We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Reviewed 19 May 2013

March 16 2013 was my second stay at Hotel Green Plaza. Both times I have found it to be a highlight of a visit to Japan. (The photos at the website do it justice: http://www.hgp.co.jp/language/english/sp/) The Japanese-style room is spacious, with complete amenities, and the futons are very comfortable. The onsen is indoor and outdoor. Sipping saki as you watch the sun set behind Fuji- san while ensconced among the rocks in the steamy water is heaven. Some rooms have private Japanese baths. The meals were good. However, the service was absolutely amazing. We left to go on down the aerial cable from Ubako and had taken the boat to Hakone-machi before I realized I had left my wallet in the hotel room. We were booked on a train 2 hours later and couldn't go back to the hotel. I phoned the hotel in a panic. While I waited, a helpful person went up to the room and retrieved my wallet, and then arranged for someone to deliver it to me in Hakone-machi! About 25 minutes later, a young man arrived with my wallet. I was overwhelmed. He must have driven the winding roads very quickly down the mountain!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Culturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. My friends and I arrived on Christmas Day (2012) and we took the cable car rides and numerous trains up. We had the traditional Japanese Tatami rooms. The rooms were quite spacious and came with a small seating area. They had some yummy traditional Japanese snacks on the table when we arrived. The view from the room was average as we were facing the parking lots. We had advanced booking for Christmas dinner. 2 choices were given: Western(5-course) and Japanese (10-course). It was more towards a fine dining experience and the food was delicious. They had a special Christmas performance by the staff. Most of the guests were Japanese and the staff were Japanese-speaking so we could not understand what they were saying. However, it was still an enjoyable experience listening to the music and the action that was going around. The Japanese bathrobes are available in the rooms and along the corridor so you can just grab them when you are on your way to the onsen. The view from the female onsen was awesome. Go in the morning and you can see Mount Fuji from there.Fantastic view! When we left, the staff were helpful and called cabs for us as we were in a hurry to catch our train. They made it a point to inform the cab drivers about it and they drove down in such a high speed that we were so nervous throughout the entire ride. Thanks for the help of the staff that we made it on time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSH0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a full service resort with both Western and Japanese rooms. Our large Tatami Room consisted of a suite with sleeping area, eating area and entrance. It included large TV, refrigerator, clock, yukata, bath supplies and tea set. Room was very clean and all facilities worked well. WiFi only available in lobby. Lobby had piano bar and several shops.

Location very good - right by Ubako Ropeway station, BUT it stops at 5PM and if you are late, you need to deal with taking a bus, instead.

This is a onsen (Hot Spring) resort. The bath area has both indoor and outdoor bathing. The mineral water from the spring was quite warm and soothing.

Our plan included both dinner and breakfast served in the dining room overlooking the garden. Dinner was a part-Japanese and part-Continental cuisine and it was great. Breakfast was a Japanese/Western buffet.

You get a tremendous view of Mt. Fuji from the bath and our room IF... the weather cooperates. Unfortunately, it didn't that day.

Staff was extremely helpful. We got stranded 3 miles down the road in Togenai and they picked up up and rushed to get us into our room and into dinner. That level of service more than made up for some difficulties we had in travel.

This is a first rate Hot Spring Resort. It is expensive, but worth the experience for a night in the Hakone area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Fuji side are more money and spectacular, but only if the weather cooperates. Japan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w1sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Green Plaza Hakone for one night (March 31, 2013). Based on the reviews I really had high expectations. The reality was rather underwhelming (except for the price, which was most definitely overwhelming). But first, the good:

1 - By Japanese standards, the rooms are quite large. We had the "East-meets-West" room which offered actual beds with a raised traditional tatami area with a low table and seats.

2 - The staff is great.

3 - The on-site onsen is a pleasant way to relax after a day exploring Hakone. However, be careful leaning against the rocks as mineral formations have formed on the rocks where the water surface meets the air and the rocks can be extremely sharp.

4 - The location is fun. I must admit one of the draws for me was that we would arrive at the hotel via rope-way (a ski-lift). If you're looking to be in the heart of things, though, this is not the location for you. The weather was a bit dreary so we couldn't see Fuji-san, but things did clear up enough the next day to see the closer, shorter, mountains and it's quite beautiful.

Then there's the "not so" Bad.

1 - Everything is so dated. It was all quite functional, but the materials were well-worn. The bedspreads were of a durable material and such a dated pattern/style that they appeared as if they were from the 1980's or 1990's. The desk area was made of wood and had knicks and scratches along the edges. The carpeting in the room and in the common area hallways looked old and worn. The hotel still uses actual keys instead of key cards. But in a hotel with an onsen, it would have been nice to have a universal card (or even bracelet) that could be used to access your room, elevator, and onsen lockers.

2 - The breakfast buffet was so crowded that you had to wait to get in. And this was on a Monday morning. I can't imagine how bad it would be on a weekend.

3 - The bathroom. For a hotel room as large as this was (again, by Japanese standards), the bathroom was the same as you'd find in an urban business hotel. It was miniscule and dated.

4 - The towels you use in your bathroom are the same towels you must bring to the onsen. They really should have separate towels for the onsen.

Finally, the Ugly

There is just one thing to list here, and this is, by far, the biggest reason for the poor review. The cost to stay at this hotel is obscene. At 17,000 yen per person per night (about $180 per person), you can do MUCH better. With two of us in the room we paid over $380 for a room that looked and felt as if it were in the 1990's. I've spent $100 for rooms in major cities in Japan that were in better shape than this "resort" style hotel.

Yes, the room comes with dinner and breakfast. And both were quite tasty. But the dinner portions were tiny (see my photos of the meal, including the main course...but seriously, the main course came with a single peapod and a single piece of cauliflower the size of my thumbnail). The onsen was nice, but much smaller than you'd expect for a property of this size. The bathroom was tiny and borderline unpleasant.

There really was so much potential here. I've stayed in more hotels than I care to remember in my life and this is the only time I've ever left feeling ripped off. And it's not because it's a bad hotel (it's not). At $180 TOTAL (not per person), this review would most definitely take a different tone and have a higher score because there was value to be felt. But for $380 I expect at least a little bit of luxury. Unfortunately, there is nothing luxurious about this hotel.

Room Tip: My biggest tip to travelers to find a good room would be to stay elsewhere (at least until the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

To get straight to the point, the view, service and rooms were very nice. We took the bus from Hakone-Yumoto station (bus stop #1) to ubako bus stop, about a 45 minute ride, and then about a 3-minute walk to the hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very helpful doorman, free welcome drinks, and a quick check-in to our room. We reserved a Japanese style room with a view of Mount Fuji and enough space for about 4 layed-out futons. As some reviewers have mentioned here, the rooms aren't new in comparison to luxury hotels in major city centers, however, ours was very clean and well maintained. We personally enjoyed it as part of our experience at this traditional Japanese-style hotel. One thing I may add is the food here doesn't match up to quality standards of other hot springs resorts like such. We opted for the Japanese style 12-course meal. Unfortunately, the dishes seemed precooked or prepared before our arrival. What should have been fresh, hot dishes were cold or at room temperature. I think the waitress might have been aware of this, as she seemed rushed to take our dishes away the instant we finished them to just as quickly serve the next one. The abalone included in our course was fishy and the duck meat in the hot pot had a slight gamey smell to it. The presentation of the dishes were pleasing, though. Everything was colorfully displayed and looked very appetizing. Unfortunately, it snowed the December day we stayed so there was no Mt. Fuji view to be had. The snow, however, was nice to watch from the warmth of the hot spring baths. There were two small sized baths for each side women's and men's. One indoor and one outdoor. They might feel a bit crowded at peak times as many of the hotel guests are sharing these same baths. Otherwise, very nice. The water was set at a comfortable temperature to relax in for a while- not scalding hot, but not too low. Wifi is only available in the lobby near the check-in counter, but if you have a smartphone it may also be used to access the internet from anywhere in the hotel. Let me add, the breakfast buffet was very good and included many of the usual luxury hotel Eastern and Western favorites. Dinner was at the Hananowa restaurant and breakfast was at the Ramages, also both very nice (pictured on the hotel's website). Overall, this hotel was decent, and has a lot of potential. However, I would stay again only if we received a better deal than we did on the room price or plan. Oh, and also if the darn snow didn't block the view of Mt. Fuji!

Room Tip: Room #s 2301-2311 have a view from Mt. Fuji, are Japanese tatami-mat style, much nicer, and larger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yekoms e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

A Japanese friend of ours recommended this hotel to us during our trip to Japan last December. As we were finalizing our itinerary then, we tried to persuade him if we could skip the Hakone leg since we only had a few days to spare for this trip and we would then be adding this to our Tokyo and Kyoto leg. He wouldn't hear any of it so we included this in our final itinerary because of his persistence.

Thank God, we listened to him. HAKONE should be in one's must-visit place in our lifetime and Hotel Green Plaza definitely did not disappoint! The hotel itself is not new but the rooms are very clean and well-maintained. Our japanese-friend told us that this used to be exclusively catering to their members only until they decided to offer the hotel's services to the public.

Hotel Green Plaza is on top of a mountain and you can bask at the grandeur of Mt. Fuji from their viewing deck just outside their restaurant. If you're lucky, you will have Mt Fuji to your heart's content even as you're enjoying the 'onsen' with free-flowing sake on the women's onset! Mt Fuji is said to be very kind and gracious during winter and that's when me and my husband were there!

The hotel rate is a bit expensive but it's definitely worth every penny you spend! The rate comes with breakfast and dinner. The buffet breakfast was excellent. For dinner, we have to choose between French or Japanese food. Obviously, We opted for Japanese food and thank God we did! You have to inform them of your choice upon check-in including the time you would want to have these. Thank God, we opted for a Japanese-themed dinner during our 3-night stay there. They prepared a 'kaiseki' meal for us and it was one experience we will never forget. A kaiseki meal is a bit like a Michelin-starred meal: both will likely feature labor-intensive preparations, use the choicest ingredients depending on the season and would be a bit-pricey but the experience was truly priceless!

The hotel's location is very near the rope way so it was very convenient for us to check-out Hakone's beautiful sights. During winter, the rope way closes by 5pm so we planned our daily activities with this in mind. We were back in our hotel by 4pm just in time to enjoy the onsen and to to enjoy our dinner all dressed-up in kimonos which they provide.

We definitely recommend Hotel Green Plaza and Hakone in general! Can't wait to visit it again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LILODEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Saw Mt Fuji after breakfast, just walk out to the terrace outside the restaurant and there it was it all its spendour. Pros - Great place to stay in very convenient and near the ropeway stop with indoor and outdoor onsens.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Li_Zhiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#19 of 246 in Hakone-machi
267 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#37 of 246 in Hakone-machi
150 reviews
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
#27 of 246 in Hakone-machi
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Highland Hotel
Hakone Highland Hotel
#9 of 246 in Hakone-machi
261 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Palace Hotel Hakone
Palace Hotel Hakone
#23 of 246 in Hakone-machi
305 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#22 of 246 in Hakone-machi
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green Plaza Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green Plaza Hakone

Address: 1244-2 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 246 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £132 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Green Plaza Hakone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Green Plaza Hakone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing