We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Shrine in Hakone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu

Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu
Book In Advance
More Info
US$226.11*
and up
Custom Private Tour in Hakone with Optional Hot Springs Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A striking red gate along the water designates the entrance to this ancient shrine, perched atop Mt. Komagatake, and reachable by cable car or foot.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Shrine in Hakone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

A must visit when in Hakone. But too bad we are rushing for time. I wish I had more time to explore this beautiful Shrine. Must visit.

Helpful?
Thank Suey_Jeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    426
    116
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very nice and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We reached at the shrine in the evening. It was really nice and peaceful. Spent some time there and loved it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AbhijitRayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Must see if at Lake Ashi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Must see if you are doing a day trip to Hakone! Great photo opportunity if the weather cooperates. The walk there from the pirate ship pier is short and easy. Wheelchair access to the shrine if you need to avoid the steps.

Helpful?
Thank Vicky Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice to see - but maybe briefly?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I love visiting temples and shrines when in Japan and though it was raining, I headed out to see this one, too! After a short ferry ride (free with Hakone Free Pass!), I made the trek from near the ferry dock towards the shrine (you can see it across the lake). As you get closer, there are actually two ways to get there. One way is closer towards the water and will take you over the red bridge nearby. The other is uphill and through the forest a bit more. From there, you'll get to a point where you can look down some stairs and see the shrine.

I went the "long way" (up through the forest) and then took the "short way" back to see the red bridge.

It was raining pretty healthily and maybe that's why no one else was really there during my 15 minutes or so that I was there. It definitely was nice to see, but perhaps the grey day and rain dampened my overall enthusiasm. I enjoyed Itsukushima in Miyajima much more!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BearAndTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Landmark in Hakone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Best way to see this is to include it in your circuit to Lake Ashi. Quaint temple but not as grand as those in Kyoto. Love the scenery around it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MOHSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing