We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport, cheap, but old and smelled of cigarettes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Narita Airport Rest House
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Close to airport, cheap, but old and smelled of cigarettes”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place is good if you have an early flight, only have a few hours to sleep, are on a very strict budget, or have several travelers/large family that you are trying to house on a budget. BUT, I would only stay here overnight in a tight pinch. This would not be a place I would want to vacation from.
This place was perfect for our overnight stay as it was cheap and there were 3 of us and we were on a budget. In Japan they charge by the person, so this worked out to be much less expensive than the other hotels in the area. The next year that I had an overnight stay, it was just me, so I opted for a nicer hotel as it is much more affordable with just one person. Also, we had a very early flight out the next morning and I didn't want to spend a lot of time getting to/from the hotel. IT took us about 10 min or less by free shuttle provided by the hotel to get there. The hotel looks like it is straight out the 70's and everything is a bit tired and worn. Our room was very clean, but old as well and smelled horribly of cigarette smoke. I don't mean there was a lingering old odor as I really don't mind the smell that much; what I mean is that it smelled like someone was sitting in there smoking under the bed when we walked into the room. The room is actually rather large for a hotel room in Tokyo and they did have rooms with 3 single beds, so we didn't have to share a small double. The Japanese toilet was amazing as always and the shampoo/amenities are always top notch in Japan of course. The front desk staff can't speak much English, but they are able to check you in and such. If you have any special needs, I would recommend bringing a cheat sheet that you make of the phrases or requests you want, travel with your phone translator, or bring a small translation book (you can buy little ones online).
We had breakfast buffet included in our hotel package; I thought that this was definitely worth the money. Beware that it is Japanese food; the porridge is salty instead of sweet and many of the foods are not foods you are probably used to if you live in the US. But, it was good and they had a huge array of hot and cold dishes. They have things like toast and eggs as well, so really you won't go hungry even if you don't love Japanese food. I love trying new things, so this was a good experience for me and my sons. They really don't like to waste things in Japan, so take only a bite of something first to try it, then go back for more if you like it. You will notice that all of the other guests leave their bowls and plates empty. It isn't like in the US where we just leave a bunch of things we tried but didn't like on the plate.
You can walk to the airport if you need to, but if they have a bus going I would suggest it. They start at around 6:30 am and go until around midnight if I can recall correctly. I think they post the info on the hotel website. You can use the google translator if you need to as well.

All in all, I would suggest this on a budget or for short layovers. I would stay here again under the right circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista_B8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    227
    176
    44
    13
See reviews for
128
136
105
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Airport Rest House is within walking distance of the terminals (particularly T1) - though if you have luggage, it'd be better to use the shuttle bus, which runs every 20 mins.

The place is spacious - wide corridors and big rooms. The exterior sound insulation is near perfect - you don't hear the planes. You might hear people in nearby rooms, though (I'm not sure why - the walls seem pretty solid), and the room had a very odd hollow steel door, rather than a wooden one, which transmitted quite a bit of sound from the corridor.

The place looks really old and tired. It would benefit from a face-lift. But everything is in a good state of repair, and properly clean. The price is pretty reasonable - JPY 7800 for the night and JPY 1300 for breakfast.

The place was advertised as 2* (in terms of its facilities, not the guest review rating!), which made me wonder what I was getting, given the low price. But it's a proper hotel, at least as good as many 3*s I've stayed in. Free wifi was a bonus. I didn't eat dinner at the hotel - I walked back to the Terminal for that - where I also bought snacks cheaper than the hotel's vending machines would sell them.

Overall, it was fine. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doc_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Their website had said they were full, but I landed in Narita at 7 AM and called them, and was there by 7:30 (you need to speak Japanese though).

Decent/comfy just what I needed for 5 hrs sleep.

My only complaint is there was a hair in the shower. So NOT Japanese- they don't cut corners.

That said, because it's not typical of Japan I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleK723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Narita rest house for one night due to a early morning flight the next day. 5 minute walk to terminal 1 and 10 minutes to terminal 2.
Not modern but clean and in good condition. Bus pick up at both terminals. The bus does not start till 620 in the morning. So early starts you will need to walk. Good size rooms. I had a concern about the location for possible noise but it was all ok even with a Tarmac facing room.
I would recommend this as a place to stay for an over night stay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here to catch an early flight from Narita. Large rooms but very tired and dated and not particularly clean. You are only stay here for the purpose of flying and probably one night so its fine for that and the price is very cheap(£35.00), so I would stay again if I had to . Didn't use the restaurant. The free airport shuttle to both terminals was much appreciated !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Picked this hotel at random from a bunch of similar hotels. I made a great choice. Its a 5 minute walk from Terminal 2 and I had no noise from aircraft. I chose the single room as I was on my own and it was bigger than some double places I've stayed in. Good comfortable bed, a bath, heater (it was winter), tea/coffee. All you need for one or two nights. It has a good restaurant where I ate twice. Staff were helpful and polite. If you stay here, make sure you go have a look at the Naritasan Temple. Its a 15 minute train ride from Terminal 2 and then a 10 minute walk. Its a beautiful old temple complex. I spent 4 hours wandering around the beautiful Japanese gardens and exploring. The town of Narita is quite pleasant too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandpiper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at Narita Airport Rest House on my way to Guam and two nights on the way back.
The hotel was located within walking distance from terminal one but they also have a free shuttle from terminals one and two.
The room was clean and nice with tv, fridge, kettle, hairdryer and amenities in the bathroom.
There is a good japanese restaurat on ground floor open until 10pm.
After that you can get drinks and something to eat from the wending machines. Would recommend this hotel to anyone in need of a cheap and nice hotel at Narita Airport.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tpentti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narita hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#3 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Narita Tobu Hotel Air Port
1.0 mi away
Marroad International Hotel Narita Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
2.0 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#4 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.6 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narita Airport Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narita Airport Rest House

Property: Narita Airport Rest House
Address: 141 Furugome | Narita International Airport, Narita 282-0004, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Narita Airport Rest House 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Narita Airport Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narita Airport Rest House Hotel Narita
Narita Airport Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing