We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel/ryokan in beautiful hakone yumoto...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yoshiike Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yoshiike Ryokan
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel/ryokan in beautiful hakone yumoto...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

The loveliness of the Japanese gardens and the tranquility of the outdoor onsen at this hotel are enough to lure any world weary traveller. But on top of their wonderful facilities, the rooms themselves are stylish and classy ( garden view rooms are definitely the way to go )
My partner and I stayed in a western style twin room overlooking the glorious gardens. We opened our window at night to hear the water from the stream running through the gardens as well as the town river.
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants, preferring to walk into town but be warned! - most of the restaurants through Hakone Yumoto close by 7pm.
I write this now while overnighting at the famous Nara Hotel in Nara and honestly, even though both are pricey, the Yoshiike Ryokan wins as a splurge place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeiscolour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    92
    30
    20
    16
See reviews for
77
68
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Was pondering what to rate Yoshiike. For foreign visitors who are new to ryokan culture, want to enjoy it with locals speaking minimal English and having western understanding to help balance the experience, yes, it shall be 'Excellent'. For visitors who have been visiting ryokan and onsen, enjoying the famous and most respectable Jap service, then Yoshiike is just 'Good or Very Good'.

Booking process : We booked a Mountain View Tatami Room directly from Yoshiike's Jap site. The other languages were directed to JAPANiCAN, but we found that the prices in Jap site were cheaper, about 12% less for our room. The site also includes many more packages (eg. seasonal package, day-only onsen+meal) and other detail information like room price for different day of the week and clear walking directions with pictures (www.yoshiike.org/access/). Can be difficult booking directly from Jap site if you don't know Jap characters or Kanji, or even after translation using Google or Bing. It is a 3 step booking process with the 2nd step sent via an auto generated email (also in Jap). You then need to click on the link in the email to generate a reservation code and wait patiently for final email confirmation. If you click the link twice, it will generate 2 reservation codes and you are expected to pay for it! If you don't click the link, booking is not completed and you may arrive without a room reserved. In our case, no payment needed until we check-out, but some packages may need advance payment with more online steps. We emailed Yoshiike some questions and they replied well in English the next working day.

Room : We booked for 1 night in Jan. Figured all leaves were gone and all buds still waiting to bloom in winter, so no point looking at a bare garden. We were given the highest 6th floor with a not-too-bad mountain view room. Spacious and clean with large windows. Lighting is '60-70s style and does make the room look tired. We usually just convince ourselves it is part of the rustic and traditional experience. Their 2 big fabric arm chairs near the windows are the most comfortable chair we had ever sat on! It felt like a day bed made of futon and hugged you comfortably. Had nice nap on it after our onsen visits. There is a safe, big enough to keep 11" notebook and SLR camera. The fridge filled with drinks and beer (chargeable). Hot water and tea are complimentary. We had a good stroll in the beautifully maintained garden while waiting for our checkin at 2pm. No doubt, one MUST book the Garden View room during spring and autumn, but we are happy with Mountain View room in winter.

Onsen : The most valuable asset of Yoshiike is their 5 onsen - 1indoor+1outdoor for men; 1indoor+1outdoor for women; 1 private indoor onsen. With 2 outdoor onsen available separately for men and women, it means everyone in your company can go fully enjoy their respective onsen at the same time. Some ryokan rotates 1 outdoor onsen beween men and women on different day or time. For women, the outdoor onsen is directly linked to the indoor onsen. Unfortunately for men, the outdoor and indoor onsen are separate. That means you need to go to the indoor onsen first to bath and go to the outdoor later. We visited onsen 3 times during our 1 night stay : after checkin, after dinner, and after breakfast before checkout. We never use the bath in our room (yes, no shades or curtains in the bath but it's really just facing the mountain). In the indoor onsen, there is always a bathing area with all the amenities (shampoo, conditional, shower gel, facial cleanser, shaving cream, shaver, etc) where everyone is supposed to clean themselves before stepping into the onsen. After onsen when you return to the dressing area, there are facial cream, body lotion, hair dryer and other amenities to beautify yourself. For couples or family, it's nice to try out the private indoor onsen together, or use it if you are shy. There are English instructions in Yoshiike if you want to know what to do. At the exit (also the entrance) of all the 5 onsen, there is a common area where you can sit, drink tea (complimentary) and wait for your company. This is also where the small lockers are so you can store valuables (eg. room key, phone) before proceeding into the onsen. Unlike most of other ryokans we visited, you need to bring the big and small towels from your room to the onsen, and then return to the room again. If you plan to use onsen often, ask for a room in the block nearest to the onsen, else it could be a long walk (in Yukata and slippers with towels on hand!). On the other hand, it will also be the furthest from lobby. Take note that checkout time is 10am. After that it cost 5000yen for 1 hr! Plan the time properly if you want breakfast and onsen in a short morning, or you can always add a day-only onsen+meal package which cost 4000-6000yen pp depending on the meal you select.

Meals : Many have been said about the wonderful Kaiseki cuisine in TA. Just want to add that the meal will come on-time. That means, if you change the timing last minute, whether later or earlier, it will cause some trouble to their process but they will try their best. The nice lady tried to name the ingredients and always gave us heads-up what is next step, eg. what is serving next, how to get the plates cleared, when to sent someone to lay the futon or store the futon in the morning.

Location : We actually chose to stay in Hakone-Yumoto first before we choose Yoshiike, since it is the shortest time (and cheaper route) from Tokyo for a proper ryokan and onsen visit. Took 8.43am Express train from Shinjuku Odakyu Rail and reached around 10.30am, total 1150yen pp. Take Odawara Line to Odawara station, then change to Hakone-Tozan Line to Hakone-Yumoto station. There is a Tourist Information Centre opposite the station next to the bus stops incase you need help on directions and map. Did a little shopping and walk around for 1.5hr, mostly local food and specialties, had lunch then went to checkin at 1:30pm. Yoshiike is just at the end of the shopping street. Can reach in 7 min without shopping, though the interesting shops will temp you to stop. There is a convenience store 7-11 near the end of the street. The street actually continues for cars, just no more shops to visit anymore. Turn left into a side charming street that leads to a short red color bridge. You will see Yoshiike almost immediately a few steps after crossing the bridge. There is an authentic looking restaurant on the left side after the short bridge, popular among locals and good to try lunch there. If you have time, exlpore further up along the road after Yoshiike. The river is marvellous and the charming scenery is worth the up-hill walk.

Service : Everyone is professional, helpful when approached and always smiling - from the man who check us in, the lady who led us to the room, explained the layout of the ryokan and onsen, suggested different sizes of Yukata to us, another lady who laid our tables during dinner and breakfast, the man who expertly laid and stored our futons, the onsen care takers who offered us a glass of cold o-cha, to the young man who ran out of the door on his own will to take a picture for us when we left (nice touch at the end!).

Due to limited time, we can't go further up into Hakone for better ryokan and onsen. Still, no regrets choosing Yoshiike. A fabulous time enjoying the sumptuous dinner and relaxing in the beautiful outdoor onsen. What Yoshiike short of is the unique passion and missing that extra mile which is commonly found in top ryokans. Those looking for fresh and modern room will be disappointed too though you can also consider their western style room (might not include in-room dinning experience). The garden will be the WOW factor when in season. Strongly recommend Yoshiike for foreign visitors who want to try ryokan and onsen. Pls do read up on ryokan culture and onsen etiquette first. It is not easy to find English speaking traditional ryokan and Yoshiike offers good balance experience overall in easy-reached Hakone-Yumoto.

Room Tip: Definitely book a Garden View room during spring and autumn. Rooms near lobby will be far from onsen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank PoppyJn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

It's been more than 5 years when my husband and I lugged our bags straight from Narita Airport, boarded the Romancecar from Shinjuku as we made our way to Hakone. Back then in Apr 2007, after more than 23 years since my first visit to Japan, I did not know what to expect. I was enthralled by scenes of cherry blossoms and the rugged mountainous region as we left Tokyo behind us. When we arrived at a Hakone, I though the holiday was doomed cos everything was in Japanese and Yoshiike's staff couldn't explain the directions in English on how to get there from Yumoto station. Help came from an English speaking young Japanese couple and it was a short walk with some trepidation after the disappointing start. However when we arrived, the sight of the charming ryokan that greeted us started to make us feel better. The welcoming drinks were a pleasant touch. When we were shown our room, I was really taken by it, with its tatami flooring and everything typically Japanese. The room was divided in 3 parts, the main living area, the bedroom n the sitting area. The last was my favorite as it opened up to a spectacular view of a vast, beautiful, sprawling n well kept garden, with one side of a mountain looming up behind it. It was such a feast for the senses that till today, I can still recall it. The meals that we had was another out of this world experience - we were so full cos we don't know how many courses we would be served. And each course was so beautifully prepared, we felt it would be rude if we didn't finish what was served. And staying at yoshiike was a lovely way for a newbie to be introduced to an onsen. And soaking in the outdoor onsen with a view of the mountain was truly a relaxing experience. I was most reluctant to leave after 3 days cos I just could not have enough of the ryokan experience. Becos of Yoshiike, that will be my yardstick for all other ryokans. In my eyes, it will be a tall order for other ryokans to match - fr service, to food to hospitality. I travelled to Tokyo in Dec 2012, and wanted to recapture thy experience with my daughter. Alas the ryokan was fully booked.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Initially I thought~ paying jpy35,700 for a night for 2 (with 2 meals included) was considered expensive, however, ended up I think it's totally worth it. It's really a 7 min walk from yumoto-hakone train station and it's not hard to find. The hotel looked a bit old initially, but after I have realized it's a hundred years old then I would considered it's well kept. The meals were great, the onsen-s were nice. It's really like the photos you see online in its official website! I've managed to take a walk in the garden in the morning and you can tell they've put thought and energy to keep the garden so clean, the trees were well trimmed and organized. Great service provided also. Inside the women's change room they have hang a poster with instruction ~ procedure to use the onsen. (It's useful for first timer.) I'll definitely recommend Yoshiike to anyone travelling to Hakone.

Room Tip: Garden view room is jpy1,000 more expensive than mountain view room~ for a reason, I think it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertiHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

WOW! My first trip to Japan and spent a night in true Japanese hospitality. Took the Shinkansen Bullet Train from Tokyo. Barely a 30min ride and another 10mins in the taxi and we were transported to a world away from Sydney, my home. Enjoyed the onsen (bath) in the evening. I was with six Japanese hosts and boy did I shed my inhibitions immediately! Being starkers with many other men was a first for me. Lovely rooms, amazing toilets....seat lifted when you opened the door and was my first heated toilet seat. Great showers. Lovely twin beds with a nice view over the Japanese Gardens and stream. A delightful dinner & breakfast in true Japanese style with waitresses dressed in traditional kimonos serving us. One night was not enough and am determined to go back with my wife for a longer stay at this Ryokan and to Japan in general.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor appeared to have been recently re-furbished and nice views of the hillside, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerardlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

I stayed for two nights in May 2011 before going on to Kyoto. My lasting impressions of the Yoshiike are the great onsen - particularly the outdoor one - the wonderful food and most of all the helpful staff, who made an effort to speak English and were very tolerant of the clumsy foreigner in their midst!

On checking it I was shown to the traditional tatami room, which also has a more western table-and-chairs earlier where one can eat if kneeling on the tatami is not your thing. I was shown where the onsen were, served Japanese tea and sweets and offered a choice of times to have dinner. After a bath (reading up on onsen etiquette in advance will only enhance the experience) one of the best meals I've ever had was served. This is full-on kaiseikei cuisine, with some elements that are challenging to the western palate; but all was fresh, full of flavour and beautifully presented.

I would definitely recommend the Yoshiike. Parts of the decor are a little faded and translating some of the signage around the hotel into English are very minor improvements that could be made. A ryokan stay is a very pleasant culture shock that should form a part of any Japanese holiday if possible.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmetcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is an excellent ryokan - great food, beautiful garden and onsen, wonderful service. There were five of us and we were given a (by Japanese measures) huge room (two connecting bedrooms, two balconies, one bathroom). It is true the rooms were quite old, but well preserved and clean. Both balconies faced the garden (which is absolutely lovely by the way).

The food was good, traditional kaiseki ryori served in your room. You can choose a time slot for dinner as well as breakfast, and it was served very punctually. The staff did not seem to speak much English, but that was not a problem for us. Everyone we met were very welcoming and professional.
The location is very convenient for travelling to/from Tokyo (~7 minutes walk to the train station in Hakone-Yumoto), but still far enough from the town centre to be perfectly peaceful and quiet.

All in all a wonderful, relaxing stay - the perfect treat after a day of hiking/sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#18 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#19 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Kajikaso
Hotel Kajikaso
#43 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Kowakidani Onsen
Mikawaya Ryokan
Mikawaya Ryokan
#31 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Kijitei Hoeiso
Kijitei Hoeiso
#37 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoshiike Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoshiike Ryokan

Property: Yoshiike Ryokan
Address: 597 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0311 , Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Yoshiike Ryokan 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Rakuten and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yoshiike Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoshiike Ryokan Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing