We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bath!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
591 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great Bath!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This Ryukan is just opposite the Hakone Highland hotel. So remember to ring the bell for the bus to stop!

I got a wonderful price for this, and booked with a Onsen attached room. The water was too hot for my liking and took a while in getteing myself into the tub! Otherwise, the room was small but clean. It has a sitting place with a heater under the table.

The package comes with a dinner and a breakfast menu. Typical Japanese meal which was fasinating!

Overall a good place to stay, but getting there can be a bit tricky.. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AChee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    70
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
83
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Firstly, this was our first and only experience of a ryokan and onsen style so those with more expertise may disagree with my review. It was very convenient from the bus stop ($1,000yen from the train station) to where they are located which is also a negative being so close to the road you could hear the cars drive by. This is my only complaint. Overall, everything else was absolutely wonderful. The staff had limited english but more than enough to accommodate your needs. I loved having our own private onsen in our room. It was wonderful because we traveled with a 2.5 year old and a 5 mth old. Try to pack light since traveling in Japan you are responsible getting luggage around.
We decided to try the public onsen as well and they are also very nice. They are separated for male and female. The breakfast was a very traditional and nice to experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location of this hotel is very easy to access. You can get there by bus from Hakone-Yumoto station. It's a Japanese style small ryokan with full facilities. Room is clean and comfortable. They offer private bath inside the room. The bath was great!. You can get to enjoy your bath anytime on the day as you wish with the peaceful surroundings. Foods are delicious too! Vending machines are available on each floor. You can also buy some souvenirs from the lobby. The staff are helpful and friendly but can speak very limited English. It was drizzling when I checked-out, the staff offered to wrap up our luggages to avoid getting wet. We felt so warm with such service. Thank you for the great service. Will definitely stay at this ryokan again during my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

From start to finish it was all smooth.Several emails were answered promptly and online website reservation easy with quick confirmation.When you get off the train at Odawara head to East exit and to bus stop #4 and take the T marked bus to Togendai and get at off at Highland Hotel bus stop. It will be displayed on the front LCD screen and announced also. Cross over the road and up the street 100m and its on your right. Check in was smooth, staff spoke OK English. Room was Japanese style, beds were comfortable and raised off the floor. TV provided but like all in Japan only in Japanese. We were lucky the Sumo wrestling champs were on so didnt really need the sound. The onsen baths were great with both an inside one and outside. The outside one was far too hot. Meals were included and very tasty and lots of it. You wont go hungry. All Japanese cuisine. Wait staff in restaurant were fabulous, very polite and courteous and spoke OK English. We were pleased to have eaten there. The only downside to the place is that you have to go down to the lobby to get the WI FI.
We would definately stay here again or even try one of the other Inchinoyu hotels in their chain if visiting Japan again.

Room Tip: Take the room / meals package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Located in Hakone-Yumoto hotspring area, this small ryokan located up the hill is an affordable choice with service and settings that is nothing compromising for the price tag. Staffs are friendly, meals are very rich and yummy and the rooms are a good mix of traditional ryokan designed with a modern touch. The in-room outdoor bath is amazing yet the public bath is also not to be missed. The surrounding is peaceful and adorable!

Only thing worth considering is transportation. Firstly, make sure u have enough time. Although it is directly accessible from Yumoto station by Tozan-bus and it is located right next to the bus stop, the ride took almost half an hour up of long and winding road up the hill. Therefore, it might not be the best choice if u are planning to stay for just 1 night like us (actually i should listen to my friends and stay in Hakone longer....) or you will not have enough time to visit around as it is not as fast and easy as i thought. Secondly, leave your baggage in Tokyo. Cos Tozan-bus, which means "bus for climbing up the hill" in japanese, is quite small and can be very full most of the times, it is really a bad idea to travel with more than 1 luggage with it! If u hv to travel with more than 1 bag, do pay for the baggage delivery to and from Yumoto station. U won't regret it! (I'm regretting now as we didn't.... :P)

Room Tip: Choose the Japanese Room with in-door bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Q-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Located in Hakone, the "hot springs" town, this ryokan is very traditional, and will give you a very relaxing stay.

My gf and I stayed there for 1 night. You need to go to Odawara via the train and switch to Hakone Tozan Railway from Odawara to Hakone. Then you need to take a bus for about 15 minutes into the town and get off at the right stop. The roads are narrow but the buses will have an audio alert for every stop so it's easy to follow as long as you carry a map with you (you can pick up the bus route map or pamphlet at the Hakone yumoto station).

The resort itself is very clean. The rooms/suites are large and comfortable. You sleep on the futon (tatami on the floor), which is perfectly fine.

The best part about this resort is that you can request for a suite with a private hot spring. That's what we did and why we chose this resort. The hot spring tub is like a balcony and it's completely private. It will fit 2 people with ease and its a very relaxing experience. Keep in mind you should really only be sitting in hot springs for 5-15minutes as a safety precaution.

The stay was around $230 CAD for a night, but it includes the dinner on the night you check-in and the breakfast the morning after.

Dinner: We went with a standard meal, which was more than enough. It was a hot pot with meat (beef and pork?) and vegetables as the main course. They serve rice, miso soup, eggs, tofu, and some other side dishes with it. You can also order drinks (beer, plum wine, etc.) but it costs extra. Overall, a very satisfying meal.

Breakfast: Traditional Japanese style breakfast, grilled mackerel, hardboiled egg (half hard boiled?), some vegetables, and some rice. They also have coffee and tea.

If you want a relaxing experience outside of the busyness of Tokyo, Hakone is the place to see and enjoy Japan's famous hot springs and this resort is one that you should consider (thumbs up for private hot springs!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed there for 1 night. Worth splurging for the private room with bath!
The room is impeccable with futon and a "kotatsu" - foot warmer table! Its an experience itself to stay here!
The stay usually comes with meals plan - I would suggest that you take it up as food places are located quite far and the meals served there are changed according to seasons! Was there during the Sakura viewing period and the meals there definitely add to the novelty of the season! Furthermore, its Japanese style food - so there can't be anything wrong with it :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joantym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Tounosawa Onsen
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Honkan
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Honkan
#15 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#20 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#10 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#11 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu

Property: Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu
Address: 940-2 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the entrance of Sengokuhara. Shinanoki Ichinoyu is accessible to Odawara,Izu and Gotenba. There are 2types of hot spring,the one is sulfureous spring and the other is alkaline plain spring. Moreover,We proudly provide you the beauty treatment. Please enjoy high quality"Ichinoyu Style" relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing