We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope for a clear day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hope for a clear day”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is expensive. The only reason one would want to stay here is to gamble on the chance that the sky is clear and one can see Mt. Fuji from the onsen in the room. We got lucky and had two clear days with a great view of Mt. Fuji while we were in the onsen. It was worth it. The hotel itself is getting old, the internet does not work, but service is still great. It is nicely decorated with a nice garden around the hotel with a great view of Mt. Fuji. Of course there is also a public onsen where one can see Mt. Fuji on a clear day. We wore the yukata and haori (Japanese loungewear) to have the Shabu-shabu supper in the restaurant and it was fabulous. There were some very unique dishes and was quite an experience. Breakfast however was a little disappointing with limited selections. One thing to watch out for is getting back to the hotel at the end of the day. The ropeway stop running after 4 to 5 pm depending on the season and the cable-car stops running at around 7. After 8 pm, public bus service is only once an hour. So one really need to plan ahead so to where to go if you do not want to rack up more expensive taxi fare. The walk from the ropeway to the hotel using back alley is 2-3 minutes and about 4 minute from the bus stop via the main road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    163
    67
    13
    11
See reviews for
171
93
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We came by on 6 June and it was a rainy day. No Fuji and plenty of icy rain. However, thanks to its location we managed to travel up half of Hakone to reach Ubako station, where the station people asked us to call on our own (pay phone, just 100¥) to the hotel to send us a pick up.

The Fuji facing Japanese room is very nice, stocked with plenty of
Titbits that they replenish daily, and could be found in the hotel store.

Dinner was a great Kaiseki which we ate till we couldn't finish. The kids portion were nice as well, different for my 8yo and 4yo. Service by the waiter was impeccable and he was thoughtful and thorough in explaining to us each dish, in his halting English. He was delighted when my Mr praised him at the end for very good service!

Breakfast the next day was an extensive 4-5 tables of food. The simple square hokkaido bun is my favorite when paired with butter. A simple bun was soft, tasty, sweet and simply a flavor burst in the mouth. A must-try !

While we didn't get to see any Fuji, we had a great time in the Onsen, resting in the rooms and time passed way too fast.

The next day the entire free pass section was suspended and they arranged for us to Odawara by their own hotel transport.

I will return again :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank by_lish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, our luggage was quickly taken away from us and we were shown where to check in, complete with a nice welcome drink. Once checked in, we were escorted to the elevator along with our luggage. There wasn't enough room in the elevator for the person escorting us so he left the luggage in the elevator with us. To our surprise, when the elevator door opened, he was there, having just run up 3 floors to catch us. We went out of the hotel to do some more sightseeing and when returning, it was raining quite hard. When we got back to the hotel, we were greeted with towels to dry up. Service of the hotel staff was definitely quite exceptional!

The female outdoor onsen was very nice with a great view of Mt. Fuji (if you're lucky). They provide you with a lot of great products to try after you finish bathing, like facial creams / body lotions and hair treatments, and offer you free sanitized hair brushes if you forgot yours. There are also free foot and body massage machines in the area as well as refreshing tea after your hot bath.

Our room was roomy and we had 5 people sharing the Japanese style room. We were supposed to have a view of My. Fuji from there, but because of the clouds (even on a sunny day), we weren't able to, unfortunately.

The dinner meal was pretty good. The only thing I'd like to mention is that we felt quite rushed by the waiters because the food came out way too quickly. We would only be less than halfway through out first course and the second would already be put on the table for us, which made us rush to finish our first course so that we would have more room on the table. It would have been more enjoyable if the courses could be paced a little slower.

Breakfast the next morning was quite grand with a wide selection of both western and Japanese food. When they ran out of buns, we informed the waiter and when they restocked, they made sure to come back to let us know.

All in all, this was the priciest stay for our trip, but it was worth the experience in Japan and is actually one of the more affordable accommodations with great service. It takes a while to get to and is a little out of the way because it is only accessible by the ropeway, which closes around 5:15pm everyday, but they say that they can pick us up from certain areas if we give them a call.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Mt, Fuji boast exceptional views, if you're lucky that it is not covered on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tto218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pace yourself as a native: arrive mid-afternoon, go straight after check-in to the onsen (hot bath) after having carefully read the literature on onsen etiquette, use the outside hot bath even if it rains, go back to your room that should be japanese with tatami and futon), wait for the call from the restaurant that will advise that your traditional japanese 12/13 courses dinner (Kaiseki) is served, go to the restaurant room in yukata and yukata vest, drink sake with it, go straight back to your room as there is nothing to do around except some hill walk, but I suppose you will fall asleep very quickly. Wake up the following morning hoping you will have the view on Fuji-San, if you missed it in the previous evening when in the outdoor bath, but you need a bit of luck to have the clouds dissipated, go to the onsen again to become as clean as you certainly have never been before, go the breakfast room (up to 10.00am) for a solid buffet breakfast with western, japanese and chinese dishes). You can then continue on your journey in Japan after this very pleasant Japanese interlude. If you book easly (45 -60 days), rates can be very reasonable but an onsen + Kaiseki dinner night does not come cheap in Japan. Once in your life, why not?

Room Tip: Do not be afraid of booking the Japanese style room: sleeping on a tatami mat is really fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great experience overall. Yes it is not cheap, but it's an experience that's once in a lifetime. My daughter is still telling her friends how she went in an onsen NAKED in Japan! She was horrified and yet loved the experience at the same time. It's a "must-do" to soak in the hot water and look over at Mt Fuji. We were lucky to have woke up early and saw it clearly at 7:00am, but by 8:30 the clouds covered it and you could no longer see it. I have a feeling you need to rise early if you want a good glimpse of it. We opened the curtains early in our Japanese suite and drank tea while looking at this beautiful mountain. Then went down to soak in the onsen to see it again before going to the breakfast buffet. The buffet is okay, nothing special - better than the food in the lounge the night before! I didn't make dinner reservations and so we ordered a few items off the lounge menu, which was again, okay - the service was slow and we were the only ones in there all night! Very nice waiter, I think just maybe young & inexperienced. If you do go to the lounge, order the spaghetti, not the seafood curry! Other than that, a great stay and in a fantastic location. Take the ropeway down to the lake - things are not open down at the lake as of yet, but still neat to go for a walk if the weather is nice. Staff are wonderful at the hotel, love the welcome drinks & the piano playing in the lobby! I would stay here again!

Room Tip: The Japanese suite is a great experience, it's not a thin mat that you sleep on, it's 2 matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here one night as a special occasion. Our "Asian twin room" was about JPY40,000 for the night (ouch!), but it was delightful - especially the private onsen on the balcony with view of Mt Fuji. We made sure we arrived before sunset so that we would have an afternoon and morning chance of seeing Fujisan. It paid off, because the afternoon view was great, but the morning view was all clouded over.

The hotel is a little worn, and appearance doesn't really match the premium price. I don't think I would stay here for more than two days, as there's not a lot nearby, and the ropeway doesn't run late (in winter it finishes around 4pm!).

Our included dinner was excellent (one had seafood kaiseki, one had French multi-course). Unlike some other reviewers, I thought the quality of the breakfast food was poor, though plentiful.

We walked along a small pathway from Ubako ropeway station. (Make sure you take the exit door on the right at the bottom of the stairs from the arrival platform (coming down the mountain).)

If you're only staying a night or two, I'd suggest making life easier by shipping your luggage from your previous destination to your following destination. That way, you can do the whole Hakone/Fuji exploration without luggage hassles.

Room Tip: Asian Twin Room, definitely, because of decor and private onsen. On the Rakuten booking site this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Location
it's about 5 mins drive from the cable station and you probably won't need to go out again as you will be staying in the hotel to enjoy onsen (hot spring) and dinner in Japanese way. Shuttle bus service is free of charge but need to make reservation in advance.

Room
It's a western + japanese room with 2 single beds and tatami sleeping area. It's an interesting experience to sleep with a group of friends under 10C on Tatami!!
Size is big enough to fit all our backpacks (no need to bring huge luggage if Hakone is just one of the places to stay one to two night before going back to Tokyo).

Facilities
Onsen area is as good as expcted. We booked this hotel purely because for its stunning view overlooking the Mt. Fuji when enjoying hot spring under 5C in winter!!
Make sure you check in earlier and enjoy a sunset hot spring with this breathtaking view before dinner.

Our package comes with dinner and breakfast. The breakfast buffet offer reasonable choice of Jap and Western cusine, which we are quite happy with this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
466 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#23 of 242 in Hakone-machi
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
257 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
180 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#7 of 242 in Hakone-machi
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green Plaza Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green Plaza Hakone

Property: Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Address: 1244-2 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Green Plaza Hakone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Green Plaza Hakone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing