We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step into history at Senkei Yamagaso in Hakone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senkei Annex Yamagaso
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Step into history at Senkei Yamagaso in Hakone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My friend and I had a wonderful stay. The host and hostess from the Inn met us when the taxi arrived after normal operating hours. They showed us to our own 'annex' cabin, it was beautiful and spacious just like stepping back into old Japan with tatami mats and futons on the floor. There is a sitting area overlooking the garden which is beautiful. There was a charming lady assigned to take care of our every need. The dinner was kaiseki style with multiple courses and sake and plum wine. The outdoor onset was beautiful and relaxing. Breakfast was a multi course meal and so peaceful. I wanted stay forever! Very charming and old world with tons of hospitality. If I get a chance I will go back again! It was July 2011 when we stayed.

Room Tip: I would choose a separate annex room vs a room in the main hotel. Its more spacious and feels more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_noah_shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Very easy to get to, when you get off the bus, you will see a bridge, make a left to cross it then right, and walk up about 5 minutes. All up about 10 minutes walk when you get off the bus. We used the directions off their webpage which included pictures of each corner as to where to turn, cannot go wrong if you follow them accurately!

The front of the property faces a running stream so it it very quiet at night. They also have a ramen restaurant which serves Chinese style ramen pork egg noodles, I don't believe there were any other options though, although your stay does give you the option of trying their authentic Japanese dinner which we opted not to as reviews stated that it was quite bland.

The staff were great! Extremely friendly, spoke little English but little words needed to be said. After check-in a old lady in a kimono led us to another entrance located next door, entering through the door reveals a beautiful private garden where she led us through a rocky path through the beautiful garden to our room (private 1 bedroom house with living space, kitchen and bath. The mini fridge had your usual hotel goods like water, soft drinks, beer and snacks.

Within this private enclosure, their was a building with a large deep bath with running hot spring water! It was shared but we found it extremely clean as the water was continually running directly from the hot springs. When you want to occupy the bath, we were taught how to position our wooden slippers outside the front door to let people know that we were inside so that no one bothers us (no locks on the doors)...

When it is nearing bedtime, the old lady would come back to your room, and prepare your futon mats, she pulls them out of the huge wardrobe! In the morning she is back again to fold them up to put them away.

The whole private house is laid out with tatami mats so don't forget to take off your shoes! Don't worry, she will tell you as you enter!

I would highly recommend this property, especially for couples looking for a romantic stay in a quiet remote town. Unforgettable!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our room was clean and well maintained - Ryokan and environment are pretty much like the descriptions of the last reviewer. Bathroom was a little run down. Don't get me wrong, it is still clean but if you compare this to Kamakura Prince, it is old. Breakfast and dinner served in the room. Very friendly staff - all of them came out and bowed to see us off the day we checked out. Inexpensive paid internet access is available in the lobby. Onsen is on the top of the Ryokan overlooking beautiful mountains - men use the onsen in the morning, women use it in the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the Ryokan and the atomsphere around, the attentive service, and the town itself.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

Just returned from Japan and a stay at this hotel...which was described as a "Villa VIP garden view Japanese style" room...
It's location in the little town of Hakone-Yumoto was charming and right alongside a river which added to it's charm! The hotel has three parts we find out, that are connected by one central lobby area.
This "annex Yamagaso" was just down the road from the lobby and resemble little Japanese homes clustered in beautiful garden. When you arrive at it's entrance, you really feel you have entered an old and traditional Japanese style Inn. The details in architecture and even down to the moss covered shrines on the grounds, are truly authentic... the sweet "mama' san" takes you to your room and explains everything in pure Japanese. Being the middle of December, the room was freezing as we entered which was a bit strange as she turned the nostalgic heater on
as we entered.
The rooms are very traditional with rice paper sliding wood doors, which does not keep the cold out very well, but you might want to use the "Kotatsu" when you first arrive, which is a low table that has a blanket over it and a heater under it, so you sit and tuck your legs under to get warm! It took a while, but the main room eventually did heat up pretty well. The bath room is not able to shut off completely from the outside elements (cold) as it has a permanent opening on the very top of the wall which has no closure.
The on property onsen public bath was nice, but nothing really special. If it's your first time and you haven't been to some of the more elaborate or modern Onsen in the region, you will enjoy it.

Also very traditional, was the food at Seikei Yamagaso. If you have a particular palette, remember that these types of Inn's serve dinner and breakfast in the price, most times, in your room, and consist of pickled vegetables, miso soup, raw fish of at least two types, a few pieces of beef, cooked fish, and rice!
Breakfast was a dried whole fish, pickled radish, rice, tofu in soup, and fish cake.

All in all, it was a great experience in a traditional inn, but just to let others know that the brochure and internet photo's are a little dated and deceiving on the wear and tear of this property.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room quality and food variety
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UNONOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

My husband and i stayed there in March. Beautiful Gardens and the Ryokan was breath taking. Beautiful scrolls and pictures on the walls. The lady who served us dinner and breakfast was charming and sweet. Our Futons were very comfortable. The baths here were wonderful. Open 24 hours for us to use privately. So we took advantage of this and my husband and i took many hot springs baths together. It was awesome!! The dinners were very tasty and fun!! The gardens were beautiful. We loved Yamagaso Ryokan!

  • Liked — The staff and the beautiful gardens and hot spring baths
  • Disliked — nothing it was wonderful!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Senkei
Hotel Senkei
#143 of 243 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Kijitei Hoeiso
Kijitei Hoeiso
#36 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Kowakidani Onsen
Mikawaya Ryokan
Mikawaya Ryokan
#32 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#18 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#11 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senkei Annex Yamagaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senkei Annex Yamagaso

Property: Senkei Annex Yamagaso
Address: 592 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 243 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senkei Annex Yamagaso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senkei Annex Yamagaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing