We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Experience”
Review of Hakonenomori Okada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hakonenomori Okada
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I loved staying at this pension. It was very clean, and had a beautiful and relaxing onsen spa which was spotless right next door. The pictures are exactly what you get. It was relaxing to soak in the beautifully rock landscaped pools outdoors amongst the lush mountains and scenery. I wish I was there now! The dinner was a delicious beef sukiyaki with lots of other little dishes. We didn't upgrade our meal and thought it was filling and tasty! We opted for the Japanese room with futon bedding and it was our first time sleeping the true Japanese way. It was comfortable and they provided written directions on how to lay the thick bedding with crisp flat sheet on top and also how to put the futon inside the cover. I thought the 9000 yen per person per night was a great deal for dinner, breakfast and spa access. Most other places I checked was a lot more. It was pretty easy to get to Hakonenomori Okada. Just take the A bus outside of the train station to "Hotel Okada". Bus personnel will direct you to the correct bus for "Hotel Okada". Follow the directions on the Hakonenomori Okada website going to the eighth floor and "UP" the escalator thru Hotel Okada to the exit. As you exit Hotel Okada, walk short distance to the right (about 40 feet) and make a left on first street and the pension entrance is immediately to the left. (You'll see the spa facility on your right). Shuttle bus fare from train station Yumoto to Hotel Okada is 100 yen. Shuttle bus doesn't take Hakone Free Pass.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jelligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We stayed in Japanese stye room. Nothing special exept onsen.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hakone is famous for its hot springs and expensive hotels, and Hakonemori Okada is one that offers excellent value for money. We booked a japanese room thru the hotel website for 2 nights at Y19200 per night which include dinner and breakfast for 2 adults, which i think is good value for money.
This is a small hotel, rather old but well maintain and clean. Room is mid size, and comfortable with TV, fridge and a safe in room. You have to lay your own futon to sleep at night. Yukaza are provided which you wear to go the onsen or you can also wear it to dinner at breakfast, which almost every guest does.
Food is okay, quite good but not fantastic.Do not expect kaiseki meal and you be okay. its just a simple japanese set dinner with multiple small dishes and 1 hot dish. Breakfast is typically japanese which is not to everyone taste.

The best part of this hotel is the onsen. Hakonenomori Okada does not have an onsen in the hotel, but guests have free access to the onsen next door, Spa Yunosato, which is excellent, with 1 indoor onsen and 5 outdoor onsen. The outdoor section is very nice, especially at night, when its cold, you soak in the outdoor pool and gaze up to the stars in the sky........
Just wear the hotel yukaza and the staff there will recognize you as hotel guests and you can go in and out anytime you like. I think for public, they have to pay an entrance fee of Y1600. But its free to hotel guests.
You can also use the onsen at the next door Okada Hotel, which is part of the same group. Okada Hotel is a more expensive hotel. So for the price of 1 hotel, you get to use onsen in 2 hotels, and thats the advantage of staying here. Afterall, coming to Hakone is all about onsen and hot springs, thats the major attractions here.

The only downside to this is the access. You have to go thru Okada Hotel, up the lift to the 8F, go up an escalator and exit Okada hotel, and a 1 min uphill walk, you get to Hakonenomori Hotel.
Overall, an excellent value hotel with great onsen.

Room Tip: There are western rooms if you dont like to sleep on futon, but western rooms are generally more exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stay in Japanese style room. It was beautiful and comfort. Breakfast and dinner was good and variety. Most impress us is their hot spring On-zen it's look natural and many space. Everything was great there.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HimaFaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This is one the best deal ryokan I stayed during the Japanese trip. It is not the most luxurious one, but the best value one. The location is quite far away from the Hakone-Yumoto. Have to take a short local bus trip to the hotel, and have to take additional walk passing through another hotel to get there. But giving all this, it's still worth to stay. The price is decent. The food is good. The room space is comfortable, and clean. But you have to lay out the futon by yourself. The hotel doesn't have an onsen facility itself. You have to use the nearby onsen facility, which is quite lovely and charming.... If you're looking for a reasonable price ryokan style to stay during a Hakone trip, this is not a bad choice...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saksatien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The hotel was a good value in a pricey town. It doesn't have hot springs of its own, but guests have privileges at the great spa next door and in the adjoining hotel Okada.

I say challenge to get to, because we were on a budget and caught the local bus transportation - the aisles were narrow and our suitcases were relatively large so getting them all on the bus and back off again was a physical challenge (catching a taxi would have been easier, but there were 5 of us and getting all of us plus our 5 suitcases would have required 2 or 3 taxis). To get to the hotel, you need to cut through the lobby of the Hotel Okada, catch the elevator to the 8th floor, walk over to a escalator that lifts you perhaps another 3 floor, then you need to hike up a steep driveway about 100 yards to the Hakonenomori. If everyone in your group is in satisfactory physical shape and everyone can carrie thier own baggage, you should be able to manage. Just be forewarned.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnh96813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

It's a nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. I had a Japanese-Western mixed room (being upgraded from my booking of a Western room with no extra charge) and it's a huge room with two single beds and tatami sitting area. The advantage for staying in this hotel is that we could use the same facilities as the guests staying in Hotel Okada which is just beside Hakonormi and priced higher. Don't forget to go to the outside baths which are so beautiful especially at night time. Very enjoyable!! Food is inclusive in price and it's so so but that's the only place you can eat unless you walk downhill for at least 10-15 minutes. There is shuttle bus to and from Yumoto Station and is 100 Yen each way. I would suggest the hotel to provide free shuttle and that will defintely attract more tourists to stay in these 2 hotels. Overall, it's great place to stay but I will definitely try Hotel Okada in my next trip to Hakone as the hotel is under a serious renovation right now and feel more classy than Hakonomori.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyi_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
488 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#24 of 244 in Hakone-machi
332 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Okada
Hotel Okada
#54 of 244 in Hakone-machi
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Shinkan
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Shinkan
#39 of 244 in Hakone-machi
93 reviews
Ashinoko Onsen
Ashinoko Ichinoyu
Ashinoko Ichinoyu
#70 of 244 in Hakone-machi
143 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Senkei
Hotel Senkei
#108 of 244 in Hakone-machi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakonenomori Okada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakonenomori Okada

Address: 191 Yumotochaya, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0312, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £92 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakonenomori Okada 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hakonenomori Okada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing