more restaurants on property.

after taking the airport bus to narita, we wound up getting extremely lucky and left the airport to find the mercure bus waiting. the driver was pretty rude and made us run across the road with our luggage since he was going to be late, but at that point i was so happy not to have to wait at least 30 minutes, i didn't care. the ride to the hotel took about 15 minutes since there was no traffic.

upon arrival, we were able to check in early and didn't have to pay extra, which was a pleasant surprise. the room itself was clean yet dingy, but for one night we could deal. immediately went and tried lunch at the restaurant on the corner (same side of the street as the hotel, catacorner from the family mart); highly recommend their lunch specials.

check-out was quick and easy, staff were pleasant.

the positives:
-location is excellent, anything you could need in narita (except for the airport) is within walking distance of the hotel. the train station is a very short walk (no more than 2 minutes) and narita temple is a very enjoyable walk (15 minutes?) along a pedestrian friendly street. i spent hours walking around and have to say narita is such a cute little town, i was surprised how much i enjoyed my time there.
-the price was affordable, at least compared to other hotels in the greater tokyo area
-lots of restaurants on property, although never tried any of them. lots of restaurants (from convenience store fried chicken or sushi to mcdonalds to ramen) within very short walking distance.
-each floor had vending machines by the elevator

the negatives:
-shuttle bus schedule. how is an airport hotel able to get away with starting their first airport schedule run at 7am? it was frustrating that i booked this hotel specifically because of its free shuttle, yet we couldn't even use it on the return trip. fortunately, the kensei starts running earlier and it is a very easy walk to the station (even with luggage) so we didn't have to take an expensive cab.
-the bathrooms are really old and the shower leaked water like it was its job. don't expect classy mini toiletries here either.
-restaurants on property are expensive and breakfast is not included in the rate. eat elsewhere unless you're tired and on an expense account.

for what it is, the mercure is not a bad stopover hotel. go in with lowered expectations and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyh12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    332
    294
    69
    28
See reviews for
136
211
190
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Got a fair bit to say about this hotel. First the complimentary transfer to the hotel runs at irregular intervals. The first one available was 5:20pm. I was waiting at the transfer stop since 4:40pm so I had a forty minute wait. The one after that would have been 7pm. I make this an issue because I saw another hotel's transfer bus pass the same stop three times in the time I was waiting.

The hotel has a really weird layout. To get to my room, I had to catch the lift up to the third floor, then walk across the annex, then catch a lift up to the fifth floor, then walk down another couple of corridors just to get to my room. I don't recall experiencing this at any hotel before.

The room was meant to be non-smoking. But you guessed it, it smelt of smoke. For one night I just decided to put up with it. The bed seemed comfortable and apart from the smell the room itself looked as if it had been cleaned.

Again, the transfer in the mornings ran at irregular intervals as well. I had a choice between 7am and 8:30am. Either I chose to get to the airport early and sit around for a couple of hours or cut it fine and make a mad dash to the departure gate.

The staff I did encounter seemed polite and spoke fairly fluent English. This is probably the hotel's only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Narita hotels

Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stopped in Tokyo for a night and day so stayed at the Mecure in Narita because it was near the airport yet had a village and temples to visit. We weren't disappointed because we could walk everywhere from the Mercure.

They provide a free shuttle from the airport but we had just missed it so took the train instead. That might be a problem with lots of luggage but we managed alright. When you exit the Narita station it's a short walk to the hotel.

We booked adjoining rooms in the annex part of the building and both rooms had 2 double beds each. The bathrooms were absolutely fine.

We ate out in the village and went exploring and enjoyed the little shops and the beautiful temples. Behind the temples there is a lovely park and behind that a shopping center.

The reception staff were efficient and friendly and the breakfast was fine.

What a surprise it was to find such an nice area so close to a big airport. We would definitely return to the Mercure at Narita to enjoy the lovely village

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are available if you request them. We were happy with our room in the Annex part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotdog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Four good reasons to stay at this hotel between flights at Narita: 1) Using the Keisei train from Terminal 2 and walking 80 meters from the train station at Narita town, it was literally less than an hour between the arrival of my flight at Narita to checking-in at my room at the Mercure; 2) The room was wonderfully quiet and, with drapes drawn, very dark, enabling rapid drop off to sleep on a large and comfortable bed; 3) The room was well-equipped with free LAN-line Internet, a deep bathtub, robes and slippers, bathroom sundries including a razor and toothpaste, and o-cha (green tea). 4) The rate is less than two-thirds of the more luxurious hotels located between Narita town and the airport, and fluent English and French are spoken at the front desk.

As other reviewers mention, it is a very easy walk from the hotel to restaurants and bars in the neighborhood (including a 24-hour McDonald's for the hungry jet-lagged), and perhaps 40 meters from the express bus to Aeon shopping mall. The property falls short in providing only Japanese-language channels on the television system and in the unspectacular breakfast. Westerners who prefer a softer mattress may not share my delight with the bed. The free shuttle provided by the hotel to the airport is infrequent and uncomfortable, and takes 30 minutes; the Keisei train to the airport costs about two dollars and takes 10 minutes; the same station can also be used for the 40-minute trip to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Early booking is essential to secure preferred rooms (such as non-smoking) because it is a very popu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Formerly_on_Guam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Location wise, this is about the best hotel of its category sitting right in the centre of Narita village.

The hotel provide free shuttle bus service from both terminals at Narita airport. From terminal 2, the departure point is at berth 32.

The ride from the airport to hotel will take about 20 minutes but if you are on a time schedule and during peak hours, a better option is to catch the train (only 1 stop and 10 minutes away) as we were caught in a massive traffic jam on a Friday evening that took us 40 minutes to reach the hotel.

The hotel is served by the JR Narita station and the Keisei Narita station which are both a short walking distance away making it easily accessible to Tokyo and other areas.

We were given a room in the annexe building which I believe is a newer wing. The room is adequate and spacious by Japan standards though the bathroom is kind of limited in size. Do request for a room facing the main road if you are in the annexe building as we had the unfortunate experience facing the railway tracks and our sleep disturbed by the trains running at 5am.

There are loads of bars, restaurants and eating places around the hotel and Seabura Ramen Miyamoto running 24 hours just around the corner serve a sumptuous and delicious ramen if Japanese noodle is your thing.

On weekends where the road leading to the Shinsoji temple is closed to traffic, a leisurely walk towards the temple is highly recommended with a mish mash of souvenir shops, groceries, shops selling Japanese products and fresh food, restaurants and others lining both sides of the street. A sushi restaurant( can't remember its name ) a few shops away from the 7-eleven store is recommended with its very fresh sushi ( especially their salmon and uni ) that come in generous servings.

Considering its central location and adequate pricing ( we paid 8000 yen a night ) , mercure is an ideal option setting up base in Narita.

Room Tip: If in the annexe building, ask for a room away from the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of a little shopping & restaurant/bar district in Narita, and 2 min walk to train station. We didn't want to lug all our bags into Tokyo just for 2 nights, so caught the free shuttle to the hotel, and spent our 1 day sightseeing in Tokyo via the train. Both nights we were able to experience genuine little Japanese bars & restaurants near the hotel. The hotel room had a very comfortable bed, and wasn't tiny - big enough to put all our bags (including skis). I accidentally left my laptop on the shuttle bus on the way to the airport to fly to Sapporo. The hotel delivered the laptop to the JAL desk, and it was flown up to Sapporo on the next flight. That's service for you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozyskifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binbrook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is pretty much a standard Japanese business hotel. Generally, I have enjoyed staying here until my last visit where I was told on arrival that they only had smoking rooms available. Yuck. Anyway, other than that one time, it has been... acceptable. Close to the train station and temple.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narita hotels
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel Narita
0.1 mi away
APA Hotel Keisei Narita Ekimae
3.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#3 of 30 in Narita
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Narita
905 reviews
2.1 mi away
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.2 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Narita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Narita

Property: Mercure Hotel Narita
Address: 818-1 Hanazaki-Cho, Narita 286-0033, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Narita 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Narita is located at Tokyos Narita Airport, a few minutes walk from Kesei rail station. The hotel features 248 rooms, a restaurant, bar, gymnasium, squash court and complimentary airport shuttle service. Narita San-Shinshoji Temple, one of the largest temples in Japan, is also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Narita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Narita
Mercure Narita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing