We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room with great view”
Review of Hakone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hakone Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Large room with great view”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having doing some research through the internet, i'd finally decided to stay in Hakone Hotel for my stopover during my Japan trip. It turns out to be a great choice.
Hakone hotel is located at the edge of Lake Ashi, where pirate-ship cruise make stopover at a next door pier, has it own bus-stop in front of the hotel, and in a clear day, you supposely could see the famous mount Fuji. Unfortunately, during my stay the weather was rainy, windy, and foggy which blocked all the great views, and suspended the pirate-ship cruise.
Beside the great location, the hotel also have large, spotless clean room and very comfortable bed, despite it relatively old fashined decor. It also has 2 restaurants (a japanese and western food restaurants), a hot bath, and a small pier to do some kayaking/watersport if the weather permits. Pricewise - it is relatively fair compared to some hotels i've checked. You could also request transport arrangement to/from the train station via the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor (top floor) facing the lake for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    115
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
71
103
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is easy to find, it has its own bus stop in Hakone. Staff were welcoming and helpful.
The location of the hotel can't be beaten, right on the side of lake Ashi. We stayed in a superior twin room and this faced straight down the lake. It's also possibly the tallest hotel room I've stayed in - the 4th floor had a huge barrelled ceiling.

The room and furniture felt a bit old fashioned, but everything was working and spotlessly clean.

The location of the hotel is great, right by the pier where the "pirate ships" dock, making it easy to jump on a ship to travel to Hakone ropeway and see the sights.

Hakone seems to be a very popular holiday destination in Japan, but in May we found most things had closed by about 5:30pm. There's a 7-11 that is open late, about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

I'd recommend Hakone as a place to visit, and the Hakone Hotel is an affordable good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A solid comfortable hotel where time seems to have passed it by in terms of the decor. Having said this, it was comfortable, had wonderful views over the lake and is situated in the wonderful village of Hakone.
Our tarif included dinner and we were in for a delight at the restaurant 'Il Miraggio which was amazingly great.
Breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Location - The hotel is well located on the banks of Lake Ashi. Great views of Mt.Fuji from the Hotel. The Hakone-Tozan bus from Odawara ( and Hakone-Yumoto ) has its last stop right next to the hotel ( route R and H ). Perfect boarding place for the pirate ship. Few stores in the area and actually one that is a proper 7/11 type.

Hotel - Old property. Reception speaks little English. Large rooms. Nothing spectacular, except the large window glazing, overlooking the lake and the Mt.Fuji beyond. Expensive restaurant. Free Wi-Fi only in the Reception. Hotel has a good "Onsen" - hot water spring pool ( and there are cultural rules to use this facility ). Very hard pillow.

Hakone Free Pass - the 2 or 3 day pass works very well. The Odakyu train from Shinjuku to Hakone-Yumoto. Bus from there to the hotel. While in Hakone, a good day route is to take the pirate ship to the Togendi and then follow the rope way and then cable car route to Gora. Take the train to Hakone-Yumoto and bus back to the hotel. All the above is free with the Hakone Pass.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the lake. There are other rooms perpendicular to the main building and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akmbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel is the largest thing in the village - you can't miss it - right next to the ferry terminal - it looks like a museum or temple or factory .. anything but a hotel! The restaurant was fine but VERY expensive. Not worth the money. Nowhere else to eat within walking distance. No 7-11 within walking distance. There was a bus into the main village though but it only ran once an hour in the evening and it was FREEZING outside so we didn't really want to wait for the bus.
In fact, once the ferry stopped running the village was dead quiet with nothing open. During the day there are shops and cafes, just not in the evening. The room was comfortable and reasonably large. The bathroom was good by Japanese standards. Didn't try the Onsen but it was single sex only - men at one time; women at another - so very inconvenient if you are a couple.
Some English was spoken at reception, not much. They gave us a card with "Rules for using Onsen" etc in English - clearly a necessity!
Not sure why other reviewers are catching taxi's to the hotel - the bus from Odawara or Hakone Yamote goes every 15 minutes and costs a fraction of a taxi. I guess some American's have no idea about public transport! The whole point of this area is to get a Hakone Freepass and enjoy the "circuit" on the train, toy train, cable car and bizarre pirate ferry. Its a great way to see the area and not that expensive.
The hotel breakfast was extra on our booking - HORRENDOUSLY expensive, we just purchased a roll from the lobby shop instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
625 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our son visited here several times when he was small so he wanted to bring his family so we tagged along. Our son loved the pirate ship crossing Lake Asahi so we did the trip with the grandkids. The best part of the grandkids experience was the morning omelette. It was made into the form of rabbit, dog, or pig. They loved it. I thought the French restaurant was not that great and overpriced. The selection of reasonably priced wines were very limited. The room was larger than hotels in Tokyo and the view of the lake from the room was excellent. You can see the top of Mt. Fuji from the room but if you want to see Fuji in full view, you should try other hotels. What surprised me was that there are no other restaurants for evening meals nearby and we were forced to eat at the hotel. There are apparently several Japanese style rooms at the hotel too. The best part for me was to relax in the hotel's hot spring baths. There are two, one inside and one outside and though they are relatively small, the hot bath was soothing and refreshing.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in winter it was a group booking. The hotel has some lovely architectural aspects the rooms have high curved ceilings and are large by comparison with other Japanese Hotels. Some of the staff were a little dismissive and appeared unhappy but the younger staff were more relaxed around westerners. Great location right on the lake and views of mount Fuji from the bedroom window. The hotel is right next to the ferry terminal which is very helpful. Taxi to and from the hotel was reasonably priced for the distance (very pretty drive). The rooms were reasonably clean (some issues in the Bathroom) however like all of the reviews I've read the rooms need refurbishing and some areas around the hotel were not maintained properly which is a shame as the building is quite timeless. The lobby is cluttered with random retail items and it needs to rethink its image in this regard. It is very quiet and difficult to find anywhere else to eat other than the hotel itself with limited food choices. The prices for food with below par quality and size servings were a little expensive for some in our group who opted to eat at a restaruant they found just down the road (Excellent food and variety, big servings and cheaper prices). The second night this restaruant was unfortunately closed. The 7-11 is a long walk in the dark. Everything seems to close early in the evening so be careful and check timing when trying to get back on the ferry boats and rope ways.The breakfast buffet was excellent with something for everyone and a wonderfull chef who cooked the perfect omlette of your choice with great skill. The set airconditioning was a little cold for winter and -5 however I live in the tropics so am sensatinve to colder temps.

Room Tip: ask for a view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
466 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#6 of 242 in Hakone-machi
927 reviews
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
#29 of 242 in Hakone-machi
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Palace Hotel Hakone
Palace Hotel Hakone
#17 of 242 in Hakone-machi
276 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#9 of 242 in Hakone-machi
385 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
#13 of 242 in Hakone-machi
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Hotel

Property: Hakone Hotel
Address: 65 Hakone | Fujiyahotel Lakeview Annex, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0521, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Ashinoko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#22 Best Value Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakone Hotel located quietly on the shore of Lake Ashi offers its guests a relaxing natural environment from its serene lake setting with the magnificent reflection of Mt.Fuji in the beautiful greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hakone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakone Hotel Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing