We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emperor's famous curry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fujiya

The Fujiya
Ranked #4 of 416 Restaurants in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This restaurant is housed in a Registered Tangible Cultural Property that was built in 1930, where diners may enjoy richly traditional French cuisine as they admire the paintings and carvings on the coffered ceiling. ■Breakfast■ 7:30 am to 9:30 am (last orders) ■Lunch■ Weekdays: 11:30 am to 2:00 pm (last orders) Weekends and public holidays: 11:30 am to 2:30 pm (last orders) * Reservations are accepted for dining at 11:30 am or 1:30 pm. ■Dinner■ 5:45 pm to 8:30 pm (last orders) [Reservations required] * Reservations are accepted for dining at 5:45 pm or 8:00 pm.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Emperor's famous curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had the famous curry that the Emperor ate, served only at lunch. This is the beef curry, which definitely had a complexity to it that differs from Go-go Curry or Coco Curry. Still, it cost us 70,000 yen for two including drinks. Each curry is about 25,000 yen. They also have a set lunch menu where you can get soup, curry, dessert, and tea for 40,000 yen.

We ordered the beef curry and the pork cutlet curry. The beef curry is the "famous" curry, and it tastes differently from the pork cutlet curry, so get the beef curry. The Fujiya Hotel is fancy with tablecloth service, so dress appropriately. Also, I recommend you make a reservation because though there are plenty of tables, we were seated at one of the best tables in the restaurant with a view of the mountains.

It was good, but expensive, so knocking down a star for price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    48
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Slightly faded grand old dame”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We got the foreigner special--they give you a room online (I think only out of peak season) at a rate pegged to the age of the hotel. The rooms are not that great, slightly shabby by now. But the price is excellent and they are clean and neat. Large size and the location is good. Splurge and eat in the French dining room which is very splendid. If the other (non-foreign special) rooms are similar, then the rest of the hotel must also be very nice. In general, this hotel could really be something with a large infusion of cash to update it. Be sure to take some time to visit the gardens outside which are lovely. The swimming pool and hot tub is also pleasant, if you don't want to try the traditional Japanese hot springs (and my kids were reluctant to see other naked people!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smith294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The service and meal were very good and the restaurant takes one back in time. The ceiling in the restaurant is remarkable and the work in those painting and carvings is incredible!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Renalda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice views and history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is the main dining room at the Fujiya Hotel. It is described as being a French style restaurant. I had breakfast there one morning. The food was decent. The service, as at the rest of the hotel, was impeccable. The room itself is quite pretty and it's worth seeing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yokohama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Reservations: You must reserve dinner course, and you can reserve by telephone, website.
Tel: +81-0460-82-2211
Website: http://www.fujiyahotel.jp/restaurant/thefujiya/index.html
Price: beef curry rice 2400yen
Hours: Morning: 7:30-9:30 Lunch: 11:30-14:30 Dinner: 17:45-23:00
Cuisine: French

The Fujiya is one of the restaurants which is located in Hakone Fujiya hotel, and it is a very classical, comfortable restaurant. It was established in 1930, and it has a good reputation still now from many people include foreign visitors. Now, it is a well-known cultural property.

All of the food is wonderful and has a rich taste.
In addition, The Fujiya has located in Hakone which has nature, so it has a relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant has a long history, so there is a lot of antique furniture like chairs, tables, and so on. The building is also old, so we can feel a unique atmosphere as if we are in another place, another era. There are many sculptures and ceiling paintings, so you will be interested in not only the food, but also the artistic, classical restaurant.
Since 1930, the restaurant has kept the same taste, appearance of building, atmosphere, and serving. It is one of the reasons that The Fujiya is loved by many people.

In this restaurant, there are many French dishes. These French dishes are delicious, but I would like to recommend curry rice. This is the most poplar dish in The Fujiya. In 1964, Japanese Showa Emperor ate this curry rice.
Many people become repeater, and people come to The Fujiya just to eat this curry. This curry has five different types; beef, chicken, seafood, king crab, and the pork cutlet. So you can choose.
The chef sticks to this curry, so it uses 100% consommé and chef cooks it for 4 days. After that, it is kept for 2 days. It takes a long time to cook, therefore the taste and smell is wonderful and elegant.

All service is perfect, because the waiter lets us feel the relaxing, elegant atmosphere. Besides all tables are not so close, so we don’t feel other customers, we can spend just our time and place.
I ate this curry this August, but I can’t forget this special taste yet, and I want to eat this curry again. If you eat it, you will be surprised at the taste, atmosphere and so on. Then you will want to go again. However the curry is a little expensive, but it gives you perfect satisfaction. In addition, Fujiya hotel is really rich, so it may be difficult to stay. But if you go to The Fujiya, you can feel rich and a retro hotel’s atmosphere without a stay. You need not reserve lunch time, so if you visit Hakone, you should go there.
There are many other dishes, so you will not be bored, so please check this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maki04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fujiya also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to The Fujiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing