We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you use the funicular to avoid walk up hill.first stop.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merveille Hakone Gora
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wonderful hotel, fantastic staff, beautiful breakfast!
We arrived at the hotel early, they happily stored our luggage.
When we returned after a long day, they had put our luggage in our room...top top service!
The room was very spacious, large balcony and a good sized bathroom.
Beds were comfy and very quiet and free wifi in reception.
We didn't use the onsens as we were knackered from walking all day.
Ignore the previous review, if you catch the train to gora and take the funicular up one stop, get off the left side and walk straight down the street pass the connivence shop you are at the hotel.
They will even pick you up and drop you off at the station!
I'd stay again in a heartbeat, great hotel.
If you want to eat there on an evening, book in advance as it books quickly.
There are a few restaurants down the hill which we ate at and were cheap and tasty.
Not much to do in the evening in the area, but to be honest your so tired by then it does not matter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Merveille Hakone Gora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is close to the gora station,but a steep climb uphill.
Rooms are nice & spacious ,the pickup service was prompt
While checking in. But if you have the first train to catch
Which is at 8 am. The shuttle will not be available until 9 am .
Only Japanese breakfast & dinner service on advance booking.
Wifi is available in the lobby not in the room.the best way to get
To the hotel is to get off the next station of the cable car ,that
Way you can avoid the steep climb & the road leads straight to the hotel.
In terms of food specially dinner eating places shut down way early
So one needs to hurry up .or the convenience store is the best bet

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitamanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After a long trip up the mountain, we rolled our suitcases up a steep hill and were initially disappointed with the look of the Merveille. (You should get the shuttle bus - ring ahead or a cab or go one stop up the tram-car if you want to avoid the steep hill). In the end, we were incredibly impressed with our room. It came complete with Yukata's to wear and a basket to use in the onsen. The onsen was an experience in itself - you just have to try it. The breakfast was included in our price. I enjoyed it, but it might not be to everyone's taste. It consisted of rice, salmon, miso soup and various other bits of tofu and veg. Good value if you get it included in the package. The hotel is fairly well located a short walk from the tram car up to the cable car. I would highly recommend this hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The staffs were very helpful, warm, and welcome.
They picked up us at Gora station, when some one, Japanese, whom we asked the location of this hotel to,make a call to the hotel, because we did not know, the exact location.
Room really clean, and wide enough.
Onsen inside the hotel very comfortable, hotel also provide basket , to bring amenities from the room ,to go for onsen.
Bath facilities and amenities inside the onset quite complete.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94Nany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for Mt. Myojingatake - Mt. Kintoki hiking.
This hotel is not that far (Maybe 5 to 10min walking) from the station, but you need to climb up a steep hill to get there. In case of having heavy luggage or raining, I would recommend to use their free shuttle service.

There is a convenience store right in front of the hotel (open 7am to 10pm). I found Gora is very quiet area. Although there are some restaurants around the hotel, most of them close around 9pm. (We don't know why, but none of them were open when we get there on Thursday night around 7pm.)

The room is well cleaned, and spacious. The onsen in the basement floor is not that big, and no Rotenburo (outside bath) is there. This could be a bit disappointing since Hakone is very famous Onsen (hot spring) in Japan. The amenities (variety of nice shampoo etc.) in the onsen were very good.

- For hikers -
Gora-Mt.Myojingatake-Mt.Kintoki trail is higly recommended. Great view of Mt. Fuji, and alothough the trail is long, no dangerous spots.
But, Do not over trust "min " on the direction sign!
For example, it says 85 min to Mt. Myojingatake on the sign at the beginning of the hiking trail, but the hiking map says 115min. I found hiking map is more accurate. (Of course, 85min can be achieved if you are a well-trained climber. But not for beginners - intermediate.)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 和室より洋室がオススメかと思います。テラスは蚊がいるので注意!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxaoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank ダリルこ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Hotel Marroad Hakone
Hotel Marroad Hakone
#69 of 244 in Hakone-machi
123 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Gora Onsen
Gora Tensui
Gora Tensui
#53 of 244 in Hakone-machi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Resort Pia Hakone
Resort Pia Hakone
#48 of 244 in Hakone-machi
177 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hotel Paipunokemuri Plus
Hotel Paipunokemuri Plus
#64 of 244 in Hakone-machi
78 reviews
Gora Onsen
Kiritani Hakoneso
Kiritani Hakoneso
#201 of 244 in Hakone-machi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merveille Hakone Gora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merveille Hakone Gora

Address: 1300-70 Gora, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £127 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merveille Hakone Gora 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the next to green Gora Koen, this hotel is proud of its natural hot spring bath and original kaiseki cuisine. Comfortable place with artworks. Easy access of 5min walk from Gora Station. From Gora Station: 5-7min walk or 1min by shuttle service. 1min walk from Gora-Koen park.service time is 14:30~18:00.please call when you arrive at GOURA station.reservation center:10:00~19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merveille Hakone Gora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing