We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room & view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing room & view”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great room with a private open-air rock decorated bath. Very relax and nice. Food taste is average but very big potion. Hotel staff is friendly and nice. Environment here is fantastic. Good location will come back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Moon2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
44
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

i stumbled upon this place when I was frantically searching for a hot spring hotel that has an in-room private bath. A lot of them were really expensive. I booked for Shinanoki for $300 a night for two people, two meals included. It was a good deal comparing to other hotels with the same features.


We had a Japanese style room, it was simple but good enough. Our bath is simply amazing. It's a backyard facing private bath and drawing hot spring water. The location of the hotel is a bit far from the main train station but it's not necessarily a bad thing. We essentially took a trip half way around Hakone because of where it's situated. Hakone is so beautiful that we didn't mind the travel.


The only let down was the food. Not that it was bad, but it was just really mediocre compare to other food we've had in Japan that it could be one of our worst meals (without being really bad). Good thing I ordered lobster sashimi on the side, which was the only redeeming quality about the food.

I wish I could've stayed there longer than just one night, highly recommended if you want an affordable private bath in room option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rinalinali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Incredible ryokan experience. Extremely large room, tatami mats were actually comfortable. Located right near a bus stop. Interesting breakfast (we weren't sure what to do with all of it!). Very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful setting. Great customer service. Do stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovefortravel712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
610 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This Ryukan is just opposite the Hakone Highland hotel. So remember to ring the bell for the bus to stop!

I got a wonderful price for this, and booked with a Onsen attached room. The water was too hot for my liking and took a while in getteing myself into the tub! Otherwise, the room was small but clean. It has a sitting place with a heater under the table.

The package comes with a dinner and a breakfast menu. Typical Japanese meal which was fasinating!

Overall a good place to stay, but getting there can be a bit tricky.. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AChee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Firstly, this was our first and only experience of a ryokan and onsen style so those with more expertise may disagree with my review. It was very convenient from the bus stop ($1,000yen from the train station) to where they are located which is also a negative being so close to the road you could hear the cars drive by. This is my only complaint. Overall, everything else was absolutely wonderful. The staff had limited english but more than enough to accommodate your needs. I loved having our own private onsen in our room. It was wonderful because we traveled with a 2.5 year old and a 5 mth old. Try to pack light since traveling in Japan you are responsible getting luggage around.
We decided to try the public onsen as well and they are also very nice. They are separated for male and female. The breakfast was a very traditional and nice to experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location of this hotel is very easy to access. You can get there by bus from Hakone-Yumoto station. It's a Japanese style small ryokan with full facilities. Room is clean and comfortable. They offer private bath inside the room. The bath was great!. You can get to enjoy your bath anytime on the day as you wish with the peaceful surroundings. Foods are delicious too! Vending machines are available on each floor. You can also buy some souvenirs from the lobby. The staff are helpful and friendly but can speak very limited English. It was drizzling when I checked-out, the staff offered to wrap up our luggages to avoid getting wet. We felt so warm with such service. Thank you for the great service. Will definitely stay at this ryokan again during my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

From start to finish it was all smooth.Several emails were answered promptly and online website reservation easy with quick confirmation.When you get off the train at Odawara head to East exit and to bus stop #4 and take the T marked bus to Togendai and get at off at Highland Hotel bus stop. It will be displayed on the front LCD screen and announced also. Cross over the road and up the street 100m and its on your right. Check in was smooth, staff spoke OK English. Room was Japanese style, beds were comfortable and raised off the floor. TV provided but like all in Japan only in Japanese. We were lucky the Sumo wrestling champs were on so didnt really need the sound. The onsen baths were great with both an inside one and outside. The outside one was far too hot. Meals were included and very tasty and lots of it. You wont go hungry. All Japanese cuisine. Wait staff in restaurant were fabulous, very polite and courteous and spoke OK English. We were pleased to have eaten there. The only downside to the place is that you have to go down to the lobby to get the WI FI.
We would definately stay here again or even try one of the other Inchinoyu hotels in their chain if visiting Japan again.

Room Tip: Take the room / meals package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
466 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Honkan
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Honkan
#18 of 242 in Hakone-machi
320 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
180 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#23 of 242 in Hakone-machi
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu

Property: Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu
Address: 940-2 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the entrance of Sengokuhara. Shinanoki Ichinoyu is accessible to Odawara,Izu and Gotenba. There are 2types of hot spring,the one is sulfureous spring and the other is alkaline plain spring. Moreover,We proudly provide you the beauty treatment. Please enjoy high quality"Ichinoyu Style" relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing