We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Gyoza”
Review of Gyoza Center

Gyoza Center
Ranked #7 of 418 Restaurants in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious Gyoza”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Just walk down along the main road parallel to tozan train track from Gora Station for 15 mins and you will reach.

There's english menu available.

We ordered a gyoza set meal and it comes with 7 delicious gyoza, appetiser, miso soup and rice.

There are a lot of gyoza fillings to choose from the menu. The skin was not that thick and filling was quite a lot. It wasn't too oily either.
My friend got 'bored' of just gyoza and rice, gyoza and rice halfway but for me, the gyoza was delicious to the last mouthful. The first bite always makes me want to finish the whole gyoza.

We were there around busy lunch hours but service was prompt and friendly still.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llydzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    48
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gyoza the way we like it”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We took the Hakone Tozan Train and aligned at the Gora station. We asked for direction from the Tourist information just outside the station and it was simply taking the main road from the station and all the way ahead. So in 5 min walk we reach the restaurant. It was a quiet Monday afternoon and the place wasn't crowded so we were seated at the 1st floor. Our group and another couple were the only foreigner traveller the other tables were all local japanese. It is a simple restaurant and food was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal in Traditional Setting”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Dining here with my husband, daughter and her infant son was a tasty and comfortable experience. As the first floor seating, with tables and chairs, was full, we were directed to the second floor where the few tables were traditional seating with cushions at low tables. Once we got adjusted with our legs somewhere under us or the table, we were treated to friendly service and a delicious meal. The usual soup was fine; the dumplings were scrumptious.

Despite language differences, our grandson got lots of attention and was offered an origami toy to distract and entertain him. All in all, a highly recommendable restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1fromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious gyoza and friendly service.”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were the only gaijin at the Gyoza Center on the day we went, but we were treated extremely well by the server on the second floor in the tatami rooms. Like many places, it had a downstairs diner area that, as foreigners, we normally get put in, but in this case they only had room upstairs. Because it's mostly Japanese tourists in Hakone, especially at the restaurants we were interested in, we found that in some other places we got distinctively lesser treatment. Not here. The food is made downstairs and the server upstairs was a great woman who saw to our every need and kindly accommodated our limited speaking abilities without condescension or smirking. There's an English menu that isn't totally clear but clear enough to get something you recognize and everything we had was good. I have some Japanese and a good food dictionary so that helped, but I'm sure if we had been more lost we could have gotten good guidance from our server. Delicious gyoza!
To get here, get off the train at the station for the Hakone Open Air Museum. That's to the left--go right instead and walk along the road (there's a sidewalk on the left side). You'll feel like you're leaving the town but the very next thing you come to is the Gyoza Center and it's very close.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgessMebane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food in Hakone”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Walked from the Gora train station to this nice place. They had very good food with an English Menu

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrn0363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gyoza Center also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Gyoza Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing