We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels / Ryokan in Urayasu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay during our honeymoon while visiting the Tokyo Disney Resort. This hotel is just one of 5 or 6 hotels that surround the Tokyo Disney Resort, and all of them are upper class hotels that are rather pricey. This Sheraton and the Hilton are the two "western" hotels, and they have mostly English speaking staff and cater to westerners a bit more than the other hotels in the area. All of the hotels are connected to the parks via the resort monorail. The monorail also connects with the JR Keiyo Line Maihama Station, which is park of Tokyo's (massive) city transit system. There are "limobuses" that come to and from Narita and Haneda airport, though they only run during the daytime hours and are pretty pricey.

For Americans that are visiting Tokyo, this is an excellent hotel. The rooms are "full sized" unlike most of Japan. Most of the staff spoke English well enough and were exceptionally courteous throughout our stay. The overall property looks great and is well kept, as is the lobby. Our room overlooked Tokyo Bay which was spectacular! The other side of the hotel faces the Disney parks, though you get more of a "parking lot view" than a "park view".

The rooms themselves were very large for Japan, and they were well appointed. In fact they almost looked "new" despite this hotel being more than a decade old. The beds were a tad hard, but I've grown accustomed to that, as it seems like the norm at all hotels regardless of location or price. The bathroom was also "full sized" which was nice. Overall, I can't think of a single negative about the hotel itself, though it can get pricey, especially during the busy season. Excellent stay; I'm sure we'll be staying here again on future visits to Japan!

WARNING for those not visiting the Disney parks: there's absolutely no reason to bother staying in this area if you're not visiting Tokyo Disneyland. This property is outside the "Tokyo City" area and it takes awhile to get anywhere in Tokyo from Urayasu. Between connecting to the monorail and taking the JR line back to Tokyo, and then walking quite a distance from the Keiyo line to connect to any other lines, you'll spend at least an extra hour compared to just staying somewhere in Tokyo's city center.

Room Tip: Upper floor bay view rooms are amazing,
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshandIssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,609)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was one of the only hotels near Tokyo Disney that has rooms with 2 double beds so you can sleep 2 Adults and 2 Children with out having to get interconnecting rooms.
The hotel was a great location from the Disney parks and had great facilities within the hotel for children, including a great children's buffet for breakfast. There was a great children's indoor playroom and a fantastic pool area if you stay during the summer.
The restaurant was a little expensive so I would recommend that you get a package which includes the breakfast at least. The Dinner buffet was about JPY5,000 per person.
We would stay here again if going to Tokyo Disney and have recommended it to others.

Room Tip: High Ocean view room was great
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OZ_Family_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We are a family of four and this was our first trip to Japan as a family. First of all, it's not easy to find a hotel room in Tokyo that can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children in a room, but Sheraton Grande has rooms that can offer up to 6 people in one room.

The check-in was pretty smooth. We arrived on an early flight so were hoping to get checked-in rather than waiting for a room. The lady at the lobby was kind enough to let us stay in a 4-bed room instead of a 2 or 3-bed room since not one room was ready. Our room was big by Japanese standard. The young lady at the lobby didn't speak very good English, but like most Japanese, was very helpful and courteous, and I was able to understand her.

The hotel itself, though old, still looks pretty nice. But most importantly, the room was very clean. It took us a bit of time to get used to the shower; it works differently than the one in the US. The toilet has a bidet function, a normality for Japan.

The cleaning staff was very good though I never met them. Our room was impeccably clean every time we came back from a whole day trip. The free wifi, though was limited to the lobby area, was adequate. The hotel also has six PC's that anyone can use.

Though the hotel has some other amenities like an indoor swimming pool and arcade area, we never tried them, so I cannot comment on any of them.

In short, if you travel with a family to Tokyo, Sheraton is a pretty safe bet!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We had a twin room that was very spacious. The bathroom was fairly large and the shower had great water pressure. It is a bit older and you can see some scuffing and some signs of aging but it was still well kept. I noticed something that I've never seen before...the cleaning staff took their shoes off before entering the room to clean it. No wonder our floor was very clean.

The hotel itself is very big and spacious. My wife loved the gym although it was very small. Because of power saving initiatives the facilities opened later and closed earlier. The self-service laundry was more expensive than our stay at the hotel @ Ginza (I have another review for that hotel) so we didn't do it until our next destination. The restaurant was a bit more expensive but the food did look great. It was more economical for us to pick a snack up inside Tokyo disneyland.

The staff were great! They basically got to know our family and loved our 2 yr old throughout our stay. The bus drivers from the hotel to the bus station were great b/c in the pouring rain it was a hassle to walk from the station to the hotel even though it was a 3-4 min walk.

Next time we're going to Tokyo Disney we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr8zymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

In a word, OUTSTANDING. I helped coorganize a conference that was held at the Sheraton Grande. The consensus was that this hotel, and the service they provided was at the top of all conference experiences. This says a lot, as our attendees were world traveled.

The rooms were comfortable and well taken care of. The staff was beyond expectations, attentive to all aspects of our stay. The support from the hotel was spectacular.

For my family, the hotel was a stone's throw from Disneyland and from the train into Tokyo. The Mickey Mouse shuttle bus is absolutely charming.

At the hotel, the breakfast buffet is amazing, a gastronomical delight featuring endless options from western to japanese, to other asian delicacies. The mall near the station provides many dining options. Take advantage of the swimming pool and whirlpool baths.

Most highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorikiri_from_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

we stayed for two nights December 29/30. I must say, the hotel was 100% full, and we were the only Aussie tourists that I saw. And the service was not what I have come to expect as a starwood member. However, the facilities for kids were second to none. The play area in the hotel kept my two year old occupied without needing to leave the hotel. Room was clean and comfy and had a great view of the bay from the 10th floor, however, food is very expensive and i was very disappointed to find out AFTER dining that my priveledge ard was unable to be used during our stay. Despite this, I would return, just not at peak japanese travel time. Great for visiting Disneyland, however we did not, but used this hotel as a break between travelling for our toddler. Large rooms by Japanese standards. Free internet a bonus and great coffee, also a bonus in Japan. Also awesome kids pool.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmyholidays_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Got a great deal for a 4 bed room where I stayed with my wife and two daugthers (16 and 10) and I highly recommend this hotel as a base for visting the Tokyo Disnyey theme parks. The room was very large, had a balcony with sea view, a large bathroom, free internet and a nice swimming pool. The hotel have several quite expensive restaurants with good food. Since the Tokyo Disney resort is outside central Tokyo it is not recommended to stay here for other purposes than visiting the resort even if there are public transport to Tokyo station by JR line with a change to the metro. Perfect as a last stay before leaving for Narita airport.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urayasu hotels
Maihama Station
Hilton Tokyo Bay
Hilton Tokyo Bay
#6 of 25 in Urayasu
2,570 reviews
Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay
#4 of 25 in Urayasu
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunroute Plaza Tokyo
#11 of 25 in Urayasu
788 reviews
Hotel Emion Tokyo Bay
#3 of 25 in Urayasu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel

Address: 1-9 Maihama, Urayasu 279-0031, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Urayasu > Maihama Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Urayasu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Urayasu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Urayasu
Price Range: £102 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1016
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel brings the essence of an urban resort hotel to a new level of sophistication. Only 30 minutes from central Tokyo, it is seemingly a world apart with a scenic waterfront exposure, expansive gardens and soothing waterfalls. The brilliantly designed interior captures the serene essence of the East and the Western ideal of space, comfort and convenience. Adjacent to the Tokyo Disneyland & Tokyo Disney Sea theme parks, and convenient to Japan's largest convention center as well as both Haneda and Narita airports, the Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay is an ideal location to combine business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Urayasu
Urayasu Sheraton
Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel Japan/Urayasu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing