We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some peace in busy Japan”
Review of Mount Tsukuba

Mount Tsukuba
Geneva
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some peace in busy Japan”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was on a conference in Tsukuba and found that there was one morning full of boring contributions. So I decided to get away from it all for a small hike. There are around 3 ways to go up and down and all of them are really fun. The forest is quite different from what I know from Europe and on the way up I hardly met a soul. You can also take a mountain train or a funicular to go up or down, but that is only half the fun.
Even though the peak is only at 870 m the ascent is quite steep and can be slippery and muddy, so good hiking shoes are not a luxury, and yes, I felt those muscles for a number of days..
Access from Tsukuba is easy with bus No 1 and even with no Japanese language skills you can easily make your way there and back. The whole trip including bus can be done in around 6 hours without stressing yourself too much.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MerchantGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    165
    54
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tsukuba San”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Mount Tsukuba is one of the places that one should visit while you are in Tsukuba and in Japan. Very easy to get their from Tsukuba center by bus. A very beautiful views and sceneries from the top of the Tsukuba mount.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bahlul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

as a weekend activity for Toykoites I heard that it would be very busy and noisy but past the usual shops at the top train station there was some beautiful forest walks with great views out over the kanto plains

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsukuba, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hiking”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Tsukuba Mountain is one of the famous spot for Tsukuba's residents.

The view from the top is unique, as few mountain in the flat land of Kanto region , we can see far away.

It is a refreshing hike.

Best time to visit is the 紅葉, red leaf season in the Autumn. Most of the tree will turn red.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank heavenivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Tsukuba also viewed

Tsukuba, Ibaraki Prefecture
Tsukuba, Ibaraki Prefecture
 
Tsukuba, Ibaraki Prefecture
Tsukuba, Ibaraki Prefecture
 

Been to Mount Tsukuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing