We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Experience”
Review of Gora Asahi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gora Asahi Hotel
Ranked #128 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at this ryokan for two nights in April, a lovely respite after five days of bustle in Tokyo. It took a bit to learn the shoes-off/special slippers routine, but that added to the experience. The hotel provides lovely yukatas to wear in the room, to the hot spring baths (onsen), or even to a special dinner.

The onsen was terrific; I have never felt so clean and well soaked in my life, and learning the Japanese bathing routine was easy. There are also foot-massage machines to further ease any fatigue or stress. Sleeping on the futons was surprisingly comfortable; it just took a little more effort to get up. Our room was large, with a separate reading area and a large bath.

We dined there twice and the meals were among the best in three weeks of travel in Japan. The staff was very welcoming, helpful, and friendly. This area of Hakone was very hilly and pretty for walks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

we stayed 2 nights at this lovely ryokan. Spacious, comfortable, great food and a very nice onsen (hot spring). We also had a very large and deep tub in our shower room where we could take the hot spring bath if we did not want to go to the communal onsen. They supplied us with beautiful yokata and kimono jackets to wear and relax in. Great location also, right across from a lovely park with colorful flowers and fountain. I recommend it dearly!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015
2  Thank ララママン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank todo965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 私の個人的な好みですが、ベッドのクッションの関係で、次回は和室にしたいと思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank たびずき134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank murakumo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: 強羅公園側の低層階に泊まったことがありますが1階の屋根ばかり見えて残念でした
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Onsen0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Merveille Hakone Gora
Merveille Hakone Gora
#53 of 244 in Hakone-machi
198 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Gora Onsen
Suikokan
Suikokan
#157 of 244 in Hakone-machi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aoisou
#75 of 244 in Hakone-machi
18 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hotel Goura Kazenone
Hotel Goura Kazenone
#6 of 29 in Hakone-machi
25 reviews
Gora Onsen
Setsugetsuka
Setsugetsuka
#29 of 244 in Hakone-machi
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gora Asahi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gora Asahi Hotel

Address: 1300-59 Gora, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Hotel Class:3 star — Gora Asahi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Rakuten so you can book your Gora Asahi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing