We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restorative stay after climbing Mt. Fuji”
Review of Hakone Suimeiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hakone Suimeiso
Wolfville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A restorative stay after climbing Mt. Fuji”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were excited to stay at a more traditional ryokan after the spartan conditions of our mountain hut on Mt. Fuji the night before. The Hakone Suimeiso is fabulously located, a few blocks from the Hakone Yumoto train station. From check-in on, the staff were gracious and helpful. We were taken to our room--a good sized tatami room with a lovely view of the river--and a house keeper made us tea, explained the features of the hotel, and showed us how to put on our yukata robes. She even made a reservation for a private bath that evening. The bath was lovely--open air with a view of the river and the woods--and really reasonable (Y2000 for 50 minutes). We had kaiseki for both dinner and breakfast. Both were beautifully presented, with lots of tasty courses. The staff put out our futons after dinner and put them back before breakfast. Staying here was among my favorite experiences in Japan. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    68
    24
    21
    10
See reviews for
39
58
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Slightly confused by other people's negative reviews. Location is perfect. Just across the road from the train station. Our room was big enough. I can only imagine that some other rooms are smaller as I cannot see how room size could be a problem. We were on the 3rd floor facing a river, really relaxing. From the moment we walked in we had no problems whatsoever and we were greeted by the front desk staff very nicely. We didn't use the public onsen, we booked the private one and loved it so much that we booked again for the 2nd day. It was heaven and the price was more than reasonable. Our maid was an adorable lady that although she couldn't speak much english, she made every possible effort to explain about the room and everything else. Dinner is quite regimented, you can chose what time you want it served, our lady would bring evrething in, serve and explain what food would go with what and what everything was, at times, due to the language barrier, it wasn't so clear but it made it even more authentic and cute. One night we felt the food was perhaps too experimental and a strange combination of things but we didn't think it was a big deal and at the end of the day you have a shop outside if you really hate it so much. We enjoyed the whole experience.

Someone else comes in to prepare the bed for you. We found it really comfortable and slept really well.

It was peaceful, it was a great experience and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about Hakone was the stay at the local ryokan n the Onsen! I loved this traditional little japanese hotel n am so glad we managed to get a place there. The room was lovely n facing the river. The Japanese dinner n breakfast were incredible! Such a huge variety n definitely enough to satisfy all cravings. The sweet japanese lady was so polite n served us tea n desserts! She also helped us to take pictures together in the room. Really wanto say a great thank you to her! The fried fish for the breakfast was so yummy! After the dinner we got to do the Onsen which was wonderful after a long day out! It wasn't crowded n clean. Thanks for making our stay in Hakone a lovely n enjoyable stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angelis888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located across the road from the Hakone-Yumoto railway station. We received a very warm welcome. The hotel provides a spacious room with tatami mats and futons to sleep on. A choice of teas and a red bean bun are provided. We thoroughly enjoyed the traditional dinner and breakfast of local delicacies although we felt overwhelmed by the quantity of food. We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jandtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is conviently located close to the station and makes for a good base for visiting Hakone. The staff were happy to store our luggage after check out. The hotel is a little dated, but the rooms were clean although the futon was quite thin compared to other hotels. The food was served in our room, however the food was quite average. I think that the hotels around Hakone are generally overpriced compared to other areas. So for the price this is an average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

It might not be the best hotel in the area but we loved our stay here. The staff was very nice. We loved our Japanese style room. Lovely dinner served in the room. The location is great. The private onsen fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this ryokan SEPTEMBER-OCTOBER 2011. From the outside this ryokan looks like its from the communist-era and furnishings appear to date from 70-80s.

However I believe a traditional ryokan is supposed to be basic and minimalist. The rooms were small - the low eating table (which you sat on the floor to eat from) was removed each night and replaced with your tatami sleeping mats. The roar of the river outside was a little overwhelming but made up for by the view.

The private onsen on the roof of the hotel (you pay extra to use the private one over the communal hotel one) was very beautiful and looked out over the river.

Breakfast each morning was traditional, comprising various fish and egg dishes and served by a lovely old non-English speaking Japanese lady in your room.

Location was fantastic for doing the Hakone loop which takes you through Lake Ashii (with awesome views of Mount Fuji) and Owakudani sulphur fissures (with more great views of Mount Fuji. EVERYONE SHOULD DO THIS DAYTRIP!!!

Onsen/ryokan are expensive. This ryokan was in the middle and I think we got what we paid for.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
468 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Kajikaso
Hotel Kajikaso
#43 of 242 in Hakone-machi
131 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#22 of 242 in Hakone-machi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#9 of 242 in Hakone-machi
387 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
262 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#20 of 242 in Hakone-machi
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Suimeiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Suimeiso

Property: Hakone Suimeiso
Address: 702 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakone Suimeiso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hakone Suimeiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing