We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife and I plus her parents.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Certificate of Excellence
sartell, mn
Level Contributor
214 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wife and I plus her parents.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with a unique setting. Mt Fuji is quite visible from our balcony.
A natural hot springs in the hotel is a major attraction.
A really unique experience. The hotel also sits on a beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. There is a majestic character that surrounds the place.
Certainly a nice family stop.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mnguy48Sartell_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    206
    75
    22
    18
See reviews for
175
144
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

... it needs some improvements.
On the plus side, its location on the shores of Lake Ashi is superb. Very quiet and peaceful. Select a Mt Fuji view room. From the balcony, you'll have a breathtaking view of Mt Fuji and the Lake. Also do select a room in the West Wing (less walking and closer to the Western Restaurant (Trianon), the Lobby and the hot baths. If you like the serenity and calmness of Japanese countryside, this is the place to go. Not much else to do, except you have to drive to the nearby villages. Within walking distances are some shops and restaurants (but they close by mid afternoon and a pier for a worthwhile boat ride on the lake.

But there are various negatives too:
-staff service in the restaurants is erratic
-food and beverage prices are high and portions are small
-english-language skills by staff are very limited
-wifi in lobby only ; internet in room by Lan cable only
-no english-speaking TV channels
-japanese newspapers in english are available with one day delay
-room design and outfittings are very outdated.

Room Tip: Select a Mt Fuji view room. From the balcony, you'll have a breathtaking view of Mt Fuji and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrWJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here in March 2013 for business meeting.

To begin with Hakone is an amazing place. The hotel was perfect. The river + Mt.Fuji makes a spectacular site at dawn & dusk.

Rooms + service were excellent.

Food - we had Japanese & French cuisines mostly.

Spa was good & relaxing.

Had a gift shop which was good.

Fantastic !!

Room Tip: Go for the room facing the Mt.Fuji....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel, not the annex, and found the room a bit oldfashioned but well maintained and very large. The annex and shops look like they need some maintenance.

The room is large and has a balcony. The bed is very large and very good, provided with extra pillows. Wifi worked very good.

Absolute plus is the location with views on lake anshi and if you’re lucky mount fuji. We also liked the onsen very much. You find the right clothing and slippers for the onsen in the closet in the room.

On the downside: the location too. There are very few bussed going to Hakone-En. You should arrange a transfer by the hotel when you book your room. They only drive from and to Odawara a few times a day. If this doesn’t match with your schedule you can take a taxi. We took a taxi to go to Moto Hakone to take the boat to Toganda or the bus to Odawara. The price of a taxi to MotoHakone is about 1200-1300 Yen. Because of the location you are almost obliged to eat in the restaurant. The first night we made reservations for the Japanese restaurant. We liked the food but found it very expensive, eventhough we ordered something ‘a la carte’ which is a lot more economic than ordering the Japanese menu. The sizes of the dishes were very small.
Staff tried to rip us off by presenting a bill with two large beers on it instead of two small beers (which is easy to miss because of the japanse signs on your bill). We had to discuss this with a waitress . Very disappointing. The second night we brought our own meal from the seven eleven in Moto Hakone. At the annex we saw some snackbars but they close very early (around 4 o'clock).
Breakfast is very expensive too but it’s buffet with a lot of nice foods and a great view on the lake.

Staff was a bit akward, some were helpfull others were not, and only few were able to speak English.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I chose this hotel mostly because of the nice pictures from the hotel's website. The location is isolated. The service is poor. I booked room at the annex building which is old with non appealing design, not worth the price I paid. Turned out the meals also not included. The dinner available that night is only buffet style with very poor quality and taste. This is the first hotel/ryokan that charge massage chair in the public bath area. Other 4-5 ryokans/hotels I stayed provide this service free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ferliana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was one of the nicest places I stayed at while in Japan. Easy to get to with the shuttle bus to and from odawara station (by reservation) and so beautiful. We stayed in an annex with view out onto Lake Ashi - absolutely breathtaking. The room was spacious and, though somewhat outdated, perfect for our needs. Found the ropeway station (situated very nearby) closed but there was plenty around to occupy our time with the zoo, aquarium, various cafes/bakeries and plenty of shops right there at the hotel. Took a round trip on the ferry and then back to the room for a relaxing night in. Would've loved to have stayed more than one night - there was so much we wanted to do but we ran short on time. Only issue was the expensive dining options - we opted for cup of noodles instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

It is a great place to relax. We spent 2 nights and would have extended to 3 if we did not have to meet relatives in Tokyo. You have to take a bus to get to the place where you can use the Hakone free pass. I will not stay at this hotel again if they do not offer free hotel shuttle from/to the JR Odawara Shinkansen Station. We were confused the first day we arrived. There is ferry and ropeway close to the hotel but they belong to different company. You cannot use the Hakone Free Pass. We got on the ferry by mistake and it happened to be the last ferry and would not return to the place where we stayed. The staff at the station called the taxi for us to return to the hotel. Almost everything closes at 4PM.

Room Tip: The restaurants in the hotel are a little expensive. The options are limited if you do not drive. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyKingFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#29 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Ashinoyu Onsen
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
#35 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
#9 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#40 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
#39 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko

Property: The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Address: 144 Motohakone, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0592 , Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakone Prince Hotel is built right on the shore of Lake Ashi, surrounded by greens of Kamiyama, and Komagatake.You can see Mt.Fuji over Lake Ashi, and surrounding forests. We have wide variety of guest rooms including cottages and family rooms. An open-air hot spa which has a beautiful view of the lake, it will ease you and refresh you on your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Prince Hotel Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing