We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time in Hakone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very clean and relaxing, staff were all very nice and just about everyone was fluent in in English. The room we selected had a private onsen which was very nice. The view from the onsen was obscured by the privacy fencing, however stepping onto the deck we had a very nice view, and at one point when the sky was particularly clear Mt. Fuji could be seen rising in the distance. The food was pretty decent, and overall staying here was a very nice break from the rest of the trip in Tokyo.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband & I wanted a real japanese ryokan experience with a certain degree of comfort.Apart from the advice about the local area from our cousins in Tokyo, we also checked up multiple sites for the perfect fit. we decided on Hotel green Plaza. It was indeed the most expensive night accomodation of our entire trip but worth it. we chose to ride up the hills by bus from Odawara junction and it was amazing view and at places the view of Mt Fuji was awesome. Location is great with multiple possibilities of transport. the japanese room with private onsen bath was the best feature and just what we wanted( as i as not too comfortable going to a public bath). We slept on tatami mats, very spacious rooms, with separate shower room, TV etc. The dinner was great, served in courses. The breakfast was ok. Unfortunately, it was clouded the next morning so we did not get a very good view of Mt Fuji. So we were a bit disappointed.

All in all, it was a rejuvenating experience and one of the highlights of our trip to Japan.

Room Tip: Japanese rooms with attached private onsen are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Located only 2 mins from Hakone's cable car network, Hotel Green Plaza proved to be a great choice. Add to that the warm, friendly and patient staff, this is a fantastic find. Add to that a beautiful sunrise view of Mt Fuji at the restaurant, and a beautiful sunset view of Mt Fuji from the hot springs, it was easily one of my best holiday accommodation choices.

Breakfast was great, with a decent international spread with an even better spread of Japanese breakfast munchies including perfectly poached eggs.

Definitely my first choice if I'm returning to Japan. I'll even make a trip to Hakone for it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Foodiegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From Odawara station by car, it's about an hour drive to Hotel Green Plaza. It is a nice drive up the winding roads of the mountain. You can take trains and ropeway as well, which offer leisurely and scenic views. The hotel is not in a 'central' area, but offers access to the ropeway, which you can take to trains/other ropeway lines. It is in a very peaceful area in the mountains, away from the town, where you can enjoy a nice outdoor onsen, taking in views of Mt. Fuji.

The hotel lobby is lovely and upon arrival, we were greeted with a welcome drink. The hotel staff are very helpful and professional. We saw a wedding taking place at the hotel that day, so there are banquet style rooms as well as a wedding planning office.

The hallways of the hotel feel a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. As we were travelling with older relatives that have knee problems and difficultly sitting on the floor on the Japanese seats, we requested for some chairs with legs which arrived promptly. The room comes with yukata, personal hand towel (to take to the onsen bath) and socks. The bath/shower in the bathroom is small, but we used the onsen bath, so that was not an issue.

The onsen is highly recommended! There is an indoor and outdoor bath. The outdoor bath offers a stunning view of Mt. Fuji, weather permitting. While we were there, it seemed like in the morning and around 5pm would be an ideal time to go to the baths (either the clouds burn out, or roll in and covers the view otherwise). For the women's bath, sake is offered outside during certain hours, while you enjoy soaking in the bath and the Mt. Fuji views. Unfortunately, the men's bath does not offer sake due to a prior incident, possibly involving a rowdy and drunk male. It is best to behave properly and respect others in the bathing area.

Right outside of the onsen entrance, there are massage therapists as well, you may book an appointment or walk in, first come first serve. They are professional and it was very relaxing after the bath!

The breakfast service was grand, they have everything from Japanese traditional items to Continental items, suitable for all. The dinner service is very nice as well, changing daily. Nice wine, beer and sake offerings including locally brewed ones.

The hotel has a garden that allows you to see Mt. Fuji on a clear day. The ropeway stop is just behind the hotel which allows you to go to the bottom where the lake is and it can go up the other way as well and it will take you to another ropeway you can transfer to go further down to the town. There are quite a few museums in that area, which you can go by car or taxi (Venetian glass museum, art museums, antique museums..etc)

A special place to relax and enjoy nature and the views.

Room Tip: A room with a Mt. Fuji view is 3000JPY extra. It is quite a stunning thing to look at when you wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Our expectations for this property were quite high, based on good reviews here so we booked a night here as a bit of a splurge in the middle of our three week Japan trip. It was the most expensive single night accommodation of our entire trip.

The journey to Hakone was very interesting and the location is great (right at the top of the gondola) but the hotel itself was a little dated and seemed reminiscent of a by-gone era. It didn't have the overall "wow factor" we were expecting, given the high cost. The room itself was comfortable and nicely decorated in dark wood tones and Japanese features. We were on the "basement" floor, the approach to which felt very basement-like, with painted concrete stairs etc. We had a private outdoor bath which was pleasant, but again, nothing outstanding. It seemed like they weren't trying very hard. For example, the outdoor (public) onsen fell short of the photos on the website as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in some time. The glass doors were a bit grotty, there were spider webs on the pillars, residue from the hot springs around the edges, and weeds in the adjacent garden (which overlooked Mt. Fuji, unfortunately not seen by us during our stay due to overcast weather). To us, it just looked like a periodic power washing and maintainance would have done wonders to spruce it up.

Despite these things that stuck out to us, it seemed like many Japanese couples and families were enjoying themselves tremendously so it's possible we were simply not able to appreciate the advantages of the hotel. The service staff at dinner did try very hard to serve and communicate with us and we appreciated their efforts to explain the food items and point out the sunset view of Mt. Fuji during dinner. We tried to enjoy the features and charming culture overall, including for example the self-playing piano in the lobby (Beatles songs on a loop) etc. The wifi was a little spotty, only available in the lobby.

I would look at alternative accommodation in the Hakone area if we were to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

March 16 2013 was my second stay at Hotel Green Plaza. Both times I have found it to be a highlight of a visit to Japan. (The photos at the website do it justice: http://www.hgp.co.jp/language/english/sp/) The Japanese-style room is spacious, with complete amenities, and the futons are very comfortable. The onsen is indoor and outdoor. Sipping saki as you watch the sun set behind Fuji- san while ensconced among the rocks in the steamy water is heaven. Some rooms have private Japanese baths. The meals were good. However, the service was absolutely amazing. We left to go on down the aerial cable from Ubako and had taken the boat to Hakone-machi before I realized I had left my wallet in the hotel room. We were booked on a train 2 hours later and couldn't go back to the hotel. I phoned the hotel in a panic. While I waited, a helpful person went up to the room and retrieved my wallet, and then arranged for someone to deliver it to me in Hakone-machi! About 25 minutes later, a young man arrived with my wallet. I was overwhelmed. He must have driven the winding roads very quickly down the mountain!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Culturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. My friends and I arrived on Christmas Day (2012) and we took the cable car rides and numerous trains up. We had the traditional Japanese Tatami rooms. The rooms were quite spacious and came with a small seating area. They had some yummy traditional Japanese snacks on the table when we arrived. The view from the room was average as we were facing the parking lots. We had advanced booking for Christmas dinner. 2 choices were given: Western(5-course) and Japanese (10-course). It was more towards a fine dining experience and the food was delicious. They had a special Christmas performance by the staff. Most of the guests were Japanese and the staff were Japanese-speaking so we could not understand what they were saying. However, it was still an enjoyable experience listening to the music and the action that was going around. The Japanese bathrobes are available in the rooms and along the corridor so you can just grab them when you are on your way to the onsen. The view from the female onsen was awesome. Go in the morning and you can see Mount Fuji from there.Fantastic view! When we left, the staff were helpful and called cabs for us as we were in a hurry to catch our train. They made it a point to inform the cab drivers about it and they drove down in such a high speed that we were so nervous throughout the entire ride. Thanks for the help of the staff that we made it on time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSH0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#23 of 244 in Hakone-machi
259 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
488 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#35 of 244 in Hakone-machi
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#7 of 244 in Hakone-machi
201 reviews
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
#30 of 244 in Hakone-machi
503 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Highland Hotel
Hakone Highland Hotel
#11 of 244 in Hakone-machi
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green Plaza Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green Plaza Hakone

Address: 1244-2 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £144 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Green Plaza Hakone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Green Plaza Hakone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing