We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ryokan at Hakone”
Review of Hotel Okada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Hotel Okada
Kozunomori, Chiba, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Ryokan at Hakone”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Had a great stay at Okada Hotel a Hakone with my family. Hotel is well maintain. We took the main wing building. Room was clean and fresh. hotel has it own onsen/hot spring. Or you can pay extra to visit Yunosato Onsen next to hotel. Hotel onsen was clean and large. Dinner and breakfast buffet with great selection and chocie. Freshly cook yakiniku and tempura by chef during dinner. Staffs were friendly and understand English. Free Wifi only at lobby location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    118
    61
    20
    14
See reviews for
114
58
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I went to Hakone several days ago..and because I went there with my family,so I need the comfortable room and also easy transportation from station.Okada hotel was quite expensive..cause it depends on how many person will stay in your room.By odakyu train we went to Hakone Yumoto,and from the station we went downstairs to find bus to the hotel.We must pay 100 yen/person.Hotel Okada was quite old hotel..we had booked japanese style..and we were excited with the interior design here..
They had managed time for our dinner..so when we went to have dinner,they prepared our tatami..so nice.Dinner was so great...with variety foods..and many people use yukata here..it's nice to see..
The onsen was so nice too..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Recently came back from the trip to Hakone. Hotel Okada has great (if somewhat dated) facilities. The Japanese style room was quite interesting. The onsen hot springs was a great experience and the dinner and breakfast buffet also has a great selection of food. However, to get to (and conversely from) the hotel you must take a shuttle bus from the Hakone Yumoto Station so expect to wait some time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeisureToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Travelling with (Japanese) wife and 2 teenage daughters we needed a really nice hotel with onsen and food for a base to do a 2 day tour of the area using a Hakone Free Pass.

We lanede at Narita at 09:45, took the 10:40 Narita Express to Tokyo, the 12:20 Shinkansen to Odawara then a 20 min train to Hakoe - arriving about 1.30pm We put our bags in a locker at Hakone Yumoto station and went straight on a tour to the cablecar & ropeway before dark. We returned to the hotel about 6pm

Room was ready and was excellent set of Tatami rooms. Bathroom was a bit tired but we never used it as we took advantage of the hotel Onsens (indoor and outdoor - quite nice - uncrowded when we returned from our Hakone trip at 6pm. We spent 1hr in the onsen followed by a Kaiseki style meal in the room at 8pm then sleep!

Next morning - before breakfast - we used the more traditional onsen, associated with the hotel but a 5 min walk away in a different building, which had a wider variety of pools / baths

Breakfast was a large buffet or many styles of food on the 7th floor "sky room". Views were excellent.

After breakfast we checked out and embarked on our second day in Hakone including the "Galleon Ride" before heading back towards Tokyo.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms. We got 1108 on the 11th floor. nice view of teh mountain / foliage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Just came back from the ryokan trip. It is much better than what I expect with the low price of only 9900yen/pax (booked from Odakyu web). This is my first time experiencing ryokan but it was much more comfortable and enjoyable than I foresee with such a steal.

Transport takes a little effort from Hakone-Yumoto station and a 100yen coin to board whenever to or from the ryokan. The trip to hotel only takes less than 5 minutes and rest assured that you won't be lost as the bus driver will name out every station it's going to stop. Okada ryokan is easy to identify and the driver is friendly and helpful. =)

We were welcomed by the ryokan staff. However, there will be a slight little problem with non-Japanese speaking visitors as the staff only speak and understand very basic English. The pro is that the staff still try their best to express themselves and make you comfortable throughout the stay. (I speak basic Japanese though)

Proceeding to our room, it was much larger than we expect in fact quite spacious (can run around the room bare footed on the smooth tatami). Our room is facing half facing the scenaries but it doesn't really bother us. The room is naturally fragrant with tatami smell and extremely comfortable and clean that we just lay down on the tatami itself. TV, water heater and fridge are available too.

Dinner was great! Everything is nicely prepared and exactly presented like a typical kaiseki (ryokan dinner). Sashimi may be a little disappointment (only 1 small dish) as it wasn't fresh and kinda bloody. Personally I only eat raw salmon and ika and quite critical about seafood freshness. It should be alright if you like raw tuna. The rest of the food is more than enough to eat and very delicious. An experience and taste that you can never experience anywhere else except Japan.

The smell in Hakone is unique and the weather is cool. A pair of complementary onsen tickets (Yu no Sato) were given to us as we booked the ryokan and I would really recommend to all! There are many onsen with the open air to the scenery views. Inside the onsen, branded moisturiser and other facial products are generously provided for your own needs. The onsen are very clean.

Foot and body massages are available for free usage in the ryokan. By machine.

Breakfast was okay and normal. There are no restaurant near the ryokan and the hotel cafe is closed on Thursday.

For Romance car+Hakone pass, I would recommend anyone to buy at Shinjuku station in case you miss the train you're going to board (if you are going your first day). Price is the same as you book from Odakyu as they are of the same company. Romance car can save up to 30min or more during travelling. There are plenty of space available so please don't worry about no seats.

Overall the stay is very comfortable! I would highly recommend this to cheaper valuable and traditional ryokan-wanna-experiencer!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uglybutadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is the first time we are staying in a ryokan. Many new experiences to look forward to like kaiseki dinner, onsen, sleeping on the floor. Paid 56000 Yen for a package from Odakyu that includes RomanceCar tickets and Hakone freepasses.

Access -- Take comfortable RomanceCar train from Shinjuku station. Ride from Tokyo about 1.5 - 2 hours. Once reached Hakone Yumoto station, you can either deposit your luggage at the station or have it delivered to the hotel for a fee. From the station, take a shuttle from opposite the station. Pay 100 yen per adult for a short 5 minutes ride. I think this one is better than to take the publick Hakone bus which is free with the Hakone free pass.

Room -- Was a bit disappointed because it looked old and color a bit faded. Furniture is also a bit old looking. TV is small and no English channels. Sleeping on futon was an experience. Was expecting to feel aches in the morning but didn't. Perhaps slept very well after the onsen treat hte night before. Toilet is small but useable. Room isn't very big but enough for 4 persons to walk around.

Meals -- Breakfast is buffet style in restaurant. Nothing to shout about. Typical fare. Dinner is Kaiseki style served in room. The lady server is very helpful and explain things in her limited English. Many dishes served. Was looking forward to the fresh sashimi but ended up rather disappointed. Fish was big chunk and very tough to chew. Felt too raw even with the wasabi and soy sauce. Other dishses depend on your taste. I finished only about half the dishes I think.

Onsen -- This is first time dipping naked in public pool. Embarrassing at first but the enjoyment of the warm water more than made up for it. Great to relax. There is a foot bath one to start with. Inside hotel, there is a big indoor bath. Nothing special there. Take a short 3-5 minute stroll to the hot bath themepark next door. More enjoyable there to try the different styles outdoor. Cold but very enjoyable and relaxing. A good night sleep will surely follow.

Overall, a good place to try Ryokan for first timers. But don't expect too much especially the room and food.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newpc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

There are several kinds of spa and they are pretty neat. Bathing in the moonlight is incredible and it’s quite an experience when you’re lucky to watch the snow fall being in the open-air hot spring.
On the other hand, if you expect a delicious Japanese dinner there, the chances are good that you’d be dissapointed. The deep fried veggies and sashimi are dried as if the dishes were left uncovered for a while and the unidentified appetizers are just gross. This hotel is comparatively inexpensive but some would find it’s not worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babo182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
466 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#22 of 242 in Hakone-machi
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
#32 of 242 in Hakone-machi
361 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#7 of 242 in Hakone-machi
143 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#18 of 242 in Hakone-machi
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okada

Property: Hotel Okada
Address: 191 Yumotochaya, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0312, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Okada 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okada Hotel Hakone Machi
Onsen Hotel Okada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing