We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are glad we stayed here”
Review of Hakone Suimeisou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hakone Suimeisou
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Pulling into the Hakone station in the Romance Car was an unforgettable experience as was the walk through the quaint station towards the hotel. Thanks to my husband's iPhone we were able to locate the whereabouts of the hotel (it is very close to the station - will get back to that) but we had to stand like lost tourists (which we actually were, in a sense!) because we couldn't figure out which one of the buildings in the narrow street was the hotel. Thankfully, a kind passer-by noticed our predicament and pointed us in the right direction - we were standing right next to the hotel! A sign (even a tiny one) in English would have been nice.

The hotel itself is very home-ey. It was quaint, quiet and neat. It's an old building and I was pretty sure that we would have to drag our suitcases through three flights of stairs - but surprisingly (thankfully) they had a lift and we were spared the work out!

The gentleman who checked us in were very stoic, but pleasant. The lady, however, was super cheerful and bubbly and we felt very welcome.

The rooms have a small door (they write your names on name plates!) but once you enter it is impossible to not gasp a little. The tatami mats, the low ceiling, the black table, the lights...wow..it is imprinted in my memory! The bathrooms were tiiiiiny, but convenient. Thankfully, they have a small area outside the restroom with a basin, a mirror and plug points.

Now to the most exciting part of staying here - the onsen! You can choose between the private and the public onsens - we chose the private one. It was AMAZING. Seriously, you almost tread respectfully around the place! There's a small stone area for washing up before entering the onsen and the onsen itself is a beautiful jacuzzi-like pool of HOT, almost scalding water.

We went in at night, so we could only hear the river. But, if you closed your eyes and just sat there in the onsen it's easy to become meditative. I was a bit uncomfortable with the very open side of the onsen room (kept imagining someone with telescopic lens hiding in the mountains on the other end) but, it's quite far away and I was submerged in the onsen anyway!

Back to the room, at around 10pm we had a couple of hotel helpers come in and lay our beds. They worked with great precision and professionalism. Didn't linger in the room for even a second more than needed. The beds are sooooo comfy (you have to sleep on the floor, btw, on the mattresses they give) and call it the effect of the very hot water onsen experience, the zero sound of vehicles or the gentle flow of the river behind us, I slept like I hadn't slept in a very very long time!

In the morning, when I opened our window I gasped, again! The view of the river is absolutely breathtaking! Spent quite some time just enjoying the view with my husband!

Now, to another specialty - the breakfast spread. A lovely lady gently invited us for our breakfast. So, we go into another room and there's this big table (the kind where you have to sit on the floor) with traditional Japanese dishes. We were like, how are we ever going to eat all this! We did and even had second helpings! The lady kindly explained every dish to us, demonstrated how to eat them, explained where they came from, how it was cooked, had a genuine conversation with us and politely left us to have our breakfast. It is an experience to remember!

Coming back to the bit about it being near the station - at one point we realized that it was almost time for our train. We checked out and ran with our luggage to the station and thankfully, we caught it just in time! We were so happy that we chose this hotel because it was so close to the station!

We loved staying here, everything about this hotel was amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash0092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Nice Japanese onsen experience, and dinner breakfast serve in your room, sleep on the tatami, Superb!! Travel with infant, and she love walking on the tatami..very good experience on the onsen, which you need to be fully naked ..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yiihwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is great experience for Japanese Culture include their transitional ta-ta-mi, dining, living, bedroom combination within a small area. Bath culture and traditional food. Unlimited public bath and hot spring facility at 6th floor.

Room Tip: They do not provide baby cot, so if you travel with baby, please take note.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we wanted somewhere near the Train station and affordable. We were pleased with this place as it is 3 minutes walk across from station. Check in was swift and we booked a Japanese style room for some local experience. The dinner was ok but a bit early to start at 630pm. We also enjoyed the private onsen as it has an open air concept. Breakfast was also early at 8am but it was better. Overall, highly recommended for its value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel offers futon style sleeping in rather spacious rooms facing the river. Breakfast is served (rather early 7:30 or 8:00) in your room by a very friendly japanese lady. The table can hardly accomodate all she brings. You sit on the tatami mats, chairs have no legs and the bed is stowed away at daytime. The great thing of hotels in the area are the ONSEN (hot spas). The hotel has a communal one or you can avail of a smaller private ONSEN in the upper floor which costs about 20 US $ per 50 min. Great and relaxing experience. The Hakone Freepass allows to discover the area with a perfect system of buses, boats, ropeways and trains. The landscape is stunning. Yumoto is the entry point into the Hakone area: Perfect !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We've visited Hakone Suimeiso only for 1 night and regretted it was that short. From outside the hotel looks like concrete bloc:) but inside this is typical japanese ryokan. It's located few steps from Hakone-yumoto station, right at the river bank. Our room has beautuful river view.

The staff are exteremely nice and helpful making your stay real pleasure.

The meals are served in your rooms, which makes the whole stay great experience. We had a chance to taste various japanese dishes - served on a small plates, beautifully decorated. The dinner contained at least 12 dishes and it was more then enough to eat. The breakfest was served at 7:30 also in our room and again it was approx 10 dishes.

The hotel has its own hot spring bath and there's a possibility to use both public and private baths. We booked a private bath - which is outoor bath - and that was great experience, but also used the public ones - which are same quality.

The room was pretty big (as for japanese standard) and it was covered with tatami mats. The beds were japanese style - futons - but very comfortable. The yukatas that were provided made the total picture.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derodax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We arrived in pouring rain and found the place easily right near the station (look at 'street view' before you get here as the sign is in Japanese) Delighted to see my name on a plaque in the entrance ... Staff do not speak much English but very friendly and helpful. The food served in our room was incredibly good. The outdoor baths are lovely, but the shared one a bit claustrophobic. Men can only use the shared outdoor bath at night. You can book a private bath, too. Highly recommended for a traditional Japanese experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
488 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#19 of 244 in Hakone-machi
178 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Kajikaso
Hotel Kajikaso
#42 of 244 in Hakone-machi
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 244 in Hakone-machi
284 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#10 of 244 in Hakone-machi
404 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#24 of 244 in Hakone-machi
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Suimeisou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Suimeisou

Address: 702 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £165 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakone Suimeisou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hakone Suimeisou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing