We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“japanese hotel luxury”
Review of Gora Kadan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gora Kadan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is not easy to describe the experience of staying at this Ryokan. The service, the care with the details, the landscapes and the cuisine are awesome, but there is an extra that only in Japan you will find. Luxury here, is different, subtle and delicate. Well, it is unforgettable!
Do not miss the Hakone trip, for the best Mount Fuji shots ever.

Room Tip: room with private ofurô
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank neurologista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Gora Kadan, looking to experience a ryokan while visiting Hakone. We were very satisfied - the hotel is beautiful, the attendants provide a very original and touching service, the hot waters are great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed there and loved everything from the reception when we arrived to the rooms, the food and the drinks....Superb ryokan.
The owner came out to send us away with a selection of restaurants in Kyoto our next stop.
On the day we left, I forgot my golden earrings and a diamond ring; I gave them a call and very promptly reply by email and let me know that they will send it to my next hotel. It arrives the day after my arrival.
Where else could this happen?
Thank you again for the fantastic stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmmanuelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

On our Japan itinerary, we were coming back from Hiroshima and Osaka, and stopping in Hakone to experience a high end Ryokan and wanted to be close enough to Mount Fuji to be able to go trekking on it during our stay. So from Kiwi Collection ratings and great TripAdvisor reviews on it we stayed there for two nights.

It’s obvious to us that the traditional Ryokan experience can be delivered in a pampered way, giving you the spiritual and minimalism you are looking for, yet the feeling of living in a world class spa. That is what we expected of Gora Kadan, but that is unfortunately not what we got.

Gora Kadan is all about being minimalist. They provide the minimum amount of everything, from the décor to the poor food quality, everything tastes petite. You believe that you will go there to relax in a special way, yet they come knocking on your door in the morning to get you out of your room for breakfast as if you’re living in a monastery. You just woke up, they do not care much and some may even walk right into your room to insist on getting you out of your room. You are neither on vacation, nor in a relaxed laid back minimalist ambiance, you are continuously stressed for time by the staff that wants you to eat at their time, not when you want or feel like eating. It is their way or no way, and that is only the start…

When you get to eat, they call their food exquisite Kaiseki Cuisine who is suppose to be among the best in Japan, with small portions high in color and refinement. You’ll get a lot of small portions for sure, but everything will smell and taste “fishy”, not fresh and sophisticated. Fish can be so delicate, pleasantly tasteful and colorful, we sure love eating fish and seafood, but not at Gora Kadan. The cooks at the Mazda Zoom Zoom Stadium in Hiroshima a couple of days before during the Carps/Tigers baseball game were doing a much better job serving fresh, great tasting fish dishes!

They have an ordinary pool and a much outdated small fitness room with no windows. The famous “onsen” that make their reputation are man made small ponds with hot spring water, one for men, one for women, switching side daily. We’ve tried… they were clean but were not impressed by anything there either.

Is there anything that we’ve enjoyed at Gora Kadan? Oh yes, surprisingly they have a Karaoke bar that is always empty but well equipped if you can handle the Japanese remote control.

And for Mt. Fuji… there are plenty of other hotels with “onsen” much closer to the mountain to go to if you are there for trekking Fuji, which is truly worth it BTW. But don’t make Gora Kadan your hub to Fuji unless you are in the area, it’s late at night and you are dying for Karaoke and do not care about food.

Enjoy… NOT!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank BonVoyageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a fabulous ryokan, combining western comforts with Japanese culture in a way that does not betray Japanese heritage. I enjoyed one of the rooms with a privat outdoor stone bath and this was a delight. The service by the room attendant was superb, not only in terms of the quality of her care but also her friendly demeanour. The kaiseki meal was fine - not at the level of what you get in the best restaurants but beautifully presented nonetheless. The home-made tofu and the black cod were standout dishes.
A small point is the very reasonable prices for food and drink, well done!
Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first visit to Gora Kadan in Hakone-machi, and our third experience in a ryokan from The prestigious Ryokan Collection (the other two we have been to are Asaba in Izu and Hakone Ginyu in Hakone-machi). For Gora Kadan we stayed in the spacious Kakou Suite. The suite is not located in the main building therefore it was a bit of a walk to the amenities (i.e. pool, karaoke room, lounge, gift shop). The advantage however is ultimate privacy.

We absolutely loved the light airy design and the aura of vastness of this special ryokan. The customer service was exceptional. Unlike the other ryokans, Gora Kadan has a huge indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, and KARAOKE room (yayyyyy)! The kaseki dinner in my opinion was good but not as phenomenal as that compared to the dinner at Asaba. Nevertheless, their outstanding customer service, amenities, and beauty will prompt a swift return!! Thank you Gora Kadan for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sophiavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

At first, we were taken aback by the slightly tired, old feel of our room given the reputation and cost of this famous ryokan. But time won us over entirely. Our room attendant won a special place in our hearts, and she will not be easy to forget. She was so kind and helpful and warm, despite that our conversations were severely limited by our total inability to communicate in Japanese. The public areas and corridors leading to the bath are quite atmospheric and evidently much newer than our room. The communal bath with the outdoor pond under a rocky waterfall was magical. It was fun to take our dinners in our room dressed in our freshly pressed Yukata, but the dashi was too strong for our tastes. The futons were hard but pleasant as were the surprisingly comfortable buckwheat-hull pillows. I loved the many small touches. Our room had a private bath on the terrace but no view. If I went back, I would definitely go for the view, too. The spa treatment was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Gora Tensui
Gora Tensui
#59 of 256 in Hakone-machi
142 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#3 of 256 in Hakone-machi
175 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#11 of 256 in Hakone-machi
219 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 256 in Hakone-machi
308 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#4 of 256 in Hakone-machi
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gora Kadan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gora Kadan

Address: 1300 Gora, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#4 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £677 - £1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gora Kadan 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ikyu Corporation, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gora Kadan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gora Kadan Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing