We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Japanese Ryokan Experience”
Review of Matsuzakaya Honten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matsuzakaya Honten
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a fantastic property that is very representative of what a good, old, traditional Japanese Ryokan should offer. The staff were very helpful and there was always someone around who spoke English so there was no mis-communication. Although we could not have breakfast (bit late start at 8am), the dinner we had the night we stayed was amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal Room with a private onsen and foot soak bath. If you can afford it, I defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

I really want to give this place more than a two rating but a three seems to be too much...

3 of us traveled to the Hakone region to see Mt Fuiji, we decided to stay overnight in a Ryokan. We choose this one and I think we made a mistake. The place itself was nice enough, although we experienced several disappointments. The directions to get there were good; we traveled by bus from Odawara station, the number 5 dropped us off exactly where we wanted to be, good start no problems. However I think our first setback was maybe the location itself, it felt isolated, stuck out in the middle of nowhere. There didn’t seem to be any walking paths nearby to have a little hike or any notable beauty spots worth seeing (I could be wrong about this worth checking), so we were stayed inside for the duration. Our booking was for 1 night. Inside the Rayokan itself it was fairly decent, traditional, which was exactly what we wanted, the staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. Our room, which we shared, was ok but nothing special, very basic, furniture was plain and inexpensive looking. In truth we were actually expecting individual rooms as opposed to one shared space and that was a surprise for us. The website* where we booked the accommodation wasn’t very clear in this aspect, and could have done a much better job of explaining the sleeping arrangements. Had we of known in advance about the sleeping situation we might have been ok about it, but in truth for the price we each paid, to quote one of my friends, “I think we were ripped off "(edited)!

One of the first things we did after putting our bags down was jump in the Onsen, and unfortunately again I’ve got to say it, this was another disappointment. It just wasn't very attractive inside; very basic, no views and we couldn't help feeling that there were better alternatives elsewhere. Thankfully for dinner things got better, this was the highlight of our stay. A full 13 courses beautifully presented and really delicious, this really lifted our spirits. I’m pretty sure the chef has won awards; the food is probably where the money is being spent!

In conclusion, very expensive, at a cheaper rate this place might be ok but for the price for sure there are better options. My advice is to do your research carefully, make sure you see lots of pictures of the place you want to stay and book well in advance because the best Rayokan book out quickly.

*Note the website in question has recently had an upgrade (last few weeks), looks to be a lot clearer now – too late for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 9ma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KATY_MK_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depot_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 料理を期待しなければいい宿です。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takano151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 内風呂か露天風呂付きのお部屋をお薦めします。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tachupiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Kowakidani Onsen
Mikawaya Ryokan
Mikawaya Ryokan
#39 of 254 in Hakone-machi
173 reviews
Ashinoko Onsen
Yoshimatsu
Yoshimatsu
#27 of 254 in Hakone-machi
85 reviews
Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
#63 of 254 in Hakone-machi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanagokoro
#186 of 254 in Hakone-machi
22 reviews
Ashinoyu Onsen
Kinokuniya Ryokan
Kinokuniya Ryokan
#67 of 254 in Hakone-machi
88 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yaeikan
Yaeikan
#68 of 254 in Hakone-machi
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsuzakaya Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsuzakaya Honten

Address: 55 Ashinoyu, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0523, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Ashinoyu Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 254 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £304 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Rakuten and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matsuzakaya Honten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing