We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay for one night not two”
Review of Hakone Suimeiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hakone Suimeiso
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay for one night not two”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed some aspects of the hotel but were disappointed overall. We really should have stayed only one night as that would have been plenty. Firstly, the male receptionist was surly and unsmiling. We arrived about 12 midday and knew it would be too early to check in so we left our bags and went exploring. Our room was 205 and has seen better days. Wallpaper torn and knocked around in places. Mattresses (Japanese style for sleeping) were stained and needed replacing. The elderly lady who showed us to our room was delightful but the one who looked after us in our room reeked of cigarette smoke and was not very tolerant of our inability to speak or understand Japanese. From other reviews I can understand your experience depends on who looks after you.
We had the breakfast without dinner package so I can't comment on the dinner. The breakfast was an experience I couldn't repeat for our second day. We are used to a light breakfast and the raw fish, cooked fish and tofu was not to our western tastes but I can appreciate the experience. The problem is that there is no alternative and we cancelled the breakfast the following day. You are still expected to pay for it whether you have it or not and that is fine however, even a bowl of cereal or a piece of toast would have been appreciated. I know some will say that is the ryokan experience but after trying it you should be able to have an alternative.
We had a view out to the river but there is work going on at the Hakone Suimeisou and we had scaffolding on our balcony minimizing our use of the balcony and the view. We booked a private onsen but to be honest, I think they are best experienced in the cooler months as we felt as if we were being lightly poached. The onsen should have a beautiful view but once again this was partially obscured by the scaffolding. The television is programmed to turn on at 7am as a wake up call whether you want to wake this early or not. We also had some cockroach company in our room which was a concern.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    65
    24
    21
    10
See reviews for
37
57
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Pulling into the Hakone station in the Romance Car was an unforgettable experience as was the walk through the quaint station towards the hotel. Thanks to my husband's iPhone we were able to locate the whereabouts of the hotel (it is very close to the station - will get back to that) but we had to stand like lost tourists (which we actually were, in a sense!) because we couldn't figure out which one of the buildings in the narrow street was the hotel. Thankfully, a kind passer-by noticed our predicament and pointed us in the right direction - we were standing right next to the hotel! A sign (even a tiny one) in English would have been nice.

The hotel itself is very home-ey. It was quaint, quiet and neat. It's an old building and I was pretty sure that we would have to drag our suitcases through three flights of stairs - but surprisingly (thankfully) they had a lift and we were spared the work out!

The gentleman who checked us in were very stoic, but pleasant. The lady, however, was super cheerful and bubbly and we felt very welcome.

The rooms have a small door (they write your names on name plates!) but once you enter it is impossible to not gasp a little. The tatami mats, the low ceiling, the black table, the lights...wow..it is imprinted in my memory! The bathrooms were tiiiiiny, but convenient. Thankfully, they have a small area outside the restroom with a basin, a mirror and plug points.

Now to the most exciting part of staying here - the onsen! You can choose between the private and the public onsens - we chose the private one. It was AMAZING. Seriously, you almost tread respectfully around the place! There's a small stone area for washing up before entering the onsen and the onsen itself is a beautiful jacuzzi-like pool of HOT, almost scalding water.

We went in at night, so we could only hear the river. But, if you closed your eyes and just sat there in the onsen it's easy to become meditative. I was a bit uncomfortable with the very open side of the onsen room (kept imagining someone with telescopic lens hiding in the mountains on the other end) but, it's quite far away and I was submerged in the onsen anyway!

Back to the room, at around 10pm we had a couple of hotel helpers come in and lay our beds. They worked with great precision and professionalism. Didn't linger in the room for even a second more than needed. The beds are sooooo comfy (you have to sleep on the floor, btw, on the mattresses they give) and call it the effect of the very hot water onsen experience, the zero sound of vehicles or the gentle flow of the river behind us, I slept like I hadn't slept in a very very long time!

In the morning, when I opened our window I gasped, again! The view of the river is absolutely breathtaking! Spent quite some time just enjoying the view with my husband!

Now, to another specialty - the breakfast spread. A lovely lady gently invited us for our breakfast. So, we go into another room and there's this big table (the kind where you have to sit on the floor) with traditional Japanese dishes. We were like, how are we ever going to eat all this! We did and even had second helpings! The lady kindly explained every dish to us, demonstrated how to eat them, explained where they came from, how it was cooked, had a genuine conversation with us and politely left us to have our breakfast. It is an experience to remember!

Coming back to the bit about it being near the station - at one point we realized that it was almost time for our train. We checked out and ran with our luggage to the station and thankfully, we caught it just in time! We were so happy that we chose this hotel because it was so close to the station!

We loved staying here, everything about this hotel was amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash0092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Nice Japanese onsen experience, and dinner breakfast serve in your room, sleep on the tatami, Superb!! Travel with infant, and she love walking on the tatami..very good experience on the onsen, which you need to be fully naked ..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiihwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is great experience for Japanese Culture include their transitional ta-ta-mi, dining, living, bedroom combination within a small area. Bath culture and traditional food. Unlimited public bath and hot spring facility at 6th floor.

Room Tip: They do not provide baby cot, so if you travel with baby, please take note.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we wanted somewhere near the Train station and affordable. We were pleased with this place as it is 3 minutes walk across from station. Check in was swift and we booked a Japanese style room for some local experience. The dinner was ok but a bit early to start at 630pm. We also enjoyed the private onsen as it has an open air concept. Breakfast was also early at 8am but it was better. Overall, highly recommended for its value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benitachell
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel offers futon style sleeping in rather spacious rooms facing the river. Breakfast is served (rather early 7:30 or 8:00) in your room by a very friendly japanese lady. The table can hardly accomodate all she brings. You sit on the tatami mats, chairs have no legs and the bed is stowed away at daytime. The great thing of hotels in the area are the ONSEN (hot spas). The hotel has a communal one or you can avail of a smaller private ONSEN in the upper floor which costs about 20 US $ per 50 min. Great and relaxing experience. The Hakone Freepass allows to discover the area with a perfect system of buses, boats, ropeways and trains. The landscape is stunning. Yumoto is the entry point into the Hakone area: Perfect !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We've visited Hakone Suimeiso only for 1 night and regretted it was that short. From outside the hotel looks like concrete bloc:) but inside this is typical japanese ryokan. It's located few steps from Hakone-yumoto station, right at the river bank. Our room has beautuful river view.

The staff are exteremely nice and helpful making your stay real pleasure.

The meals are served in your rooms, which makes the whole stay great experience. We had a chance to taste various japanese dishes - served on a small plates, beautifully decorated. The dinner contained at least 12 dishes and it was more then enough to eat. The breakfest was served at 7:30 also in our room and again it was approx 10 dishes.

The hotel has its own hot spring bath and there's a possibility to use both public and private baths. We booked a private bath - which is outoor bath - and that was great experience, but also used the public ones - which are same quality.

The room was pretty big (as for japanese standard) and it was covered with tatami mats. The beds were japanese style - futons - but very comfortable. The yukatas that were provided made the total picture.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derodax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#7 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#27 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Kajikaso
Hotel Kajikaso
#49 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#8 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yoshiike Ryokan
Yoshiike Ryokan
#55 of 241 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Suimeiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Suimeiso

Property: Hakone Suimeiso
Address: 702 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 241 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakone Suimeiso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hakone Suimeiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing