We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another MUST see”

Little Prince Museum
Ranked #9 of 101 things to do in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another MUST see”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Enter by walking up an Italian street complete with a little Chapel. The Little Prince story is not really a childrens story, but one for adults and the museum which you walk through, has re-created the life of the writer. The attention to detail is superb and I highly recommend putting this on your agenda.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank birchwoodfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    165
    81
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fantastic museum.”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We could stay only for a few hours, but we want to return to the museum again and spend a whole day there. Don't miss it. The exhibits and gardens, church and theater are outstanding and the story itself and the life of its author extraordinarily well illustrated in detail. From the entrance it is an exciting fantasy world like a small Disneyland, but not at all commercialized. The entrance cost was like going to the movies. So many serious young fans were there. The museum shop has great books, two of which we bought.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adorable and informative”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I am a fan of the Little Prince book, so this museum was perfect. They do nighttime winter illuminations in Dec/Jan timeframe, which I wish I could have seen. The park feels a bit minimalist on a winter's day, but if it is snowing that will add to the charm. There is an entire indoor museum where you learn about the life of St. Exupery, the author.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lalachan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't know The Prince was in Hakone”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The museum was a quaint replica of old France, complete with music. I enjoyed walking thro the museum n learning abt the life of the author.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Asz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasto, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Le Petit Prince landed in Japan it seems”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Le Petit Prince, The Little Prince, Hoshi no Ouji-sama... no matter how Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's masterpiece is title in your language: this is the one and only true museum devoted to it in the whole World. Japanese people seem seem to love the book just as I do, and if you're like us you can't miss this place. While the whole area has been delightful designed and constructed (and recently renewed, it seems) to match and arise the feeling of a French town ad the time of the author, inside the museum you'll get to see unique collection pieces such as the original diary papers on whom Saint-Exupéry originally sketched his work while stuck in the middle of the desert. Again, this is a must-see place for any Little Prince fan, lover and connoisseur. And the whole Hakone area won't disappoint you as well, with a lot of naturalistic beauties and traditional hot-spring places.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gualtiero-Shito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Prince Museum also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Little Prince Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing