We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for an Airport Option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice for an Airport Option”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We got in late and opted to spend a night at this hotel as it had good rates and airport transport. We had flown standby without reservations, it was raining and the night we spent there was very nice. The downstairs restaurant had a nice menu, the next morning we took the free shuttle to the town of Narita and while it was raining hard, it looked very appealing. Hotel rooms were fine, the toilet amused us, Japan seems to have high tech or pits... Grounds there are lovely, even in the rain. Staff was helpful, breakfast was great.

To get into the city we took the shuttle back to the airport and opted for the bus (as it seemed less intimidating), a long trip. On the way back we took the train - highly recommend that option. Even if you are new to Japan there is always someone to help. We found that through our entire stay.

Then we spent a couple weeks in Tokyo and Osaka. Based on our rain drenched view of Narita and good experience at this hotel on the trip out, we choose to spend our last night there as well. That is where the hotel ratings dropped, would have given it a 4 before. Again, got good price, but when we arrived (by train) we found the hotel was taken over by tour groups. All the restaurants were closed, we finally got into the Japanese place - food was not great, prices outrageous. But again it was raining and we were pushing it to take the last shuttle into town. Next day we had to check out before our flight. Breakfast this time was marginal, nowhere to plug in my laptop in the lobby. Used their pay for use terminals to check flights and kept getting kicked off.

On the plus side, we took the first shuttle into Narita that morning and saw the most wonderful temple and grounds of the whole trip. If we had it to do over, would stay in the town I think, although the hotels there were not so good a deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    587
    330
    41
    21
See reviews for
308
271
251
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Used this hotel for an overnight stop over. There was a free bus to and from the airport and a huge mall a short cab ride away.The room was clean, quiet (but the bed, like most Japanese beds, was rather firm!) The room had free fast Wi F, a fridge and water boiler.
I consider it exceptional vaue and recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were given a smoking room and had to wait sometime to get this changed.

Very small room (common in Japan)

No clock radio (essentail in ANY hotel especially at an airport hotel)

Mediocre restaurant.

Good location to air terminals.

Just far too expensive for what you get,

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I've stayed at this hotel in Narita off and on for 7 years. Honestly, it hasn't been updated at all during this time. The furnishings and rooms really show their age.

The bathroom has been placed in the room, all of it made separately in a module. The entrance to the modular bathroom has a small door, where you step up into the bathroom. The opening is about 5'9". My husband is 6'2. He is used to ducking when he enters some doors, on airplanes, etc. This bathroom door was too short for someone so tall, as he kept hitting his head, even though he ducked, while entering the bathroom. When we left the Excel, he had two scabs on the top of his head from hitting the top of the door hard enough so it bled. I'm short, no problems, however, we won't be staying at the Narita Excel again for this reason.

Also, there was no bar or lounge open during our stay, there is nothing near by, and the place is getting old and tired! I do not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Corporate assigned property, didn't really have a choice but to stay here.
1. Shuttle to and from airport is ... sparse.. an hour per shuttle?
2. Shuttle to and from downtown (AEON mall/ Narita Station) is definitely convenient.. a taxi ride will cost you 1600 yen one way.
3. Lobby is nice, but it gets worse as you go up to your room. Hotel is definitely showing its age.
4. Room is standard japanese size.
5. Bathroom is standard japanese size.
6. No iron or ironing board. Not even if you ask for it. Have to go down to "flight crew" room to iron your shirt.
7. Dinner buffet was pricy, 4800 yen. Breakfast Buffet was okay 2800 yen or something.
8. I went across the street to the Hilton Narita. I thought I was in heaven compared to Excel.
9. Free Wifi is good and fast

Room Tip: Go eat downtown! better food better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A lovely hotel out of the bustling activities in Tokyo. Being from a cosmopolitan city of Singapore with fast working pace, this hotel offerred us a nice quiet relaxing ambience to unwind. Services and attitudes of the staffs were second to none (generally staffs in all Japan hotels have good positive working attitude). The hotel lifts offer view of scenery and narita airport. There is a beautiful garden with koi pond for a morning stroll. The hotel provides compliemenatry shuttle bus services to/from airport, to/from narita town (aeon mall) at regular interval. There is free wifi in room and public areas. Room is spacious with 2 comfy queen bedded. Breakfast has good spread of western & japanese.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vittoresg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narita hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#3 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#4 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
0.2 mi away
Narita Gateway Hotel
Narita Gateway Hotel
#7 of 30 in Narita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 31 Oyama, Narita 286-0131, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 706
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing