We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Disneyland Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunroute Plaza Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunroute Plaza Tokyo
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels / Ryokan in Urayasu
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Affordable Disneyland Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is probably the most reasonably priced hotel on the Disney resort grounds. We stayed in the Frontier Room decorated with a western theme. I liked the fact that the toilet and bath were in separate rooms-- a very Japanesey set up. However, the changing area is outside the bath area which is sectioned off from the bed area with a partial wall so you're lacking some privacy there.

The room is very cozy. I would recommend it for 2 adults and possibly a small child but anymore than that would make me claustrophobic (pretty typical for hotels in Japan). The comforter had an obvious stain on it which was a turn off. The convenience store in the hotel had limited food options so it'd be best to stock up before you get there. There is an empty fridge to store drinks and snacks in the room.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay here, especially for the japanese style bath. If youre a westerner looking for western "resort" experience, this may not be the hotel for you. Keep in mind Sunroute chain is more like a business hotel so if you stay there with that awareness, you should be fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    392
    153
    22
    11
See reviews for
459
107
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good location for adventuring around on trains and walking. Good price for a comfortable room. Staff very helpful,plenty of maps and trips in reception.There's a restarauant on ground floor.Lots of restarurants outside even big macs,star bucks .

Room Tip: If you want to lay in ask for room on top floors as cleaners get to them last. All rooms in Japan se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6Lovelyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in the last week of our 3 week tour of Japan. It is very close to Dissneyland and one of the Disney preferred hotels, with bus access to the Disney enterance as well as Maihama JR station. We spent three days exploring Disneyland and Disneysea, then other days we were able to catch the JR train into Tokyo for sightseeing of Asasuka,Tsukiji Fish market,Rainbow bridge,the Maritime Museum,Yushukan War Memorial Museum, etc etc...When we first arrived we were too early to access our room so our luggage was stored for us and we decided to go sightseeing in Tokyo for the day, arriving back at our hotel at about 5pm to find our luggage ready for us. The service and kindness of the staff members made all the difference. Every staff member would acknowledge us and say hello, good morning or good afternoon as we passed them either in the corridor or at the desk.Our room was a good size (tripple room) with ensuite bath and shower, TV, fridge and tea and coffee making. We were given a voucher for meals (breakfast) and also a discount on the evening meals in the California buffet restaurant. We thought this hotel was great for us as it was close to Disneyland but also had the train access to do other sightseeing if you want to. I have recommended this hotel to others I know travelling to Tokyo and Disneyland and everyone has come back saying how they enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: There are three different room types, check them out on the official site on the internet before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Paid 84000 Yen for 3 nights. Got the Cruising Cabin room with 2 double-deckers bed in a super small room.

Access -- easy from Maihama Station. Can take a shuttle or a 15 minute walk.

Room -- Super small. Very narrow walkway between the 2 double decker beds. For a family it is a big big squeeze. Kids will like the double decker if you don't worry about them falling off. Bed headroom may be a problem for tall people. Can easily bump your head. Room ventilation also bad. Got the worker to do something but he don't speak English. In the end had to open the window to let air in. Small TV with no English channel -- a big letdown especially since it is near Disneyland where one can expect many foreigners. Toilet is super small and not very fresh -- there is this funny smell. Ceiling is also very low. Tall people have to be careful.

Meals -- Package include breakfast buffet. Spread is nothing to shout about. Can get real boring after 2 days.

Service -- Counter staff is generally helpful but English standard not very high. If you are not sick of bento sets, you can also buy the bento sets in the hotel lobby. Great when you return from the theme park.

Amenities -- There is a small grocery shop in the hotel. Can get your snacks there.

Access to Disney parks -- Shuttle service go direct to Disneyland. To travel to DisneySea, take shuttle to the monorail first.

Overall -- a cheaper alternative than staying in the official Disney hotels. But don't expect too much.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newpc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Stayed here only the one night, in between our adventure at Disneyland and Disney Sea the following day. Were were really impressed with it. Caught the shuttle bus from outside the entrance to Disneyland - a very cute Disney themed bus with Christmas decoration! The hotel itself is not that far and could probably have walked but it was rather chilly....

Hotel reception is very large and impressive with well marked signs for checking in. Although not a Disney themed hotel there are some nice touches to add to the magic. Although we speak some Japanese the girl at reception was very proficient with English so we went with that! Our room was a large twin (not sure there are many doubles available). Service was excellent at the front desk and a 'bell-girl' took us up in the lifts and to our room which was a nice touch.

The room was pretty large by Japanese standard with an added living room area in front of the large window, with a sofa and tables. I think the sofas turn into extra beds when required. The view from our window was great - Disney's Magic Castle, Mysterious Island from Disney Sea and the Disney Hotel. There is a TV (no international channels though), little fridge and a vanity area. The bathroom, as noted before, is teeny but perfectly fine. All toiletries are provided.

We went up to the Skybar for a drink and the views are pretty good. The bar itself is a little dated and was fairly quite the midweek night we were there but the staff and service again were excellent. The food served to others looked pretty good too.

There are a couple of restaurants on site, as well as a Disney shop and a convenience store. We bought croissants and snacks in the convenience stores to save a bit of cash for the morning, then a couple of coffeees for the vending machine, but the restaurants looked fine and busy.

All in all we had a great time staying at the Sunroute Plaza. Value for money wise it can't be beat in the Disney vicinity but it is a really classy hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayted at the Sunroute Plaza Tokyo hotel for 4 nights during June 2010. We were travelling with my 3 years old child and was told that he needs to pay an "adult" fee if we need an extra bed for him.(if the child can share your bed, then they stay and eat for free but I really wonder how a child can share a small single bed??) We booked the package via Sunroute Plaza website which cost us $28500 yen per night for 3 beds , including breakfast and dinner.

The location of the hotel is great. It's about 3 mins bus ride to Disneyland (there is free hotel shuttle buses). For Disneysea, you need to catch the free shuttle bus to the station and then catch the monarail to Disneysea. A day pass for monarail is approx 600 yen.

Staff at the hotel were nice and polite but most of them have limited English. We stayed at the western side of the hotel with 3 beds in the room (one is sofa bed). There are very limited space in the room but then we don't spend a lot of time given we are at the theme parks most of the time so it's no big issue. The bathroom is ok but again very small. We do have an issue with their pillows where both my husband's & mine were smelly.... Not good !! All channels on the TV are in Japanese.

You have 2 choices for breakfast - the western style restaurant or the Japanese restaurant. The Western style breakfast include bacon, egg, pastries etc but also include Japanese dishes such as miso soup and rice. Japanese restaurant was mainly japanese style breakfast. Buffet dinner is at the western style restaurant and they were serving nice steaks. Their menu does not seem to change much so having the same thing for 4 days in a roll was a bit too much for us. We did get a 4000 yen meal voucher as part of our package so we came back to the hotel for lunch one day. They offered a very nice "all your can eat" lunch where you can order from a fixed menu and they cook the food based on your order. That was a really nice meal and it only cost $1680 yen per adult (child eat free). Although the menu does not change much in this hotel, I will still recommend you get a package inclusive of meals if your aim is to go to Disneyland and Disneysea. The reason is the theme parks are normally open around 10am so you would want to have breakfast before you get there. If you plan to go to the parks at night, then having dinner at the hotel before you go is much more convenient. There are restaurants in the park as well as the station but it's a bit of a hassle to travel there.

We had a wonderful time at the theme parks. Our recommendation is to definitely stayed for a few days (rather than day trips). Between 7-10pm at night, you have relatively much shorter queues and waiting time compare to the day e.g the number of rides we are do at night in 2 hours will probably take you 5 hours during the day. I will also recommend going to the theme parks for 3-4 hours in the morning, then come back to the hotel for a nap/rest and then go again after dinner.

Overall we have an average stay at this hotel... if we do visit the area again, I may try out either Hilton or Sheraton which seems to have comparable prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasta0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Stayed there with my wife, excellent choice and well worth the money for a trip to Tokyo Disney and stayed in the resort. No hassle getting back to city hotel during closing time and u can even take a rest back at the hotel during the day. Disney cruiser conveniently shuttle and ferry you to JR Maihama station, Disneyland and to Bayside station (for Disneysea). The staffs are very professional at the check-in desk, the bell captains, they are friendly and extremely helpful. The bell hop refuse to take a tip as I handed her Yen2000 after carrying my luggages to the room. No problem conversing in english during our stay, they will try their best to help out in whatever way. The rooms are cosy and the bed is very comfortable. A bit expensive though to eat in. They have special counter on the entrance after 9pm to cater for hungry guest (like me), pack up bentos and sandwiches etc.. for you to buy. Very thoughful. Had a wonderful experiance during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubadude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urayasu hotels
Maihama Station
Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel
Maihama Station
Hilton Tokyo Bay
Hilton Tokyo Bay
#7 of 24 in Urayasu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tokyo Bay Maihama Hotel
#14 of 24 in Urayasu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay
#4 of 24 in Urayasu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunroute Plaza Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunroute Plaza Tokyo

Property: Sunroute Plaza Tokyo
Address: 1-6 Maihama, Urayasu 279-0031, Chiba Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Urayasu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Urayasu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunroute Plaza Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 696
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunroute Plaza Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Tokyo Urayasu
Sunroute Plaza Tokyo Hotel Urayasu
Sunroute Plaza Tokyo Japan/Urayasu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing