We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Japanese Spa Experience”
Review of Gora Asahi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gora Asahi Hotel
Ranked #105 of 241 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Tecumseh, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Real Japanese Spa Experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a wonderful little spa that caters to families that have been coming here for years. The rooms are basic tatami mat style no-shoe Japanese rooms. Try the karaoke with the locals at the bar, get an inexpensive massage, luxuriate in the hot water spa, eat elegantly prepared traditional food while you wear your Yukata robe. What a blast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AbeDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and they provide a great Ryokan experience for travelers. The rooms are very traditional and very clean. It was worth the experience. The only negatives is the fact it does not have a gym/fitness room and it does not have wireless/Internet connectivity. The rooms can also get a little warmer than most westerners would prefer.

The hotel meals for groups were excellent and a great treat for breakfast and dinner. Highly recommended.

For a true Japanese experience for a tourist, we were delighted with the experience and all the areas above were minor compared to the overall impression the hotel left with us. The hotel staff do not speak English, but they manage to take care of you very well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice spacious traditional Ryokan rooms that have previously been described accurately so I will not describe them again in this review. Staff were very helpful and kind. The food prepared for our group for breakfasts and dinners were amongst the best we had while in Japan. Multiple courses of elegant morsels that I will never forget. I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChefDon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I would like to describe the Japanese style room, as neither the hotel website nor other English language reviewers gave me a good idea what to expect. I will describe our room, tho I saw one other that was laid out a little differently, but likely the same size:
As you enter the door from the hallway, there is a hallway where you remove shoes, as only socks or bare feet allowed on the tatami mats. In this hallway is a closet for hanging clothes as well as closet for bedding.
The main room has about 8 tatami mats, a single low table and chairs that rest on the floor, (no legs), and no other furniture. In the alcove is electric hot water pot, safe, small TV. (Of course attendant sets up the bedding in the evening and clears it in the morning.)
Next room, separated by sliding paper door, is length of the first room and about 8 ft. wide. There is a writing desk and chair, a table and 2 upholstered chairs, small fridge. Our room looked out on hills/mountains.
To one side of the main room is a 3-room bathroom, one room high-tech toilet, one room sink, 3rd larger room has a big square tub and shower.
We were with a group, so ate together in a banquet room, Japanese style dinners which were very nice. It was served in courses, not buffet. There is a Japanese restaurant on site, but we didn't use that. Our group had arranged for a Western breakfasts, so I can't comment conclusively on the Japanese breakfasts, but it appeared that it was a set menu in the restaurant for the Japanese breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GaryT4418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is an authentic Japanese hotel with the low door jams and step up and down to get to the different areas of the room. If you are 6'3" it is a challenge to navigate the room and hotel. The room was quite large and the staff setup the sleeping mats at night on the floor. Tea is provided along with a hot water pot for constant access to hot water. The staff is very pleasant and it was fun to stay here. Watch your head!

Great location with lots to do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Loved this location, loved the service, loved the banquet, loved the room. First the ryokan is almost on top of the hill, winding roads, beautiful streets. There is a Nobu inspired restaurant Itoh Dining (Kobe Beef restaurant) a block up. There is nice uphill walking streets with beautiful homes and local galleries. It feels like a neighborhood in the hills, quiet, cool weather in the morning. The staff was very helpful.

Likes: the hot spring onsen very traditional. Wash and clean yourself first then get into the hot spring. The banquet was very nicely prepared and served expertly, 4 star quality restaurant. The chambermaid comes in to prepare evening tea and a Japanese sweet, first day of checkin. Nice spacious rooms with tatami mats (no shoes allowed). Living room converted to bedroom during dinner time. Must enter with clean feet or socks. Stayed here 3 evenings, could have been easily a week. Very nice sunken tubs for soaking with a separate shower. Each room has a writing desk, a fridge, small flat screen TV. There is no clock as you are supposed to relax here.

Dislikes: It could be remodeled (very 60s/70s decor outside the rooms) but not a major issue as this is an authentic experience and its the traditional rooms that matter here.

Room Tip: Get a high room on the street side. You will see the sulfur springs on the mountain tops from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
265 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at this ryokan for two nights in April, a lovely respite after five days of bustle in Tokyo. It took a bit to learn the shoes-off/special slippers routine, but that added to the experience. The hotel provides lovely yukatas to wear in the room, to the hot spring baths (onsen), or even to a special dinner.

The onsen was terrific; I have never felt so clean and well soaked in my life, and learning the Japanese bathing routine was easy. There are also foot-massage machines to further ease any fatigue or stress. Sleeping on the futons was surprisingly comfortable; it just took a little more effort to get up. Our room was large, with a separate reading area and a large bath.

We dined there twice and the meals were among the best in three weeks of travel in Japan. The staff was very welcoming, helpful, and friendly. This area of Hakone was very hilly and pretty for walks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Merveille Hakone Gora
Merveille Hakone Gora
#43 of 241 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel hakone Powell
Hotel hakone Powell
#153 of 241 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Aoisou
#79 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hotel Paipunokemuri Plus
Hotel Paipunokemuri Plus
#75 of 241 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
The Hakone Manor
#136 of 241 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Gora Onsen
Saneiso
Saneiso
#150 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gora Asahi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gora Asahi Hotel

Property: Gora Asahi Hotel
Address: 1300-59 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 241 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Hotel Class:3 star — Gora Asahi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Gora Asahi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing