We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience”
Review of Shunkoso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shunkoso
Ranked #229 of 256 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I am guessing that when organising our 12-day trip to Japan, our group leader's guiding principles were "cheap and cheerful" and "reasonably authentic Japanese experience." The Shunkoso was our second ryokan. It's located up a steep hill, within reasonable walking distance of the local station (you can also travel from the station by bus). Our family room was a fair size, but the bathroom was very small. The suite smelled of cigarette smoke (the smell was worst in the bathroom). The whole place was rather shabby and worn, but I quite liked the quirky lay-out of the rooms. It was a relief not to have to keep taking our shoes off in the main part of the inn! The highlight of our stay was the elegance of the presentation of the evening meals and the pleasant manner of the waiter. The dining room also featured a karaoke machine on a stage!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uranus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

I loved this place. It's very quaint!
The Ryokan is about a 10 minute walk to Hakone Station (downhill). You can catch a bus up the hill for 100 rps outside the tourist info office next to the station. The Ryokan is old but has lots of character. The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable although the place does have a bit of a musty smell (probably this would not be there in the winter we went during a very humid time)
There are 2 onsens, which are interchanged each day so that both genders have the chance to experience both.
They have a firefly watching area at night which is beautiful. The breakfast is a mix of Japanese and Western and is a buffet style. The best thing about this is the proximity to Tenzan Onsen - one of the best Onsens I've been to. We had Shabu shabu there - very good!
If you want to experience real Japan, do stay here. I stayed in a large hotel during my last visit to Hakone but the experience was no where near the same.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The ryokan was indecent, dirty, decadent and really expensive, we paid less at Hilton in Nagoya than here. During the night you can find big beatles trottelling in your room, the crew didn't wash the toilet that we find dirty as the previous guests left.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alessandrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

This traditional Japanese Ryokan is situated at about 15 minutes walk for Hakone station although there is a minibus that takes you there for 100 yen per person.

Their staff speak a little bit of English, so it is not diffcult to communicate. We booked this Ryokan through Japanese Guest houses. They are a bit slow to get back to you with availability but they give you lots of useful information and maps on how to get there.

The rooms are traditional tatami rooms (like straw type of carpet) and they are furnished with a japanse style type of low table and cushions on the side with back rests, they also have a well type of table were you can sit western style with your legs down (rather than crossed). You also get a wardrobe with hangers.

The room we stayed in also had a private bathroom.

This is an old building but the room in general, in particular the bathroom was not well kept, it was kind of worn and very outdated. The room was spacious and had a small TV with Japanese television only.

Overall, I would say staying in a Japanse Traditional Ryoka is an interesting experience but I wouldn't recommend any more than 1 or 2 nights as they are very uncomfortable. Because they buildings are old, they are not well heated so it does get quite cold. Also, you don't get a sofa or not even a normal chair, you have to sit on the floor and eat on the floor which is ok for a few minutes but it does get very uncomfortable after a while.

Also the beds are not available when you arrive, a maid comes and gets the futon, duvet pillows, etc out of a wardrobe and makes up your bed after dinner. It is not the kind of bed where you can sit and read or watch television as it is just a futon in the middle of the room with no back rest of any kind, so you can just lay on it to sleep.

I had never slept in a futon before and found it very hard and uncomfortable, it was like sleeping on the floor. In the morning my back was acking.

If you like camping, you will like staying in a Ryokan, if you value your confort, this is not the place for you.

The dinner provided by this Ryokan was excellent, it was Kaiseki type of food, lots of very small little plates with a selection of different foods, the food is really good value but if you are a difficult eater, you may prefer to eat somewhere else as you don't get a choice of the menu, you get what they have and some of the foods can be very strange to the Western palate, some of them 'unidentifiable' you didn't know if you were eating, fish or meat or a vegetable...

This Ryokan also has a natural spring. It is like a natural hot bath available for the guests of the Ryokan, that you share naked with lots of strangers of the same gender, not my cup of tea, really.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank marujilla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ベーちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Msdoraemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: 足の悪い人は下の階の利用をお勧めします。旅館の人は親切なので、相談しても良いかと思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ホビンソン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#12 of 256 in Hakone-machi
508 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 256 in Hakone-machi
308 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yoshiike Ryokan
Yoshiike Ryokan
#48 of 256 in Hakone-machi
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#4 of 256 in Hakone-machi
223 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Gora Onsen
Gora Tensui
Gora Tensui
#59 of 256 in Hakone-machi
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shunkoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shunkoso

Address: 554 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#169 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
Hotel Class:3 star — Shunkoso 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shunkoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shunkoso Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing