We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shartp, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Tsukuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The Okura Frontier is a sharp, clean hotel, right across from the downtown Tsukuba train station. Forget any notions about a grungy "train station hotel" however, as this is a very nice place. My room was great, with a nice large bed, good internet connection, and very clean.

The hotel featured stylish design throughout the lobby, restaurant and rooms. The restaurant's breakfast was very nice, including cooked-to-order omelets. (Though everyone in Japan seems to leave their eggs just a little bit too runny.)
Connected to a small shopping mall including a very nice bakery.

If you are coming to Tsukuba this is a great hotel in the dead center of town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFamilyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2009

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in while in Japan. Other hotels we stayed in for comparison were Park Hotel Tokyo and an expensive ryokan on Miyajima Island the night before. I wasn't expecting much from this hotel, but the bed was huge, the Internet was quick and the staff spoke English. I drove to the hotel from the JR rail station versus taking the Tsukuba Express station (which was really close by) so I ended up paying quite a bit to park. I did so, because we were headed to Tsukuba circuit for Hyper Meeting 2008 which was an easy drive using GPS. Shopping/food seemed to be plentiful although we arrived late to go to many of them and ended up eating at a Denny's a half mile away. The University of Tsukuba is within close promixity of the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ookami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I had no problem booking the hotel directly through the internet. My arrival was smoothly handled after a long flight from Heathrow. The room was excellent, only gripe was low volume on the cable TV CNN channel - but the TV-card explained that happened sometimes. Reception of BBC World was fine. The hotel annex has a very large swimming pool + facilities, unfortunately I had no time to try them out.
Tsukuba is called a "science city" but had an interesting collection of shops - on 3 levels - a few minutes walk from the hotel. Managed a trip up Mount Tsukuba from bus station near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGDIMBUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We had a convention at the convention center. We thought this hotel was right next door. It turns out that there are 2 Okura hotels. The Okura Epochal is actually next to the convention center. We stayed in the Okura, about 8 minutes walk to the center on a straight path. My room was comfortable, small (I had a double), clean. I had 2 colleagues with me. One stayed in the Okura with me. His airconditioning didn't work, and the hotel couldn't fix it. Since it was summer, that was a little tough. Another colleague stayed at the Epochal. Only had smoking rooms available. Very small and his internet didn't work until the next day. For an Okura brand, this was definitely a hotel on the 'frontier' ...and possibly hit or miss.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EfficientTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

We had a very nice stay here. The location is very convenient at the city center. Easy access to all forms of transportation, shopping, and restaurants. The staff is very helpfull and spoke English as well.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CTDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Tsukuba Science City is home to many research insitutions and universities. Visitors tend to be on business trips as there is really nothing too much to see there (if you exclude Expo and research labs). The hotel therefore is mainly for such visitors. The location could not be better. The bus and train station are within sight and yet, it is a very quiet and clean area. The main shopping malls are also a couple of mins walk away. The reception staff are very polite and efficient. By Japanese standards, the rooms are above average in size . The rooms are clean, though somewhat sparten in decor. There is free broadband internet access in the room. The only minor complain is the heating could not be adjusted. It was too warm and I had to leave the window open through the night. The outside temp was about 8 deg C while the inside was more than 25 deg C.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank E.S.Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2007

My partner and i Stayed here whilst he was visiting the University of Tsukuba on a business trip, the hotel we stayed at was the Okura Frontier Hotel, there is a second hotel in this chain the Epochal which is about a 10 min walk down the road next to the expo centre. The hotel was very nice, the staff very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and serviced reguarly, the hotel has 5 restaurants (one being a bar serving light meals) and its own bakery. I found them to be not expensive compared to UK prices for a meal out, but you can find much cheaper better value food in the surrounding area, but in terms of convienence and taste - they are good.

The hotel is sitauted right next to the high speed train stop direct from Tokyo (45 min journey from Narita, Tokyo) and the bus station is also very close by. You are situated next to some very nice parks, 2 large shopping complexes and so many restaurants are within easy reach. I think the hotel is very nice and a good place to stay if you are visiting Tsukuba. Tsukuba itself is very university focused and so has a few museums, but not much more around to offer it as a tourist destination.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank Bluespidermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsukuba hotels
0.2 mi away
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Tsukuba
0.4 mi away
Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba Epochal
1.8 mi away
Hotel Best Land
Hotel Best Land
#2 of 27 in Tsukuba
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mark-1 Tsukuba
Hotel Mark-1 Tsukuba
#5 of 27 in Tsukuba
62 reviews
4.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Tsukuba
Urban Hotel Tsukuba
#16 of 27 in Tsukuba
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Shinonome
Hotel Grand Shinonome
#24 of 27 in Tsukuba
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba

Address: 1-1364-1 Azuma, Tsukuba 305-0031, Ibaraki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Ibaraki Prefecture > Tsukuba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Tsukuba
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba, in the international city of "Tsukuba" surrounded by lush green and still imminent from central Tokyo, boasts its Main Building directly connected to Tsukuba station and Epochal adjacent to the international conference hall. We welcome our customers with the warmest hospitality and best quality service, in striving to become the oasis of "Tsukuba". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing